We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Praha Five
Ranked #111 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

\my husband and I stayed recently for three nights and the hotel was really lovely. We stayed on the 5th floor and were lucky enough to have a room at the back which was exceptionally quiet. Room was really lovely, clean, comfortable and very warm. The room was exactly as described on the website. The location of the hotel we found to be really good once we had got our bearings. The Andel metro/tram stop is just around the corner and the No 9 tram takes you right into the centre of town. We used the local restaurants for our evening meals and they were of exceptional quality and good value and after speaking to other holiday makers who had stayed across the bridge in the new town, we found that we had been lucky enough not to have spent a fortune on food!

Room Tip: Fifth floor at the back is lovely - this is a no smoking floor and the rooms overlook a hillside par...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,490)
There are newer reviews for Occidental Praha Five
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We couldnt have been more comfortable in our [quiet] 5th floor superior room.This hotel is run by a well-organised and very efficient English speaking staff.Decor,comfortable beds & super soft pillows make your stay 5*****.Breakfast was well planned buffet style,anything you needed and more!The added beauty of this hotel is its position,very near the Andel Metro,from which we took into town,10 mins, and a tram back-12 or 20. If you want a wander round the local area,meals are cheaper than in town.Food is typical stews and dumplings.Prague is do-able in a day.Take comfy and warm clothes.
We can highly recommend this modern,efficient and spotlessly clean hotel!

Room Tip: Make sure you leave the Metro at the correct exit- We enjoyed the tram-ride back. Book a superior...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vontrappsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Both me & partner stayed 3 nights through travelzoo deal. sometimes travelzoo deals are hit & miss but this was defiantly a hit. A great new hotel, clean and modern in everyway. Good english speaking staff both at reception and restaurants. The food was great, especially the breakfast everything hot and good variety. The coffee was excellent fresh from the machine made a great cuppa every time. Location was pretty good with the metro nearby. Although we decided to walk to town which was scenic especially by the river. We decided to eat nearby and found a really good restaurant called Staropramen excellent food, local cuisine too. Try the roast duck and slow cooked pork belly sumptuous to say the least.. Yeah would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Prague..

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed Monday to Friday in early March 2013. We had a very friendly, welcoming greeting at Reception with a complimentary glass of wine!
The room was very clean and modern with a very comfortable bed.
The location was slightly out of the centre of Prague but easily within walking distance plus the metro was very close.
We ate in the bar/restaurant and the meal was very enjoyable - there was a much better choice than we were led to believe from the hotel website!
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We would definitely choose this hotel if we return to Prague.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel when looking at another Barcelo hotel in Prague. We like this chain and have used them in Spain. Some of the Prague hotels looked a bit dated and this is brand new and offering good introductory deals. It's modern and clean. The staff are very helpful. Our rooms weren't ready so we were offered a drink whilst we waited. Rooms good, the bar us in reception but also good. Breakfast was excellent with a really good choice. Free wifi and safe. Five minutes walk to metro or a bit further to tram. You can walk to the centre in about 25 minutes. It's an interesting area with lots of locals meeting, eating out etc. Also bar at nearby Staropramen brewery very good and offering a rare no smoking section.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sueinspain_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We are Prague regulars (we worked this visit out to be our tenth), but this was our first stay at the Barcelo. We like to stay in the same place a few times, and then source somewhere new for a change. We've now stayed in four different hotels in Prague and the Barcelo delivered exactly as we expected. For the price, you really can't go wrong.

For us, we prefer to stay on the outskirts of town and sample local life. The location was great and we felt very safe at all times, despite the local homeless taking up residence at the derelict building across the road.

The staff at the hotel, without exception, were absolutely lovely and very helpful. I think that this is the nicest hotel we've ever stayed at in Prague in terms of the staff.

A couple of little beefs - the breakfast room isn't big enough for the size of the hotel. We were relegated to the adjoining conference room on our third morning and felt a little out of things. One or two practical things in the rooms too, e.g. the tap was too low for the sink, the rim of the bathtub is very high which meant negotiating getting in and out was a struggle (there is no safety rail to help you either), and there is no mirror in the bedroom for drying hair, etc. The rooms were also too hot for us which made for broken sleep every night - even with the air con turned right down it was still too hot (it was freezing outside though, so perhaps this is taken into account?).

Those are only very minor gripes though and don't detract from what was a great stay. The beds are extremely comfortable, the bedrooms nicely decorated, and the buffet breakfast was spot on - they had everything you could possibly want.

We booked again for the Summer prior to our recent visit on the strength of trip advisor reviews and we will certainly be looking forward to our visit again. Highly recommended if you don't mind staying 30-40 minutes (very pleasant) walk to the centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JollyHollidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel is really clean and equipped with very friendly staff, the hotel offers all amenities you would expect from a holiday while you are abroad. Free wifi throughout the hotel, nice selection in buffet breakfast, wide range of drinks and cocktails at the bar and a decent selection and delicious food in restaurant.
The hotel is located very close to metro station around 40 mins trip from Airport (easy jet).
Decor is very impressive and could not find a fault with cleanliness or anything else here. 5 stars to Barcelo Praha Five :) you made our holiday special

Room Tip: Please specify that you require a double room as they go really quick.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pavan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#192 of 648 in Prague
401 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#154 of 648 in Prague
2,958 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#55 of 648 in Prague
2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#66 of 648 in Prague
2,189 reviews
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#186 of 648 in Prague
1,591 reviews
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#76 of 648 in Prague
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Praha Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Praha Five

Address: Radlicka 46/3276 | Smichov, Prague 15000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $63 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Praha Five 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Occidental Praha Five is ideally located in the business area of Prague five district an extension of the city centre in the commercial Smichov quarter. Located 200 metres from the Andel metro station, Hotel Occidental Praha Five combines modern comfort and convenience with easy access to the historical centre of Prague and all major sightseeing attractions such as Old Town, Wenceslas Square, Lesser town or Prague Castle which makes it an ideal choice whether visiting Prague for business or leisure. You are within a walking distance from your meetings at offices of Google, L’Oreal, Pfizer, Johnson & Johnson, Cyrrus and many others Smaller meetings can be organized directly at the hotel in one of our fully equipped meeting rooms. Guests can choose from 134 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony, all equipped with air-conditioning, flat-screen satellite TV with international channels, heating, hair dryer, safe box and free Wi-Fi which will keep you in touch either with your business or family. Before heading out, guests can stop by the hotel's restaurant , open for buffet breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Drinks and light meals are served in the bar, which opens to a summer terrace. Hotel guests can also take advantage of the complimentary fitness area with sauna and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Occidental Praha Five reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing