We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a collection” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strahov Monastery

Strahov Monastery
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.97*
and up
Prague Welcome Card
Ranked #54 of 920 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a collection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were particularly interested to visit the library which I had visited fifty years ago. It was top of my list of placed to revisit and it was spectacular

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    368
    121
    67
    44
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

On our first day in Prague. we walked up the hill near our hotel, past the park and came across the monastery by accident! The most breathtaking view and peaceful surrounds. There are also hotel/inn within the grounds if you are looking for a tranquil place to put your head.

Helpful?
Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Although off limits, still a beautiful and unique sight.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

So I have been wanting to visit the library since I arrived in Prague. Its in every single guide book. Easily accessible from the castle and not difficult to find. 80kc to get in. Not a lot, BUT when you get upstairs to he library, you realize that 1) The library is totally off limits. There is a rope at both entrances of the library. The doors are wide open, and your not allowed in. You have to stand at the doorway and just take a look from there and 2) You have to pay to take pictures. 50kc. Considering this was a monastery, and they had a collection box anyway, I didnt mind paying the 50kc honestly. I mean, I am 5000 miles from home visiting a monastery with an absolutely stunning library. No need to fuss over 50kc. There are MANY more things in Prague to be really weary of, like taxis and how much restaurants charge for a drink! (thats not beer...) If your not at the castle, as someone mentioned the quickest and easiest way to get there is Tram 22 to the Pohorelic stop. Once you get off the tram, your just minutes away. Stunning library, beautiful ceilings..very impressive and worth the small fee.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Reggaerocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Only went here for the library”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

After I've visited the Klementinum I heard that there was another old library. So I went here only for the library. It's a bit sneaky but they charge extra if you want to take photos, only 50 CZK tho. I must warn you that you are not allowed to walk into the library, you will only be able to stand in the door opening and look into the place. They have also nice collections in the hallway. I would say it's only worth the money if you want to see the library.

I can recommed the great panorama view you get over Prague when you are at the Strahovsky Klaster

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amiando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san carlos,
Level Contributor
166 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Do not miss the library”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

You can take the tram #22 to get to this site. Two stops past Prague Castle. There are two sites to see - both you need to pay for but well worth it. One is the monastery itself which has a wonderful art exhibit and a history of the monastery - it is NOT boring at all with great architecture and exhibits. The other 'do not miss' is the library - it costs a few cents more to pay to take photos and PAY FOR IT - you will be sorry if you don't. If you have seen Beauty and the Beast - it will remind you of that. there are two libraries and some really interesting furniture between the two.
There is a brewery on site and fun place to relax and have a snack and beer.
If you walk down the hill a bit, there is a vineyard and has great views for photos.
do be advised that the library and monastery are closed during the lunchtime period - so plan accordingly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lindadrew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strahov Monastery also viewed

 

Been to Strahov Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing