We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Church of Our Lady Victorious: Where the famous Jesus Child statue is found”

Church of Our Lady Victorious - Holy Child of Prague
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.11*
and up
Prague Welcome Card
Ranked #32 of 950 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The church of Our Lady Victorious and of the Prague Infant Jesus has an extraordinary significance not only for its architecture and artistic decoration, but mainly for the fact that the famous statue of the Prague Infant Jesus is kept and venerated within.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,580 reviews
3,609 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11,988 helpful votes
“Church of Our Lady Victorious: Where the famous Jesus Child statue is found”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

There are some very nice church visits that you can make in Prague and The Church of Our Lady Victorious is certainly one of the more interesting and memorable ones to see.

The church is famous for housing the 400 year old Jesus Child statue, also referred to as the 'Infant of Prague'. Thousands visit this church each year as a form of pilgrimage to pay homage to the statue, and it was certainly busy at the time we visited during our recent trip to Prague. Visitors come from the world over and have included four recorded papel visits - the last being Pope Benedict XVI in September 2009.

While the nave was very busy with worshippers and student groups who were occupying the pews at the time of our visit, it seemed visitors were welcome to get fairly close to the image, and photo-taking of the Jesus Child was allowed. However the statue is small, located high up and encased in glass so there is a bit glare when you taking photos.

Further, in addition to seeing the Baroque decor of the church and the iconic Jesus Child statue, you can also see the many Jesus Child outfits, which have been gifted to the church from various nations around the world. These are on display in the upstairs museum, which is open from 9.30am to 9.00pm and is free to visit. Of interesting note, the nuns of the church change the outfit of the Child Jesus statue according to a religious calendar. As such, the appearance of the statue will be different throughout the year.

There is also a gift shop at the back of the main church nave for those interested in purchasing a rosary or religious souvenir of their visit to The Church of Our Lady Victorious.

Overall, we very much enjoyed our visit to The Church of Our Lady Victorious and would gladly return to see the Jesus Child statue and see what outfit it is wearing when next in Prague. In the end, this seemed to a worthy inclusion on visitor 'must-see' list of attractions.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    379
    112
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,580 reviews
3,609 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11,988 helpful votes
“Jesus Child Statue, also known as the Infant of Prague”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Jesus Child statue, also referred to as the Infant of Prague is a 400 year old statue of baby Jesus, which is found at The Church of Our Lady Victorious. It is a world famous relic, believed to offer protection to the city, which is visited by thousands, who make pilgrimage to this church in order to pay homage to the Jesus Child Statue.

Worshippers and visitors come the world over to see this statue, including four recorded papal visits, the last being from Pope Benedict XVI in September 2009.

Interestingly, the church nuns change the outfit on the Jesus Child statue based on a religious calendar, offering visitors a different perspective of the statue throughout the year. Visitors are welcome to take pictures of the statue and visit the upstairs church museum, where many Jesus Child outfits are found. These outfits have been gifted to the church by various nations, are well displayed and visitors are welcome to take photographs of them. Both the church and the museum are free to visit.

Overall, we very much enjoyed visiting the Church of Our Lady Victorious to see the Jesus Child statue as well as the outfits housed in the upstairs museum and we would happily return to visit again and to see what outfit the Jesus Child statue is wearing during future trips to Prague.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
136 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Stay for the mass and speak with their polyglot priest!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was my fave church in Europe. Loved to be able and pray to the Infant of Prague looking at him. My fiancé decided to stay for the mass and the priest came to us during it and asked from where we were from! We've said we were brazilians and he spoke portuguese with us and then gave us an special blessing after the mass.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SamanthaVlassis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
1,226 reviews
747 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,371 helpful votes
“The ‘Infant of Prague’ statue is housed in the early baroque church of Our Lady Victorious.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Church of Our Lady Victorious, the first baroque church built in Prague (1613) was originally a Lutheran Church called the Holy Trinity Church. It was after the battle of White Mountain in 1620 that the church was given to the Carmelites and renamed.
The Infant of Prague, representing Jesus as a small child, is a wax-coated wooden statue holding an orb. It is famous for its supposed miraculous curative powers. Many of the faithful were praying in front of the statue during our June visit.
Inside the church is the Museum of the Infant. The museum contains the wardrobe (about 100 different outfits) and one of the crowns of the Infant of Prague as well as some chalices, crosses, etc. You can also watch a video of the Carmelite sisters as they change the clothing worn by the Infant of Prague.

TIPS:
Location: Malá Strana (Lesser Town), Karmelitská Street
Trams #22, #12 to Malostranske namesti. Church is south of St. Nicholas Cathedral
Admission: Free
Open: Mon – Sat: 9:30am to 9pm (Sun: after mass: 1pm to 6pm)
Museum of the Infant of Prague – Free – 9:30am to 5:30 pm
Location: inside church, door on the right side of the main altar – climb the spiral stairs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank denver60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
1,226 reviews
747 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,371 helpful votes
“Lovely early Baroque Church that houses the famous ‘Infant of Prague’ statue.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Church of Our Lady Victorious, the first baroque church built in Prague (1613) was originally a Lutheran Church called the Holy Trinity Church. It was after the battle of White Mountain in 1620 that the church was given to the Carmelites and renamed.
The Infant of Prague, representing Jesus as a small child, is a wax-coated wooden statue holding an orb. It is famous for its supposed miraculous curative powers.
Inside the church is the Museum of the Infant. The museum contains the wardrobe (about 100 different outfits) and one of the crowns of the Infant of Prague as well as some chalices, crosses, etc. You can also watch a video of the Carmelite sisters as they change the clothing worn by the Infant of Prague.

TIPS:
Location: Malá Strana (Lesser Town), Karmelitská Street
Trams #22, #12 to Malostranske namesti. Church is south of St. Nicholas Cathedral
Admission: Free
Open: Mon – Sat: 9:30am to 9pm (Sun: after mass: 1pm to 6pm)
Museum of the Infant of Prague – Free – 9:30am to 5:30 pm
Location: inside church, door on the right side of the main altar – climb the spiral stairs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank denver60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of Our Lady Victorious - Holy Child of Prague also viewed

 

Been to Church of Our Lady Victorious - Holy Child of Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing