We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful interior!”
Review of National Theater

National Theater
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.21*
and up
Prague Electric Bike Private Guided Tour
Ranked #30 of 936 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful interior!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The inside is beautiful! Its a smaller space than the State Opera House, but I prefer the interior of the National Theatre. The outside is under renovation, so the entrance is hard to find (to the left of the side facing the river). I watched the Nutcracker, and while I expecting a classic, I was surprised (and impressed) that it was actually retold with A Christmas Carol! It was excellent how they wove the stories together. Scrooge is the center of the story. Bob Cratchit still works for him, and Clara is his daughter, and it is to her that Scrooge gives the nutcracker. The ghosts of Christmas past, present and future seem to have been replaced by the sugarplum fairy, who takes Scrooge on a journey to a far off land, where they saw the Russian dance, Spanish dance, and a dance that looked more Thai than Chinese. One of the best ballets I have seen! The tickets are reasonably priced, so going to see an amazing show in a beautiful building was one of the highlights of my trip!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank leetb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    166
    46
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shelby,NC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“beautiful building- inside”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The outside of the building is being renovated and thanks to other reviews we realized this and did not go early as the entrance is hard to find and they do not open early. our seats were great- it did not appear that any seats in the place would be really bad. not much in the way of restroom facilities- so note location when you enter and make a beeline at intermission. Since the Czechs do not do signs well i was skeptical of the translation signing during the show- but it really is ok and you have a good idea of the story. Not really near a metro station- i do like to use public transport- but the walk wasn't too bad. Over all a nice evening out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“classic!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

went for a classical music performance here with my best friend. Was a really nice experience, I have always loved classical music, but the orchestra was really good. The only thing is we only got to see the smaller room, so it was rather disappointing in that sense. But still, nice music, great building, good experience. I would have given it 5 if it wasn't for this.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank pmulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Opera "Rusalka" is a must-see!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Prague is an amazing city, a museum under an open sky. To enrich your cultural experience I'd warmly recommend to see opera "Rusalka" at the National Theatre. Absolutely stunning performance, interesting set-up on the stage, great music and singing cherishing the eye. Take your evening gown to match the crowd ;)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rapuncel_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very beautiful theatre and great performance”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

What a wonderful little theatre in the center of Prague. Truly a pleasure to see a performance here. The accoustics were very good, and one could see the performance very well from nearly anywhere in the theatre. Just a beautiful place! Great performance too (Cosi fan Tutte) and also the catering was nice with fresh home made chocolates etc.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Los_Quasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Theater also viewed

 

Been to National Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing