We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss this one”

Convent of St Agnes of Bohemia
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.25*
and up
1-Hour Panoramic Bus Tour of Prague
More Info
$17.82*
and up
Historical Panoramic Bus Tour in Prague
More Info
$30.88*
and up
Guided Night Time Bike Ride in Prague
Ranked #78 of 956 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Olen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
659 reviews
635 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
“Do not miss this one”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

One of the few attractions free of charge (exept the exibition). Old as times, as errected by st. Agnes of Bohemia before 1233, it was the first "Poor clares" monastery north of the Alpes. Not only the monastery can be admired, also the church of the Holy Savior (Krista Spasitele) built in 1270, the Church of St. Francis and refectorium can be visited. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vakantiejozef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    62
    30
    13
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Incredible collection of Art”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Convent has an incredible collection of art. It's possible to get within inches of the artwork. Great displays in a serene setting.
I told our teenage boys that they were very lucky to view such ancient art in such an intimate setting and as such close range.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizard2888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Religious Art in Prague”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went to a lot of galleries and this one had some inspiring religious art well arranged - our favourite museum in prague. The museum is away from the others in a slightly uninspiring area but has a lot to offer if you are interested in religious painting 1400-1600...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JerrryCornelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fascinating collection.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I would suggest that you need to be of Christian background and preferably religious to enjoy this. I found it to be a wonderful collection with an amazing array of Madonnas. It is a peaceful place with beautiful chapels and well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Pleasure”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our hotel owner recommended this unexpected pleasure. The St. Agnes Convent is along the river, but the entrance is down a side street presenting some difficulty to locate. We marveled that the centuries-old convent buildings have been preserved so well and read with amazement about all the historical happenings occurring within its walls. Don’t miss the exhibit of religious paintings, altar pieces and sculptures from the 1300s to 1500s on the second floor of the building. Again, we marveled at how all this artwork had been preserved for centuries and we were delighted it was available for public viewing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AZ_Born
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Convent of St Agnes of Bohemia also viewed

 

Been to Convent of St Agnes of Bohemia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing