We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sankt Peterburg in Praha”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Obcanska Plovarna

Obcanska Plovarna
Ranked #471 of 5,365 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Hradcany & Letna
Description: The Obcanska Plovarna Restaurant can boast a fabled Thai chef, Paramese ,,Mesy" Wongwan, who is regularly with imagination diversifying the complex menu, so it gives a true picture of the traditional orient recipes based on freshness and strength of the original foodstuffs. So the guests can taste the original Thai soups, spicy curry, sote, but also scrumptiously prepared sea fruits, fish or some of the specialities of the restaurant - for example Peking duck. The Restaurant offers excellent gastronomic experience in the scope of brunches, lunch feasting, afternoon snacks, but also late dinners as the Restaurant is open until 11pm. Also the wine fans will get their slice of the action. Our wine menu has been carefully composed by our sommelier and it represents a varied offer of wines coming from famous regions of the wine world and it is a sensitive digest of cultivars and tastes.The ambience of the Restaurant itself is fascinating. The two-floor interior of the historic building, supplemented with the orient exposure which perfectly works with the culinary magic, performed by our chef, and in combination with a professional service, will make your evening unforgettable.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Sankt Peterburg in Praha”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The location of Obcanska plovarna remiands of views which you experience on the banks of the river Neva in Sankt Peterburg. Bar and interantional restaurant occupy one wing of the building, the excellent Thai restaurant the other one. The Tai restaurant is reported to be the pride of Obcanska plovarna and, in my opinion, is worth trying. The bar, the terrace and the garden give nice feeling of sufficient amount of room and great outlook over the river and part of the ancient city of Praha.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pavel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Obcanska Plovarna, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Great that you like our entire concept and now after reconstruction (we had to because of the floods this summer 2013, I hope we manage to make you feel even more comfortable in our premises!. Thanks for taking your time and review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    37
    16
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Thai restaurant”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Thai restaurant Obcanska plovarna is a lovely place with a wonderful atmosphere and a great Thai food. Obcanska plovarna is set in the old town centre by the river Vltava. This setting offers the possibility to sit outside during the summer season. The food is always fresh and delicious. I experienced their cuisine more than 5 times and I was always satisfied. Obcanska plovarna is one of my favourite restaurants in Prague.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Obcanska Plovarna, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Great that we delivered consistent quality and service to you 5 times in a row. We will do our best to continue serving at that level or improve it even further. Thank you very much for taking your time and writing this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Thai restaurant”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I had great evening with my boyfriend in restaurant Obcanska Plovarna. Meals were delicious and servis was pleasant with smiling faces so we liked it both. Another advantage is non smoking area. I can recommend it to people who like Asian cuisine or want to try something new.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markéta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Obcanska Plovarna, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and recommendation to others. But was your value perception really questionable? I just want to make sure to understand fully all your comments as their is always space for improvement and we welcome any input supporting us in that quest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have celebrated graduation in "Obcanska plovarna" and birthday. We were very happy with the quality of the food service, nice sorroundings outside.
You may order a boat trip on Vltava river as well for the good price.

I may recommend it for all.

Thomas

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Obcanska Plovarna, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Good that you enjoyed all our services and thank you for recommending us to others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Thai cuisine in Prague”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I love Thailand and their kitchen a lot.
I love Prague too. Dinner in the restaurant Občanská plovárna is simply nice experience
I had dinner here maybe better than the food in Thailand.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Obcanska Plovarna, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for these kind words but not sure if we can just accept to offer better food than the original:-) But our international and especially Asian clientele has mentioned this to us and it makes us feel proud that so many tell us such a compliment. Let's hope you will not be disappointed on your next trip to Asia;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obcanska Plovarna also viewed

 

Been to Obcanska Plovarna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing