We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Prague

“Beautiful Steaks”
Review of Pohostinec Monarch

Pohostinec Monarch
Ranked #149 of 6,489 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Description: Restaurant Pohostinec Monarch is located in historic centre of Prague. A relaxed and warm atmosphere to set up your mood for comfortable cosy dining. An authent czech cusine tastefully paired with wines great for a casual evening with friends or family. We also offer dry aged steaks in the best quality in town!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I ate here in January. We arrived at the restaurant with no reservation, and a lovely waitress showed us to a table away from the main restaurant area. The table was perfect for us as it was quiet, but yet you could hear all the bustle from the main area. We had the pork terrine to start, then for main I had the New York strip loon and my husband had a T-bone steak, both cooked to perfection (medium rare). We had chips to accompany this and at last minute requested a salad, which was no problem at all. We both had lovely red wine to drink with our steaks. Then we also had 2 beautiful desserts and my husband had a dessert wine. The staff where lovely and very attentive and informative. It was pricey but for the fresh food that is full flavour, this outweighs the price! Would have no problem eating here again

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank SandK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerezaTu, Manažer komunikace at Pohostinec Monarch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for leaving such a nice and comprehensive review. We are very pleased to hear you've enjoyed your visit at Pohostinec Monarch and especially quality of our staff and steak meat. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 740 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

We had amazing bone marrow and a fine tomahawk steak. It was aged and cooked perfectly, but it was still a bit too tough and chewy. I will rather go for a ribeye if I come back here in the future. The staff is very friendly and helpful, make you feel like at home.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank ayberkozgur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerezaTu, Manažer komunikace at Pohostinec Monarch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for leaving your nice review, we are very pleased to hear you've enjoyed our food and service during your visit. We look forward to your return and hope next time you will be 100% satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020 via mobile

After being unable to go to a reservation at another place, we ended up here...and we’re glad we did! My mother and her husband had the steak for 2 and said it was cooked perfectly. They thought it was one of their best meals in Prague! I had the burger and it was big and delicious. It’s definitely not a cheap place, but they said it was worth every penny. The server was also extremely nice, and they were able to squeeze us in last minute on Xmas day, which was great!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank llumadue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerezaTu, Manažer komunikace at Pohostinec Monarch, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

We are very pleased to hear you've enjoyed our food and service during your visit! Thank you very much for leaving your nice review, and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

We had walked past the previous day and the menu had attracted our attention so a booking was made and is advisable, we were low season so I can only imagine high season is very busy.
It is great to see a restaurant shamlessly dedicated to meat, not the intensively farmed rubbish but quality cuts, well reared and beautifully presented. Also great to see marrowbones on the menu, a rarity in this day and age.
All was beautifully cooked, well presented by the excellent staff, friendly, knowledgeable and genuinely interested in ensuring customer satisfaction.
We shared a 35 day aged Tomahawk, great soup, marrowbones and excellent mulled wine and cocktails. Nothing to fault at all, everything was superb and I shall visit again when in town.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TripMember020920162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerezaTu, Manažer komunikace at Pohostinec Monarch, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2019

Thank you very much for leaving your five-star review. We are very pleased to hear you've enjoyed your visit and especially quality of our staff and steak meat. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2019 via mobile

First choice in Prague. Amazing steak with perfect cooked sides. Waitress was excellent for her wine choice and friendly service . Highly recommended

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Ternheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerezaTu, Manažer komunikace at Pohostinec Monarch, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2019

We are very pleased to hear you've enjoyed experience with us. Thank you very much for leaving your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pohostinec Monarch also viewed

 

Been to Pohostinec Monarch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing