We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will not be Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Occidental Praha Five
Ranked #121 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
cambs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You will not be Disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel was booked as a flight and hotel package. It did not disappoint in any way. The hotel is only 200m from the metro. It is just outside the city centre and only one stop from Wenceslas Square. The staff are very polite and have all the knowledge you will need for your visit. Both holiday and business guests co-existed at breakfast. The food at breakfast was fantastic. I will not list it, but lets say that if you are not satisfied then there will only be one person at fault, you. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Prague.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcy1Cambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    552
    94
    27
    16
See reviews for
196
706
40
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The barcelo Praha 5 was a superb choice for the family. The two rooms were contained behind our private entrance door which is superb for older children. THe furnishings were all new and the space was generous. The staff were all helpful and the service was first class. The buffet breakfast was more than adequate and the club sandwich at lunch was lovely. The hotel was well priced with half board included. Travelling to the centre of Prague took no time by tube or tram and these were 150 m from the hotel front door. The hotel was very busy and a choice for many visitors. We had an excellent stay in this beautiful city spending three nights at the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms for families can be bespoke with twin and double rooms behind a single door then two further d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

First Travelzoo trip, very impressed with value for money.
We stayed at the front of the hotel, agreed it's not a particularly pretty view, industrial really, but we weren't in the room long enough for that to bother us. The staff were helpful, efficient and always around should you need anything. Our room on the 2nd floor was not much different from the one shown on their website. Despite being at the front of the hotel on the busy road, it was remarkably quiet. The room was spotless, bed, bathroom, linen etc - clean towels daily. The breakfast was varied - everything you'd expect really, continental meats, cereals, toast, eggs, bacon etc. if you're the kind who leave it to the last minute to go down to breakfast, you might find the room shut. Breakfast is 7-10am SHARP.
Nice relaxing bar area, serving food and drinks.
Would recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: There aren't any tea and coffee making facilities in the room - only negative comment really. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tri-Trio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The plus points:
Staff all very friendly and helpful, and happily accommodated our precise preference of room, following emails sent in advance.
We were upgraded to a superior room, which was very nice, with a very comfortable queen size bed, and given an early check in and welcome drink.
Free wifi throughout hotel, and no passwords needed to connect
All parts of the hotel are fresh and spotlessly clean.
Good choice at breakfast, they vary the cake and hot food every day, with excellent self serve coffee from bean to cup
In all, very good value, we had an amazing rate, as part of a Travelzoo deal
BUT
The area is grim, industrial, around railway station, which is not to say that we found it unsafe. We are regular travellers, and normally prefer to stay just outside of the tourist area, but can't say that we liked Praha Five. Yes, you can take the metro, and tram, and I would strongly recommend the Prague card, which includes free or discounted entry to a number of sites, together with unlimited public transport (-order it online in advance, and have it delivered to your hotel at no extra charge). However, there is lots and lots to see in Prague (very surprised that another contributor states that it is 'doable in a day'. If you are there for only a couple of nights, you may find that the commuting to and from the hotel eats into your time, particularly since it always takes a while to get to grips with the precise location of tram stops and correct exit from metro etc. We were there three nights and employed an excellent private guide, Katerina from Praha Mirabilis, for a day and a half, but still only scratched the surface.

Room much too hot overnight - even with heating turned off, and window open (it is designed to open only partially). Other reviewers have made the same comment. The best you can do is ask for a room at the back, which is very quiet, so you can open a window at least partially, without traffic noise. Our room was on the non smoking sixth floor.

By the way. you can compensate for the lack of a view by having a drink (avoid mealtimes) on the roof terrace of the U Prince hotel near the astronomical clock, which has the best views of the clock and the Old Town Square, a fabulous photo opportunity. They welcome non residents, but if you need the wc after, its in the basement, and take your chit from the bar to prove you are a customer, otherwise you will be charged for the wc!

Room Tip: At the back, on a high, non smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivienJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

\my husband and I stayed recently for three nights and the hotel was really lovely. We stayed on the 5th floor and were lucky enough to have a room at the back which was exceptionally quiet. Room was really lovely, clean, comfortable and very warm. The room was exactly as described on the website. The location of the hotel we found to be really good once we had got our bearings. The Andel metro/tram stop is just around the corner and the No 9 tram takes you right into the centre of town. We used the local restaurants for our evening meals and they were of exceptional quality and good value and after speaking to other holiday makers who had stayed across the bridge in the new town, we found that we had been lucky enough not to have spent a fortune on food!

Room Tip: Fifth floor at the back is lovely - this is a no smoking floor and the rooms overlook a hillside par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We couldnt have been more comfortable in our [quiet] 5th floor superior room.This hotel is run by a well-organised and very efficient English speaking staff.Decor,comfortable beds & super soft pillows make your stay 5*****.Breakfast was well planned buffet style,anything you needed and more!The added beauty of this hotel is its position,very near the Andel Metro,from which we took into town,10 mins, and a tram back-12 or 20. If you want a wander round the local area,meals are cheaper than in town.Food is typical stews and dumplings.Prague is do-able in a day.Take comfy and warm clothes.
We can highly recommend this modern,efficient and spotlessly clean hotel!

Room Tip: Make sure you leave the Metro at the correct exit- We enjoyed the tram-ride back. Book a superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vontrappsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Both me & partner stayed 3 nights through travelzoo deal. sometimes travelzoo deals are hit & miss but this was defiantly a hit. A great new hotel, clean and modern in everyway. Good english speaking staff both at reception and restaurants. The food was great, especially the breakfast everything hot and good variety. The coffee was excellent fresh from the machine made a great cuppa every time. Location was pretty good with the metro nearby. Although we decided to walk to town which was scenic especially by the river. We decided to eat nearby and found a really good restaurant called Staropramen excellent food, local cuisine too. Try the roast duck and slow cooked pork belly sumptuous to say the least.. Yeah would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Prague..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#235 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#63 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#188 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#73 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#62 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#97 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Praha Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Praha Five

Property: Occidental Praha Five
Address: Radlicka 46/3276 | Smichov, Prague 15000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Praha Five 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Occidental Praha Five is ideally located in the business area of Prague five district an extension of the city centre in the commercial Smichov quarter. Located 200 metres from the Andel metro station, Hotel Occidental Praha Five combines modern comfort and convenience with easy access to the historical centre of Prague and all major sightseeing attractions such as Old Town, Wenceslas Square, Lesser town or Prague Castle which makes it an ideal choice whether visiting Prague for business or leisure. You are within a walking distance from your meetings at offices of Google, L’Oreal, Pfizer, Johnson & Johnson, Cyrrus and many others Smaller meetings can be organized directly at the hotel in one of our fully equipped meeting rooms. Guests can choose from 134 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony, all equipped with air-conditioning, flat-screen satellite TV with international channels, heating, hair dryer, safe box and free Wi-Fi which will keep you in touch either with your business or family. Before heading out, guests can stop by the hotel's restaurant , open for buffet breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Drinks and light meals are served in the bar, which opens to a summer terrace. Hotel guests can also take advantage of the complimentary fitness area with sauna and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Praha Five reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing