We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New spices could still discoverd”
Review of Obcanska Plovarna

Obcanska Plovarna
Ranked #515 of 5,821 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $2
Cuisines: European, Czech, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Hradcany & Letna
Description: The Obcanska Plovarna Restaurant can boast a fabled Thai chef, Paramese ,,Mesy" Wongwan, who is regularly with imagination diversifying the complex menu, so it gives a true picture of the traditional orient recipes based on freshness and strength of the original foodstuffs. So the guests can taste the original Thai soups, spicy curry, sote, but also scrumptiously prepared sea fruits, fish or some of the specialities of the restaurant - for example Peking duck. The Restaurant offers excellent gastronomic experience in the scope of brunches, lunch feasting, afternoon snacks, but also late dinners as the Restaurant is open until 11pm. Also the wine fans will get their slice of the action. Our wine menu has been carefully composed by our sommelier and it represents a varied offer of wines coming from famous regions of the wine world and it is a sensitive digest of cultivars and tastes.The ambience of the Restaurant itself is fascinating. The two-floor interior of the historic building, supplemented with the orient exposure which perfectly works with the culinary magic, performed by our chef, and in combination with a professional service, will make your evening unforgettable.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location, nice view, new and unforgettable test. I adore how the chef could handle the level of the spicy stuff into the plate. Quite environment and cleanness around with unblocked view of Vltava river. I can assume during the summer time, how wonderful can be during the daylight. The degustation menu was nice and more than enough to fill adult big guy over 100 KG :))
Make sure to take rest between the 5 courses to digest properly. The service was outstanding from the staff, they look well after us. Dessert was unusual, if someone told me (coconut milk+rice+mango) could be good ingredient together, I will not agree with this idea, but I had it and it was so delicious !!! Try it and you not be disappointed.

Thank Mohi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Obcanska Plovarna, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for the great rating and the time you devoted to inform other readers about our various offerings! Yes food is to be enjoyed and we give our best to see people enjoy not only eating and drinking but hopefully to enjoy the surrounding and a pleasant service. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 188 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

Back in 2012 my wife and I tried a couple of Thai places in downtown Prague, one of which was unrelentingly bad (Lemon Leaf), and the of other which was solidly mediocre (Orange Moon). This time, determined not to weigh down our stomachs with Czech food every night, we tried this place, which has a highly visible yet slightly confusing to access position right along the riverbank between the Čechův and Mánesův bridges.

The restaurant looked a bit posh, with lovely views of the Vltava through its massive, wall-sized windows, but the prices were entirely reasonable. I think we spent the equivalent of €30 for the whole thing. The menu offered more or less the usual range of Thai dishes.

First, I should note that we are totally spoiled by Sri Thai Imbiss in Vienna (we live nearby in Bratislava), which makes some of the best and most authentic Thai food either of us have ever had anywhere, ever, so that immediately puts Občanská Plovárna (or any other Thai place in central Europe) at an extremely unfair disadvantage.

Having said that, Občanská's tom ka kai was… decent; definitely not amazing, but strangely quite spicier than I've normally had it. However, it lacked the intense aromatic flavors of Sri Thai Imbiss' version, courtesy of the generous helpings of kafir lime leaf, lemongrass, galanga root, and cilantro that Sri Thai's chef lovingly graces her soup with. Občanská's was more like what you'd find at any run-of-the-mill Thai place in the Caifornia (where I'm originally from), only spicier.

But the second starter, jum mum, consisted of these insultingly bland meat-stuffed dumplings that came with a revolting sauce that tasted only of vinegar. There were no herbs, no seasoning, just unrelenting blandness and a near vomit-inducing sauce with no traces of Thai-ness.

Fortunately, the green curry chicken was actually pretty good. I wouldn't call it mind blowing, but it definitely had a pleasing, rich flavor and a pleasantly spicy kick. The chicken consisted of these kind of bland bits of chicken breast, and the little wedges of eggplant were not cooked all the way through, but overall, I was impressed enough with the flavor of the curry that I would order this dish again.

Terezia opted for this strange noodle dish (can't remember the name and I don't see it on their online menu) that was recommended by the waitress. It consisted of what appeared to be every kind of noodle they had on hand in the kitchen, plus bits of chicken, red bell pepper, cilantro, bits of fried egg, pepper flakes, and maybe a few other herbs. The flavor was decent if well short of life-altering, but it was a generous portion and it wasn't awful or anything. It kind of looked like the chef just grabbed a bunch of stuff and threw it together. I'd probably try their pad thai next time. The green curry was definitely the star of the evening.

Unlike the other two Thai places we tried in Prague, we would actually go here again, but we remain convinced that there must be a better Thai joint in this city. (But at least this place is better than either of the two Thai places in Bratislava). Despite some redeeming qualities, I would still implore Občanská's chef to take a trip down to Sri Thai Imbiss in Vienna and see how truly good Thai food is made.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Obcanska Plovarna, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

We appreciate your time in providing such a detailed feedback. Surprisingly to our mainly Asian clientele and other reviews I am surprised that someone is even considering to use the word "Revolting" in regards to flavours and taste of any of our dishes. But lucky that you are so close to Vienna's Sri Thai Imbiss, which has a rating and review collection on Tripadvisor that we really are thankful for not sharing;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is the best Thai restaurant in Prague. They have very good servis, kitchen is the best one. Yummy!!! and the dessert - rice with mango - really pleasure for every senses...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kaca1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Obcanska Plovarna, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you very very much for your kind review!!! Always a pleasure to read messages from very satisfied customers. Hope to see you soon in our restaurant again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

For people who love Thai food, I highly recommend this restaurant. It is authentic Thai cousine with pleasant atmostphere. It is a bit expensive but the food is definitely worth trying.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike76z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Obcanska Plovarna, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your compliments and your time to write a review on us! We are not just aiming to cook well but also make sure we keep the kitchen operating with the freshest and most authentic products available on the market wherever we have to source them. But our pricing policy includes as well our effort to provide a nice and friendly inside and outside environment, free parking in the centre on our premises, simple online or Facebook reservation tools and other advantages that we believe makes it worthwhile to visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

By far this is the best Thai restaurant in Prague. I live in Bangkok and travel to Prague often and this place has fresh, full-flavored real Thai food. The atomsphere transports you to the land of Siam with its relaxing, calm decor. The staff is is the best and they know the food. They are very helpful when a guest needs help deciding what dishes to order. The Chef is a first class Thai Chef and he knows how to balance the flavors that is so important to great Thai food. To often Thai restaurants try to make the dishes more like the local food and by doing that they miss the point of dining on authentic Thai food. The location of the restaurant is perfect and easy to find. This is a dining experience not just a place to eat!!!!!
Thanks for a great time and great food, Veeve

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Merrill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Obcanska Plovarna, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

What can we say? Such reviews give us a reason to aim for the best we can deliver and is the nicest compliment a restaurant can get. We are not in Thailand but being considered as authentic by someone from Bangkok is worth to us a Michelin Star;-) We have many Prague Chefs that come and enjoy our food who give us similar compliments. But coming from Bangkok makes our day. Thanks and hope we can see you soon again at OP:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obcanska Plovarna also viewed

 

Been to Obcanska Plovarna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing