We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT STAY!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House at the Big Boot
Ranked #2 of 370 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

In October my husband and I enjoyed a three night stay at Dum u velke boty in Prague. As described by other reviewers on Trip Advisor, the hotel was perfect for our needs. The owner Jan and his entire staff spoke impeccable English, were most help in recommending concert venues, restaurants, etc. The location was quiet, but convenient--just off the main tourist route.
Our second floor room was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was completely modern--great shower, and came complete with the original stove from about 1600--in-opt though! Eveb though our room was at the front of the house, the street was quiet enough at night to sleep with the windows open.
Breakfast was European style: yogurt, cold-cuts, breads, fruit, coffee and tea. A hot "American style" breakfast was also available.

Room Tip: We chose a larger room and were very happy. I did not view any of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pms40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 531 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

I got sick and they made me an appt. with their own doctor and drove me to the appt. with no charge!! When we arrived, they sat us down and showed us on a map they gave us where "everything" was in Prague. We were on the top floor, so lots of steps, but they carried our bags. New, modern bathrooms, spotless rooms, cheerful hoteliers. Good location near the castle and just up the hill from the tram and the Charles Bridge, close to the castle. We ate at a nearby restaurant the owner's son recommended. It was excellent and even had a musical trio playing on Friday night. Take comfortable shoes, as the cobblestones in Prague can be uncomfortable to walk on. The B&B is across from the German embassy and near the U. S. embassy, so the neighborhood is quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor bedroom if stairs are a problem for you. Remember, when Europeans say "t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizBellingham_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 6 nights and it was terrrific. Very comfortable and welcoming. Well located to major sites but in a quiet corner of a nice neighborhood. Great mattress and pillows! We met a number of people at breakfast which made the trip even more fun. Breakfast included bacon and eggs, along with all the other fixings. It held us for most of the day! Jan, the owner, took us to the airport at 4:30 am. Wonderful family and special place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We all have places that we don't want to advertise because we want to keep them to ourselves. For me, Dum u Velke boty in Prague is one. What a wonderful, out of the way but in the middle of things place. Others have said it all, so there is not much more to add. The staff are friendly and well-informed and very interested in making your stay as wonderful as possible. Parking was available which was a real plus for us. The breakfast was great with cooked to order eggs, if desired. The rooms are all different and some may be quirky, but ours was very comfortable. We were in the one over the front door and it was very quiet and large. It had everything we needed. We loved Prague and hope to return and when we do we will stay at the Dum u Velke boty again. Can't wait.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank packedlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had chosen to stay in Mala Strana, which is the left side of the river, due to the fact that it has a lot of character, architecture and less people .
The place was everything we expected, and I don't want to repeat what others had already said.
The hospitality and customer service is first rate.I highly recommend staying here.

Thanks Jakub, Jan and Margheta

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent three nights at this family-run B&B. Our hosts were extremely helpful in recommending sights to see, places to eat and telling us how to get around in this beautiful old city. Each room had a charm of its own. Breakfasts were tasty and nutritious. The location is perfect for seeing the best of Prague, but the house is removed enough from the crowded areas that it was a welcome retreat after a busy day. On top of all this, they provided a reasonably priced shuttle service at the end of our visit. Thank you. We would like to return.

Room Tip: Most evenings are quiet here, but the second story is not as close to the street for that occasional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bass74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here and absolutely loved it. We had a wonderful, clean and spacious room with a terrace that really felt like home. I would have to say that the only downside was that our beds were not very comfortable at all.

The hosts were very accommodating...picking us up late from the airport the day we arrived and dropping us off very early the day we left. Breakfast was wonderful as well! We loved the location and would most definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Stay in room #26!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAB062709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
3,003 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 646 in Prague
3,386 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#4 of 646 in Prague
1,817 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 646 in Prague
1,097 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#37 of 646 in Prague
2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House at the Big Boot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House at the Big Boot

Address: Vlasska 333/30, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 370 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
House At The Big Boot (Dum u Velke Boty) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing