We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!!”

Gastronomy Museum Prague
Ranked #164 of 928 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Due to technical reasons Gastronomy Museum Prague exhibits are open to upfront registered groups of minimum 5 people. For reservations please call or SMS Thank you for your kind understanding. Museum is depicting in very vivid form entire history of cooking and food preparation from early days of human kind, through stone age, medieval smoke kitchen, renaissance palace kitchen, first coal, gas and electrical stove, origin and forms of beer brewing, story of distillates, wine regions in CR and list of famous chefs in history of culinary arts.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

What a lovely experience and SUCH a unique approach.. makes going to a museum fun!!! How charking.. and in SUCH an old historic building too.. LOVED the architecture...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michaelfox_mit1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    53
    18
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Having recently gotten into the TV series, Top Chef, visiting a gastronomy museum was definitely on my list of "things to do in Prague". And I'm happy to say, it did not disappoint.

The museum is very educational; I found out things I wasn't previously aware of. The museum is laid out in a chronological order so as you walk through the museum you get a sense of how food, cooking appliances etc evolves throughout the times. The exhibits are very well presented and there are descriptions in different languages.

The museum is spread out over two levels; upstairs houses a kitchen where we got some sweet hot beer and Christmas cookies, a great treat for us seeing as it was raining outside and bitterly cold.

Overall, this museum is a great place to visit and near the Kotva mall and the metro station, Namesti Republiky. I would definitely recommend this place for everyone, whether you're a foodie or just curious about the history of food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank warriorbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kvuzat Yavne, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A surprising little museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Found this nice and unique museum with the help of tripadvisor. The owners are very nice. The museum is full of information and exhibits on food, cooking, utensils etc.. We visited just after a beer event they had there, and the owner offered us some warm sweet beer on a very cold day. We had an interesting conversation with him and with his wife.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thegiants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I think the husband and wife team who have created this wonderful place deserve a big thank you. They were involved in creating the Chocolate Museum for Prague and that's a good museum but they have done a great job at this new museum. Food is a critical part of culture. Try and get one of them to 'walk you through' the exhibits as the written information is very good but the 'interpretation' helps you understand their background and why the museum has been created. I have worked in the museum and cultural community for 25 years and the quality of interpretive exhibits is #1.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So much I didn't know”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is another of Prague's quirky 'museums' and well worth and hour of your time. Be careful though - the Tripadvisor map took us to the wrong place and we assumed it had closed down - it was only because we went for another drink in Old Town Square and 'just checked' that we realised it was a couple of streets away and this time found it. Some of the other reviewers mention that a couple of the exhibits are clearly 'sponsored' but don't let that put you off - the 'modern kitchen' is a good example of state of the art technology whether it is Whirlpool or Miele or anyone else, and maybe that's how you have to get the funding to launch a new museum these days. Inevitably where the exhibition was talking about prehistoric times it relied heavily on drawings nad panels rather than displays but the information was very interesting nonetheless - I didn't know that very early man was specially designed to eat carrion, for example. As the exhibition progresses through the ages there were so many interesting facts that we had to just stop commenting on it because we sounded like a couple of schoolkids. Did you know that if an ancient Egyptian offered a girl beer he wanted to marry her? Or who brought the first fork to the US? And how it was received? It was really interesting to see where so much of what we take to be received wisdom came from.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cazkGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GastronomyMuseum, Owner at Gastronomy Museum Prague, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear cazkGloucestershire
Thank you for your kind comment. It is giving us rewarding feeling that our effort to present fantastic work of gastronomy professionals in the historical context is appreciated.
We hope that your stay in Prague was pleasing and please, recommend us to all your friends.
Sincerely

Ladislav Provaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastronomy Museum Prague also viewed

 

Been to Gastronomy Museum Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing