We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Ranked #33 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

First of all the location is perfect for exploring the city on foot or by the great public transport network. Streets and pavements are often cobbled, so it is advisable for the ladies to wear flat shoes rather than heels. The hotel is a short walk (less than 5 mins from the Charles Bridge) and just a few steps away from the Prague Castle on an incline. It is in a quiet and safe area of the city, located close to many international embassies (Italian/Romanian/US embassies are just a short walk away)

The hotel itself is in a historic building that has been tastefully refurbished and despite its age it has a lift, in a glass-covered central courtyard which is welcome after the walk up the hill from the City centre.

We stayed in room 307 on the third floor of the hotel overlooking the castle at the back of the building (the street "Nerudova" is not busy in any case). Our room was spacious and beautifully clean. We had a small office nook, and a bathroom with a smallish bath. My only comment is that the bath is quite high to step into which you need to be able to do as it is a shower-over-bath arrangement. The room had Wifi access, a small TV and a mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities.

The thing that makes this place extra special are the lovely attentive staff, they really can't do enough for you, and a lovely added touch is the chocolates and a rose on the bed after the room has been cleaned.

Yes, there are some very minor shortcomings for a 4* - towels are a little small, double is 2 singles pushed together which is not to everyone's liking, tv channels are limited... oh and there's no pool or fitness facilities but if you are looking for that kind of hotel then go to the big conglomerates.

Also breakfast is local fare and you have to experiment, and not expect a full English or decent tea. If you are that bothered about tea, I suggest you put some teabags in your case!

Overall superb service, superb value and perfect for a short or long stay. Go - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rear-facing rooms are better for peace and quiet, you can even have your windows open for more air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    135
    22
    1
    3
See reviews for
100
346
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a lovely hotel full of charm in an excellent location and provides an excellent level of service. We stayed for a four night break over New Year and its an experience we wont forget. Our room 410 was spacious, imaculate and from our terrace/balcony we had a majestical view of the castle which appeared to be just a stones throw away.

The little touches that make this hotel special are indeed the the informative slips on the breakfast tables giving guests the daily weather forecast, tips on whats on locally and the friendly professional staff that couldnt be more helpful. Also on our return to our rooms on the 31/12/12 we were greeted with a complimentary bottle of champagne from the hotel to welcome in the New Year. How thoughtful.

We ate at U tri Houslicik and Cowboys Steak House both on the same street as the hotel both very good food but the service and menu choice at Cowboys was by far outstanding we had a lovely evening there.

We rang in 2013 aboard the Jazz boat which we booked through the Prague Experience. The 5 hours flew past with complimentary drinks on arrival, a plentiful buffet and delightful background music. As the bells rang out we gathered on deck clutching our complimentary champagne to toast in the New Year and watch the most amazing fireworks display above the St Charles Bridge a fabulous start to 2013!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChocoLatte31scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had a wonderful 9-night stay at the Golden Wheel. The location was excellent for sightseeing on foot, it was close to all the sights and to public transportation. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was comparatively large. The hotel itself is in a historic building and has character and ambiance. Restaurants and cafes for every budget and taste are within a few minutes walk. You are located in the diplomatic area of the city and just a few blocks from the castle. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Generally a quiet area, but get a room off the street if any noise disturbs you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We can recommend this hotel. Nice hotel on walking distance from the centrum. We had a beautiful room with an wooden painted ceiling. Nice supportive people. Good price/quality. Good services. On walking distance from the burgh and the public transport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansw79_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

just returned from 3 day break.this hotel is in a great spot,5 mins to the castle,10 mins to charles bridge,and 15 mins to old town square.hotel rooms are a great size and really warm ,which is a bonus as it was -5 when we arrived.breakfast is o.k nothing special but fills you up to start your day.prague is such a lovely city and the castle side is the best place to stay.thisis a great value hotel in a top drawer spot,will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonTeaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Hotel is amazing,in the centre of the town close to many attractions by walking, perfect rooms with a magnificent view of the town from the hotel and the service of the hotel is just as amazing. Definetely much more worth than the money.. what a bargain :)

the staff were helpful and great service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

For what you pay you get really spacious, comfortable, attractive surroundings. Staff are very pleasant and most helpful. A lovely little cafe off the main foyer provides a decent continental breakfast and snack meals all day until early evening. There is no restaurant but then there are many places to eat all on the same street. In fact we ate dinner in a different restaurant each night, all within a minute's walking distance of the hotel, and all meals were very good indeed. Rooms are all spotlessly clean. The bathrooms are large and very well equipped. There's the usual well stocked mini bar, fridge, and kettle for a range of teas, coffee, and hot drink sachets. Extra little touches include the fresh rose and complimentary chocolate on each bed every day, and the daily info sheet at breakfast with weather details for the day, tourist suggestions, and not-to-be-missed events. The decor is very attractive. A lot of warm wood, chrome and stainless steel glass elevators, a beautiful view from a panoramic upper balcony and some lovely bits of art dotted around (sculpture in stone and bronze and a fair few paintings in various local styles). There's free Internet access in every room if you've your laptop or iPad with you. Or there's a small reading room with a net access PC, a couple of comfy armchairs and a bookcase for you to leave what you've finished reading or perhaps pick up what someone else has left.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Louren Hotel
Louren Hotel
#34 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#50 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#27 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Monastery
Hotel Monastery
#37 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Golden Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Golden Wheel

Property: Hotel The Golden Wheel
Address: Nerudova 217/28, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Golden Wheel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Golden Wheel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing