We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Ranked #34 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Very impressed with this hotel. Our room was spotlessly clean and very spacious with lovely wooden floors and a huge bathroom. The customer service could not be faulted with every staff member being very pleasant and informative.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fourleafclover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
There are newer reviews for Hotel The Golden Wheel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 643 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

Fabulous hotel taking a 500+ year old building into a beautiful modern B&B near the castle in Prague, Czech. Awesome and spacious accommodations! Great views from the rooftop deck.

good breakfast too - good location for walking to all attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieGG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We spent 5 nights at this hotel and were pleased with the value and location. It was very clean and comfortable in our room. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was not exceptional but certainly a full fresh and plentiful breakfast. I do wish it had a better lounge area or TV -- normally that is not so important but we wanted to watch the Olympics some and the TV in our room had 2 or 3 stations. The location was excellent.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The hotel is nice, cosy and very close to all landmarks including Prague Castle, Petrin Gardens and Charles Bridge. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast there is ok, nothing to write home about, however there is a selection and you wont be hungry, thats for sure. The staff there are fab!, Very profesional, friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much and if we go to Prague again in the future we will stay there without hesitation. We also took advantage of trasport to the airport provided by the hotel. Its quick, not expensive and they even were able to provide a carseat for our little one. We recomend this hotel very much.
The only disadvantage is there is no air condition in the rooms, so yes it gets warm in the summer. Also we got a room with shower only, so it might be a bit tricky when you want to wash a baby in a sink.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustGabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed recently in The Golden Wheel with four friends. Every effort was made to locate our rooms together and the staff were very helpful. the rooms were delightful, mine had views of the castle. We were only about a ten minute walk from the Charles Bridge so location is excellent. Breakfast were really nice with a good variety to choose from. We booked to see the ballet through reception which was hassle free. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. We would definitely return to The Golden Wheel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I am very glad I got this hotel address from Trip Advisor.
It was just what I was looking for - a reasonable priced hotel close to the city centre, near a tram stop though not in a noisy central street. We had a large, clean comfortable room with a good bathroom. There were nice little touches such as the rose and chocolate on the bed each day.
The staff on reception were excellent - always helpful and smiling and they spoke very good English. Free wifi and when at first it didn't work from our room, the problem was sorted out immediately. Breakfast was OK - nothing special.
If you are sensitive to noise, you might want to ask for a room at the back which I expect would be quieter - there was a bit of street noise in our room as we overlooked the road and slept with the windows open, but the road wasn't very busy and we didn't find it a problem (we walked so much that we always slept well, in our comfortable beds).
There could also be a problem here for people with mobility problems as despite the lifts there are a few inevitable steps between floors - mind you I think that would also be the case elsewhere in Prague as there are many uneven cobblestones and steps all over the city.
I loved both Prague and the hotel and highly recommend both. Public transport is extremely good and cheap (we got 2 24-hour passes for best value).
The highlight of the trip was definitely the fantastic 3-hour segway tour from http://www.pragueonsegway.com which conveniently has it's office just round the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FanVacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Very friendly recepionist who helped us with directions and
gave some very useful tips.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank petra1983_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#42 of 648 in Prague
801 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Star
Golden Star
#18 of 648 in Prague
289 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#39 of 648 in Prague
321 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 648 in Prague
1,637 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Monastery
Hotel Monastery
#33 of 648 in Prague
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Golden Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Golden Wheel

Address: Nerudova 217/28, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $77 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Golden Wheel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Golden Wheel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing