We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A++++++”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartments Vysehrad
Ranked #105 of 359 Prague B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A++++++”
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Apartments Vysehrad is one of the nicest places that I have ever stayed. My boyfriend and I were very impressed for the entire week that we were there. On arrival, the owner Martin apologized that he had to switch our room because of a water leak. He took us across the street to his other property. We were nervous at first not knowing what to expect. But when he opened the door we were so happy. He was putting us in a beautiful apartment! It looked brand new! All wood floors, full kitchen, living room with a couch, french doors, high windows, separate bedroom, and modern bath. It had a great view of the charming street and the stone wall of Vysehrad. There was a tiny elevator which was great. This isn't a big chain hotel with tons of amenities but it's clean, friendly and a value.

Martin was a sweetheart. He sat down with us and explained how to get around the city by public transportation in detail. Knowing that we would be traveling to Berlin for the second half of our vacation, he looked up a schedule and slid it under the door. He is the best!

We didn't sign up for breakfast but chose to find our own places. There was a lovely place at the bottom of the hill on the corner. Delicious food and healthy portions. We loved the neighborhood and felt liked we lived there. A public transportation stop was less than 5 minutes away and it easily connected us to where we wanted to go.

I would highly recommend Apartments Vysehrad!

  • Liked — Location, the owner
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellove71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2008

Had a good time at Apartments Vysehrad. There is a small elevator - it might be new given the previous reviews. Martin was a great resource and spoke good english. We had pre-paid our airport shuttle and Martin called and confirmed our pick-up requirements with the company.
A few tips. The place is nice but it's not a hotel. You basically get a couple of rooms with a bathroom, there is no lobby, exercise room, etc. There is a restaurant next door where you can buy breakfast. It is a couple of miles from downtown and you can take the trams which work very well, the guide which Martin will give you shows the routes. You will need coins to buy tickets - some of the stops do not have ticket machines so either buy the five day pass or buy the tickets ahead of time. The ticket does not not get validated until you get on the tram and put it in the date/stamp machine. The metro is also available but it's a few blocks up a steep hill and it takes a little work to figure out how to get to the building.
Prices outside of downtown were very reasonable and the menus either had descriptions in english or they had menus available just in english. There were three of us and with several beers, appetizers and a meal we often spent less than $70. That said, we were not impressed with the food. It usually ended up being a bland meal with few spices or the quality of the food seemed lacking. We were always asked if we wanted another beer. We did not get hit with nuts, etc. as an appetizer but we were given bread and to be honest I don't know if we were charged. Oftentimes the bill listing the items would be in czech and they charge you for things like ketchup but given the prices I didn't worry about the small items. Most people speak some english so that worked out well as we just couldn't get a handle on the czech words. Prague is a great place to visit and we had a great time. Would recommend Apartments Vysehrad for the traveller on a budget.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — beds were ok but the mattresses were more like a camping bed than a soft mattress.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpk1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2007

The hospitality received from the proprieter, Martin was excellent! There aren't enough stars to rate such an accomadating person.
He spoke English very well, he was a tremendous help in obtaining us a map, and marking tram stops, to areas we inquired about to visit during our trip. The room was a two room apartment with sofa, mini bar. Extremely clean! Service was excellent in housekeeping for towels, coffee, etc. The hotel is true to the culture, which is enlightening from the Westernized hotels, or B & B's we were used too. It added to the charm, the culture of Prague. You cannot find a more beautiful, serene area to stay-Vysehrad castle with St. Peter and Paul is directly behind the B&B, yet still close to walk (yes, walked a few times) to the center of Prague, or take a tram. I would not hesitate to stay there again. The only drawback, which did not affect our stay, is there is no elevator/lift. We were on the 4th floor, so it might be a disadvantage to others, however, service will take your luggage to your room.

  • Liked — Location, Service, Beautiful Views
  • Disliked — No Elevator-However this did not affect my trip
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank UKWildcat-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2006

We stayed in Apartment #409 for three nights. #409 is a suite with a bedroom, a little living room and a nice bathroom. There is also a little fridge and an electric tea kettle. We parked our rental car in a secure courtyard nearby - it was included in the price. We paid 56 euros per night.

The apartment is on the fourth floor and there is no elevator (if you have heavy bags this could be a problem).

The apartment manager was very helpful and nice.

Breakfast is not included. You can purchase breakfast for approximately $6 at the next door restaurant U Šemíka. Although U Šemíka is a great restaurant with excellent Chech food, their breakfast is not a good value. Keep in mind that $6 in Prague can get you a dinner, so a cold buffet for breakfast for $6 is actually expensive.

Apartments Vysehrad courtyard overlooks the entrance to Vysehrad, which is one of the main tourist attractions in Prague. In other words, the location is excellent. You can take a tram to everywhere in the city - Karlov Most, Hradchany, Old Town Square, Petrin and Wenceslav Square. Tram tickets are very cheap. Buy the 2- or 3-day pass. Given the price, it's more convenient than always running out of tickets. There is also a metro in the city.

  • Liked — Great location, great price, really nice bathroom.
  • Disliked — Long climb up the stairs.
  • Tips/Secrets — Directions in Prague (for driving, public transport) are not the best. Get good maps.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SaintPaulKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2006

Apartments Vysehrad is a great place from every point of view, excpet maybe location.
The owner is very helpful and friendly, the apartments/bathrooms are extremely clean.
Besides, getting to live in an apartment building adds an extra to the Prague experience (you'd never go into an apartment building if you're in a hotel).
Although the neighborhood is charming and quiet, you must take public transportation (or a taxi) to go see places. In a city where you can walk from one place to the other, I felt it was a disadvantage.

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Neuforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

The three of us stayed in the Apartments Vysehrad and we had a room with a double bed, a single bed, a couch, and dining area. The apartment was quite large and fit the three of us comfortably. The room was comfortable and had modern fixtures in the bathroom. The furnishings are a little dated but cozy enough. The room did not include breakfast but you could buy it at the restaurant next door for a low price. It was quite good and featured cold cuts, cheeses, fruit, breads, and boiled eggs. Jitka was wonderful and gave us lots of information on the sites around Prague. She was able to provide us with essential tram info and info about the city and area. She kept saying her English wasn't very good, but in fact it's very good! This certainly wasn't the cheapest accommdation on our trip (in fact, it was one of the higher priced ones) but it was a nice place to stay in a good location. If you stay here, be sure to check out Vysehrad (located behind the hotel on the top of the ravine). It's beautiful and there are no crowds.

  • Liked — Big and comfortable rooms, Jitka is very welcoming
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDNTripTaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2006

A group of us stayed at the apartments while we were in Prague for the marathon and were delighted with the location, apartments and service. Jitka and Martin were very friendly and helpful, Vysehrad is a lovely quiet and historical area and only a 5 minute tram or metro ride from the main heart of Prague or a 15 minute walk. Would definitely recommend staying here and we're looking forward to our next visit already!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank desnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
U Semika
U Semika
#331 of 649 in Prague
126 reviews
Praha 2
Amadeus
Amadeus
#409 of 649 in Prague
56 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel & Residence Royal Standard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Hotel Coronet
Hotel Coronet
#280 of 649 in Prague
143 reviews
Praha 2
Vysehrad Castle SUITE
Vysehrad Castle SUITE
#109 of 650 in Prague
107 reviews
Praha 2
Every Day Apartments Prague
Every Day Apartments Prague
#167 of 650 in Prague
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Vysehrad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Vysehrad

Property: Apartments Vysehrad
Address: Vratislavova 17/38, Prague 128 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 359 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Vysehrad 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Apartments Vysehrad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing