We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views over Prague from the top”
Review of Petrin Hill

Petrin Hill
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.17*
and up
Segway Experience: 3-Hour Prague Parks Tour
Ranked #27 of 934 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great views over Prague from the top”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

You can get to the top by walking, taking the funicular (covered by the public transport tickets) or by bus to the amazing massive semi-derelict stadium (which once had 9 soccer pitches inside and was used for mass gymnastics displays) on the top of the hill.

We took the bus up and rode the funicular down and then up again to fully experience the views. There is an intermediate stop on the funicular which gets you to a restaurant which also has good views. The top station of the funicular has an interesting little exhibition showing its history (it started out as water powered, and was converted to electricity later; recently reopened after landslips closed it for some years)

But at the top of the hill, inside the park, is the little gem of the miniature Eiffel Tower, built after some Prague gents saw the French one and decided to build theirs as part of their great exhibition. You again have choices, walk up 299 steps or take the cramped lift. We took the lift and were rewarded with stunning views in all directions. Fortunately, being winter, we weren't obstructed by any foliage anywhere, but the downside was a certain drabness in the gardens below us, which must look beautiful in Spring and Summer.

It's a pleasant walk down to the diplomatic district, from where you can access the castle or walk back into Prague over the Charles Bridge.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank welsht0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,713
    1,897
    583
    108
    39
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Prague's own little Eiffel Tower”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Excellent view over Prague. It is on the side of Mala Strana. Combine your day trip with the park and Mala Strana. It would be cheaper if you buy 72 hour ticket which costs 110 CZK which will allow you to spend as much as time you want to spend once you at the top.If you just had to buy a single ticket buy which lasts for 90 min which will cost you 33 CZK.There is small Train ride which takes you at the foot of the tower. You could also walk up . Once you there you need to buy another ticket for about 110 CZK to take lift or you could walk which is slightly cheap. There is a little cafe. The view on the top is breath taking. All this pain is worth it. Carry student card if you traveling with children it is a bit cheap for students. very busy due to holidays.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RParbhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
339 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“A public transport fenicular!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Petrin Hill is underrated as an attraction in Prague and is well worth doing if there for the weekend. Having done a lot of walking the day before we did take the lazy option of the fenicular railway up. I was surprised to find the fenicular is considered public transport so the 3 day pass we'd taken out for the metro and trams also covered this - making it excellent value. Once up at the top the park has excellent views over the city and the mini Eiffel tower to get you even higher up. You can walk up the tower on an exposed staircase which winds round the outside, but as I'm not great with heights I chickened out and took the lift!

Once we'd done the tower we meandered around the park then over to Lesser Town to continue our tour of the castle, as we'd only got round half of it the day before.

All in all, if you have time while in Prague we would recommend Petrin Hill.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank fillyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
176 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Really nice”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Really nice hill, long walk around to go on the top where is the little Eiffel Tower.
We went also in the mirror maze, don't go there, you have to pay for nothing, not interesting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gianluca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
566 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Great views of Prague. The park is very beautiful. It is a peaceful place away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Great exercise walking up the hill too.

Helpful?
Thank Christy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petrin Hill also viewed

 

Been to Petrin Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing