We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position beneath the Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Design Hotel Neruda
Ranked #59 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had four nights at this very nice hotel in September. The position is great-handy for sight seeing around the castle, away from the crowds on the other side of the river and a good choice of restaurants. Our stay was enhanced by the unexpected upgrade to a "honeymoon suite" a beautiful room with a free standing bath as well as separate shower. The staff we are all incredibly helpful. The breakfast was fine-not the best-but perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sejonetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Sir and Madam.

Thank you for your feedback.
I am very pleased to hear that the Design Hotel Neruda fulfilled all your expectations.
I'm very sorry that you were not happy with the breakfast. We have already added a whole range of breakfast improved.

I look forward to welcoming you soon, during your next visit to Prague.

Warm regards,

Michael Pazout

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

hotel Neruda was okay, if you don't like hills this is not place for you, it is up by the castle and has some lovely views but very very steep. the staff are okay, one was lovely, the other was very miserable and spent a lot of time on a mobile phone obviously arguing with someone (awkward). the room was nice, however, couldn't have a shower as it was attached to taps in a bath in the center of the only room next to the bed with no shower screen or curtain so water goes everywhere and i mean everywhere. okay if you like to have a bath, bad if you're in a rush. breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice from egg and beans to cheese, toast, meats, cereals. on checking out we had to be out for 12pm which is great, only i left my mobile phone charger and adapter plugged in, as we weren't being picked up until 6pm we were still in the lobby, i asked the miserable receptionist if the cleaner had handed them in, she went and checked, they weren't in the room and the cleaner denied all knowledge of it. the rooms are locked so no-one else can get in, they obviously stole them so make sure you don't leave anything and use the free safe in the room as they are thieves. it hasn't put me off as Prague is the most beautiful city in hte world, we are going back next year, but staying elsewhere. also what was upsetting was that on looking on hotel website, their are pics of tables on a roof terrace so you can stay in the hotel and sit out on the terrace, well no you can't their is nothing on there and the door was sometimes locked so we couldn't even go out on it. very bad advertising. we thought we could on an evening sit out on the terrace and have some drinks but alas. you have to go out when it is hot as the air con doesn't blow out cold air, it is stifling on a night and you can't jump in shower to cool down either. anyway i'll leave it there for now.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSmelhaus, Generální ředitel at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in the historic center of Prague, and I thank you for your feedback.
Sorry that hotel has not meet your expectations. We are new management company and invest a lot for the hotel. We have new luxury pillows, new sheets and towels, new flat screen TV in all rooms ... and we will continue in this effort
Thank you for sharing your experience here with other travellers.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to help with anything in Prague
We are here for you
Best regards from Prague

Dipl. Ing. Petr Smelhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The full name of this hotel is Design and Style Hotel Neruda. The room in which we spent our three night stay reflected one of my pet peeves about "design": the emphasis seems to be on how things look and not at all on how they function.

The room looks great, mostly. Stylish round sink, nice wooden headboard, wood and tile floors. But the functional design was sorely lacking. To start with, to get to the room, we took an elevator (very small) one flight up. So far, so good. But then we had to wend our way down passages (all very stylish looking) up one half-flight of concrete stairs, down another hall and then up an incredibly steep and narrow spiral staircase in order to reach the room. All this while carrying our luggage. I realize that this is the old world (although this was called the new part of the hotel) but I can't imagine any U.S. attorney would let a facility open with a staircase as hazardous as that.

Although the room was billed as a "spacious superior double room" the bed and bathtub took up most of the space. More on that tub, which sits right in the middle of the room. There was no shower, so this was the only bathing facility in the room. It had a hand-held shower, but this was difficult to use. Plus, it was extremely challenging to attempt to use the hand-held without getting water all over the rest of the room. The was also placed in front of the only window in the room, so that in order to open or close the window, or the curtains, or even just look out the window to check on the weather, you need to stand in the tub.

I think the next time I see a picture of hotel room with a stylish round sink, I will keep looking. This sink looks great, but it's small and the stylish faucet shoots out water at such velocity that it oversprays and splashes out into the room. The lighting was interesting looking, every fixture had some kind of multi-colored Murano glass. But again, style won out over function. It did not light well, especially over the sink; it was difficult not to have part of your face in shadow. Also, for reading in bed, the light was good for glare but not for illumination.

It so happened that Prague was experiencing a heat wave during our visit. Although the room had air conditioning, it really wasn't very effective. Most evenings we found that opening the window (see above about the tub) helped cool the room a bit better. When we mentioned this to the front desk, we were told that the air conditioning didn't work well in hot weather. Hmm.

Were there pros? Yes. The location was great, just under the Prague Castle. The woman at the front desk was pleasant and as helpful as she could be. (She promised to talk to the engineer about the air conditioning. Apparently she did, as the setting was different when we returned, but it made no difference in the temperature.) At times when we could close the window, the room was fairly quiet and free of street noise.

I appreciate nice looking things, but for me the bottom line is whether they work well. This room didn't pass that test.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzcat_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSmelhaus, Generální ředitel at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Prague and thank you for your feedback. It is nice to hear you have noticed our special design in our rooms and around the hotel. We will try to work on improvements you have suggested. Our guest satisfaction is of vital importance for us. ¨
Thank you for sharing your experience here with other travellers.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to help with anything in Prague
You are always welcome

We are looking forward to seeing you again in Hotel Neruda!

Dipl. Ing. Petr Smelhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

we stayed in the hotel neruda in prague in july.this hotel was in a fantastic location less then a
few minutes from the prague castle.
the service was what really made our vacation special.
the manager,front desk staff and restaurant and kitchen staff all contributed in their own way
to show that they cared.

they also have a great breakfast that is part of the package price.it is far more then your
basic continental breakfast.we will definitely recommend to friends and family and we will
stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSmelhaus, Generální ředitel at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2014

Dear mike o
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Prague and thank you for your feedback.
I m very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us and that the staff were nice and efficient to you.

Thank you very much for your warm words. It is always nice to hear such a positive review.
We are glad that you are going to recommend our hotel to your friends. Looking forward to meeting them.

If you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact us.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

With pleasure,
Dipl. Ing. Petr Smelhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visited Prague at the end of June for 3 nights as part of my 40th birthday celebrations.As it was a special occasion we wanted to stay in lovely accommodation in a great location, and we were not disappointed!! Great building,staff ,street and views.As there were four of us travelling we booked 2 double rooms, on arrival the the very pleasant receptionist gave my brother and his wife a key for a room in the older side of the building (room14) we were then given a room in the newer side (room 208), both rooms were worth every penny we paid although rooms in the newer side seem larger and very airy/modern whilst my brother seemed quite small/dark and a window looking into the corridor!This would not put us off returning as next time we would just request 2 rooms in the newer side and the location and all the positives (including a lovely breakfast) far out weigh any negative. The man behind reception was helpful on our last day as we left our luggage with him as we had a late flight home.Overall this hotel is a little gem in the beautiful city of Prague .Be back soon :) .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRSL2892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSmelhaus, Generální ředitel at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2014

Daer Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Prague and thank you for your feedback.
I m very happy that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us.
We are always pleased to assist you with your needs.
I and my team we will do our best to make hotel services even better and better for you to enjoy even more your next stay in Prague.
Thank you for sharing your experience here with other travellers.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to help with anything in Prague
We are here for you
Best regards from Prague

Dipl. Ing. Petr Smelhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Hotel Neruda is a very good choice for a trip to Prague. It is clean, comfortable and very conveniently located in the old city, a few minutes walk from the castle. The dimension of the rooms is variable, in our case it was a bit small, but it was comfortable enough for two. In any case it is fine if you plan to spend most of your day around Prague! The staff were extremely nice and ready to provide information for sightseeing or good restaurants. Probably the strongest point of the hotel is the breakfast: do not miss it. It is true that the hotel is located on the top of a hill, so obviously you have to be prepared to walk a bit. The hotel is definitely good value. In short I would warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AZ1596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your time and writing this absolutely amazing comment. We are truly glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and we are sure you even enjoyed walks to the center, to the Prague castle etc. Next time if you would like to have a bigger room it is not a problem, you just need to tell anyone on the reception and our staff will definitely help you. We are also happy to hear you loved the breakfast, it is important for us to satisfy our guests as much as we can. You are always welcome to come back and stay in hotel NERUDA again!!!

Best regards from Prague
Helena Bubnikova
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I am not only talking about the service, but the whole atmosphere! This rather small and cosy hotel made us feel at home everyday. Add to that all the small details that really make this hotel something special. Just amazing!

The staff in the reception was always at our service, helping us with things we didn't even know we needed. And always with a smile!

Our superior room was great! Spacious, with a large comfortable bed and a fun designer twist.

We didn't mind walking up the hill to the hotel and we also found different ways to walk to and from the hotel.

We would love to come back and we very much recommend Hotel Neruda to anyone who is planning a trip to Prague!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharktales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Sharktales,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We are truly very happy to read those things you said about our hotel. It is great to hear you liked your room, the design of our hotel and we are also glad you liked our staff as well. It is very important for us to read such things as those. It is true that the hotel is located on the hill but it is a very beautiful walk through Neruda Street or the Prague castle etc. We hope you enjoyed it here in Prague as much as you could. We look forward to welcoming you back to hotel NERUDA soon!!

Kind regards from Prague
Helena Bubnikova
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Star
Golden Star
#18 of 646 in Prague
347 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 646 in Prague
1,714 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#68 of 646 in Prague
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#65 of 646 in Prague
1,849 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
#41 of 646 in Prague
1,380 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 646 in Prague
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Neruda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Neruda

Address: Nerudova 225/44 | Lesser Town, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Prague
#53 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#57 Business Hotel in Prague
#212 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $78 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Neruda 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design Hotel Neruda is located right below Prague Castle, in a charming area of Mala Strana, in the house where once lived the famous Czech writer Jan Neruda. Modern interior with classical elements was designed by famous architect Borek Sipek. After long strolls through Prague recharges your batteries in the hotel's private spa, which features two saunas and a hot tub. Also be sure to try homemade cakes and delicious hot chocolate in a pleasant atmosphere of Prague Chocolate Cafe & Bistro, which is part of the hotel. High quality services, personal approach and unique atmosphere - all you can expect when staying at this design hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Design Hotel Neruda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neruda Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing