We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUCHA SLAV EPIC”
Review of Veletrzni Palac

Veletrzni Palac
Ranked #42 of 951 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
california
Level Contributor
329 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“MUCHA SLAV EPIC”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The permanant home of Mucha's slave epic paintings finally found a home here and are well desplayed for everyone to see after many years of hiding in a tiny village in southern Prague'

It's worth a trip just to see these fabulos paintings, especially for Mucha fans. It's far more interesting than the Mucha muzeum in Stare Mesto.

Just go there! You won't be disappointed. It's a easy 10 min. ride on the subway.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dhlchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    159
    41
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slavic epic plus more”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a first rate museum of 18th-21st century art. The layout is exceptional and the cornerstone are Mucha's epic of Slavic history. Also has a very nice Klimt ( the virgin ) and a Picasso works as well as a Van Gogh (green corn). Well worth the visit. A block south is a great pub with excellent draft selection to finish off the tour. I will review that separately.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BandL_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Slav Epic now has English guide”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

If the Mucha Museun intrigued you, here is the entire Slav Epic. It's breathtaking. See it first as it takes time to see it fully. We started at the upper floors and were overtired by the time we confronted Mucha's masterpiece .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank isterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exhibition Slav Epic”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of seeing these magnificent paintings by Alfons Mucha. The exhibition literally took my breath away! If you are visiting Prague you should definitely see it. I would go even further and say it is worth going to Prague especially to see it!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Amazing variety of art”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

On a recent trip to Prague with my wife and mother, who is a keen art enthusiast, I let my wife go shopping whilst I accompanied my mother to this art gallery. I have no real knowledge of art but thoroughly enjoyed this experience.

There are 6 floors and currently there is a guest exhibition by Hugo Demartini (until 28/7/13). One of the main reasons I enjoyed this place so much was because there was hardly anyone there. You could take as long or as little time in front of every picture/painting/scuplture as you wanted.

What's more you can ask at the front desk for commentary and they will give you a little walky-talky type thing which you simply key in the number of the art you are looking at to be given a short interesting commentary. This is not available on all the work, but was available on many pieces.

After doing a couple of floors we decided to get lunch. The cafe was closed so we went outside, crossed over the road in front of us and turned right. After about 30 metres and crossing a small road there was a "uhoobare pub" on the left where we had lunch. It was very cheap, friendly and the food - absolutely delicious.

Refreshed we went back in to complete the rest of the gallery which included a few interactive pieces of art where you could draw something on a big blank of wood or take a photo of yourself covered in multi-coloured straws!

I can't really give much commentary on the art itself other than to say that there is something for everyone. Some really wacky modern art, some very interesting work inspired by the history of Czech republic (some was very moving too about the suffering under communist rule) and some more classical pieces.

So if you love art, go here. If your knowledge is limited to knowing what you like and what you don't when you look at something, go here. If you hate art, then why are you reading this review? Go here anyway!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vaughan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veletrzni Palac also viewed

 

Been to Veletrzni Palac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing