We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Burgers & fries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tavern Bar

The Tavern Bar
Ranked #60 of 5,369 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Cash Only, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Praha 2
Description: Welcome to the The Tavern, the friendliest burger & cocktail joint in the neighborhood! We serve up signature 100% beef, chicken & veggie burgers, house-smoked BBQ pulled pork, specialty fries, tasty original cocktails, & homemade desserts & pies. Czech draft beer, micro-brews, and a fine selection of Kentucky bourbons are available.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
243 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Burgers & fries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

My teen son and I were staying in an apartment in the Zizkov area and the locals recommended The tavern. It was very busy but we got a table (if we promised to be out in an hour) and we were not disappointed. A small place with a friendly, homey atmosphere. service very good, menu in English. My son claimed this was the best burger he ever ate. The draft beer and fries complimented the meal perfectly. Before we left we made reservations for the next day. You can eat for less money in Prague, but I won't complain because the portions were generous and very well-prepared.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    134
    29
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Classic old-school American burgers in Prague”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

American-owned bar near Riegerovy Sady between Zizkov and Vinohrady, Very small, call for reservations during peak hours. If you don't want to trudge up the hill that bothers many reviewers, take the Metro to Jiriho z Podebrad and walk downhill instead.

Come for the burgers; old-school thin patties cooked medium rare unless you request less color. They are a wonderfully juicy mess; you may not want to put your sandwich down once you pick it up! I had the bacon-cheeseburger, but all the burger choices look good. My wife even liked the veggie option made with spinach and bean.

Fries are surprisingly mediocre for a place that so clearly cares about getting their burgers exactly right, but this is somewhat offset by a nicely selected beer list that includes none of the big three brews. Nothing against the big names, but you can get them everywhere.

Service is well-above average for Prague, and our small outdoor table was the perfect place to relax in the middle of a cool, lovely day. We're told these tables are a very hard get during more usual dining hours. Definitely worth a visit if you crave a burger during your stay in Prague. Mine stacks up well against any I've had in the burger capital of the world, the USA.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whovous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Couvin, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Nice place, friendly and good service.The food was excellent. Probably not the cheapest in Prague, but definitely a great meal for the money. I recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vasoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“One of the best burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

After a busy day at the Zoo of Prague, we had to climb up the hill to reach this restaurant. We was so tired and nearly gave it up, but when we tasted the burger, we have recognized, it was totally worth it.
The burger was very tasty and stodge and the "Daily microbrew specialty" was the highlight of my day. They have compensated me for my aching legs.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 972tam_ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best burger in prague... maybe anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Tavern's bacon cheeseburger is a hangover killer. Done. Bye. Gone. A nap in the park across the street after is always nice on a sunny day. Only negative comment is that they have no phone for to go orders : (

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing