We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location! Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Design Hotel Neruda
Ranked #73 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location! Location! Location!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located just below the Prague Castle, on very charming Nerudova Street. Location was unbeatable. The rooms were very contemporary and clean. The breakfast buffet was very good too. The hotel staff was helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking time to write your review mentioning our spectacular location, hotel staff, breakfast and all the other things you have enjoyed during your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at hotel Neruda!!

Kind Regards

Helena Bubníková
General Manager

Hotel Neruda
Nerudova 44
118 00 Praha 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    357
    113
    35
    21
See reviews for
95
686
60
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Soenderborg, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My family and I stayed in two separate rooms at the hotel this summer. The location of the hotel could not have been any better, as it is located in walking distance to the major attractions in Prague. The rooms were ok, but not as modern as expected from the pictures on the site - this might be because we lived in the "old" building which had not been renovated.

Apart from the location we were all disappointed with the hotel. On their online site they claim free parking and free Wi-fi in the rooms. We paid 1500 Czech koruna for five days of parking at another hotel 20 minutes (walking distance) away from Hotel Neruda.
The internet was free, but in our rooms we had to use a cable in order to go online (and even then we had problems with the connection). This was a problem since we had expected Wi-fi (as promised on their online site) which meant that we could not go online with our phones.

Our major disappointment was the breakfast. The hotel has a total of 42 rooms, whilst the restaurant has a total of 10-15 tables - far from enough if all wants to eat breakfast at the same time. It was annoying having to spend your morning waiting for a table when you really just wanna get going to see the city. Apart from this problem, the bread served was narrow and long - unsuitable for the salami served. Not very filling, and a grown man would need at least 6-7 pieces to feel full. Then they served the same bread in a circular form (perfect fit for salami fx) but to get some of these you had to be quick because they ran out quickly; EVERY DAY!
In general they ran out of a lot of stuff at the breakfast menu. The idea behind the menu is good, as they had a choice of cereal, bread, cake, eggs, sausages, fruits and so, but because they ran out often half of the stuff was unavailable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanjaAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking time to write this feedback! I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our location very much and that it was convenient for your trip in Prague.

First I must stress that all information is on our website even the pictures of the rooms. We have standard rooms in the old part of the building and superior rooms in the new part of the hotel. Each client is different and everyone desires something else. We try to make our customers happy as much as we can. Regarding the internet connection - in standard room we do have a cable internet connection however WiFi can be accessed from all other areas around the hotel.

I am really sorry about our parking unfortunately our website does not give the information that we have free parking as it is slightly difficult due to our location. We do use parking five minutes away from our hotel in Martinicky palace. Information provided on our website regarding our parking:
"Paid parking Five minutes walk away".

Regarding your breakfast issue unfortunately when hotel Neruda is fully booked it can happened that we can run out of tables for customer however in summer our clients can use the terrace or take their breakfast to their rooms. We are working on improving our breakfast menu every day and we greatly appreciate your comments.

We do encourage our customers to talk to reception if there seems to be any issues or our client is not happy with anything in order to resolve any problem taking place.

One more time thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at hotel Neruda!

Kind Regards

Helena Bubníková
General Manager

Hotel Neruda
Nerudova 44
118 00 Praha 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at your hotel from July 16-18, 2012. I would like to praise the young woman at the reception desk for being so helpful and friendly. It makes a huge difference when you are greeted by such a pleasant person. I had a double room - #34, which was very large and clean. Even though my room was on the streetside, it was quiet and I highly recommend this hotel. Great location, right below the castle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your great feedback !! Our guest satisfaction is very important to us and it is a pleasure to hear that we have managed to meet your expectations. I am pleased to hear our receptionist was helpful and friendly during your stay and that you have enjoyed your room.

We are truly looking forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Neruda soon!

Kind Regards

Helena Bubníková
General Manager


Hotel Neruda
Nerudova 44
118 00 Praha 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, NH
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We chose this hotel from the listing in Lonely Planet. The location was excellent, close to all of the major sights of the city. Also on the positive side, the staff was young, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was adequate, good considering the price of the room. The room was rather small and dark, and would have been uncomfortable if it had been hot. We were fortunate to have cool weather the entire time we were there. The wi-fi was only accessible from the lobby or restaurant which would have been OK except that the techno music was incessant and annoying. It was playing during breakfast and continued late into the night when we were checking emails and using skype. So, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel if you are not too particular about things like the music and a somewhat dreary small room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHtraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback! First I would like to thank you for mentioning our excellent location and our helpful staff. We do try to provide our clients with the best service possible.

Secondly I would like to apologise regarding our wifi connection. However I must stress that we do provide internet all over the public areas of the building including rooms. Our hotel is a listed building from 14th century and old part of the building unfortunately does not have wifi within some rooms however we do provide cable connections in each room. This could be obtained at reception desk where they would provide you with cable and instructions to be able to connect in your room. Thirdly our music is under no circumstances a techno music as it would not be suitable for historical building like hotel Neruda. The owner of the hotel is very careful what sort of music is played as he is a musician himself. We only play original music from France Costa hotels and there is no way this could be changed as its locked in GM office. We understand that every one has a different taste in music and unfortunately we can not satisfy everyone.

I hope these issues have not spoiled your getaway in Prague and you have enjoyed your stay! We are looking forward welcoming you back at hotel Neruda!

Kind Regards

Helena Bubníková
General Manager

Hotel Neruda
Nerudova 44
118 00 Praha 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was my first visit to Prague and I chose The Neruda without knowing much about it as a group of friends were staying there for a wedding. First impressions are usually lasting ones, and my first impression of The Neruda was of a cheerfully smiling receptionist opening the door with a warm greeting upon my arrival at half-past midnight... this certainly proved to be the lasting impression I was left with after my week's stay as well - warm, friendly, cheerful staff making me feel very welcome.

The hotel was quite an interestingly eccentric one, full of quirky little staircases, "secret passages" and rooms in a variety of shapes and sizes, kitted out in an eclectic variety of fittings, ranging from the plainly functional to the Dali-esquely kitsch. I had a more "normal" room: nicely proportioned, with a large, comfortable bed, plenty of closet space, a well-stocked minibar and a largish bathroom equipped with a very good shower. Not bad at all for a three-and-a-half-star rated hotel for which I paid EUR 60 nett per night, inclusive of breakfast!

Speaking of breakfast, the hotel put on a decent spread each morning (albeit rather boringly similar every day), comprising a nice selection of cheeses and charcuterie, cereals, a variety of bread, a couple of hot dishes, (a limited choice of) fruit and several jams and compotes. The coffee was hot and plentiful and there was a good choice of teabags available as well.

Going back to the rooms, while I had a more conventional one, some of the others in my group had rather more eclectic accommodation: one room, in the attic, had a bathtub where the foyer would normally be, with the toilet in a relatively "open" space as well. Fine for a well-established couple, but perhaps a touch awkward for other occupants. Another of the group's rooms (also in an attic) had a slanting ceiling, which meant that he had to literally roll out of bed or risk banging his head each morning. It's worth pointing out that the more eccentric rooms are in the new wing attached to the very handsome, 664 year old original building, so my advice would be to ask for a room in the old wing, should you favour conventionality over quirkiness.

Other facilities are limited, but the hotel does feature a lovely little rooftop terrace, an on-demand spa and a restaurant serving what looked to be an avant-garde vegetarian menu. The restaurant stays open through the day for a good selection of coffees as well as a range of beer and spirits. Wifi is free, but my connection only worked properly in the restaurant area and I couldn't get a signal in my room. A lift services the three floors of the old building but you do have to haul your bags up a few flights of stairs if you are on the higher floors of the new wing.

The hotel's location is superb, about three-quarters of the way up the hill on the cobblestoned Nerudova, just below the castle complex: a perfect base for exploring the Castle, the Mala Strana and The Old Town.

I have given The Neruda an excellent rating because of the warmth, friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, which makes all the difference to me, all other things being equal in terms of accommodation, food etc. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for single travellers and couples, but would suggest that it may not be ideal for families with young children or for older visitors because of the "interesting" staircases in the new wing: however, the hotel would be fine for everyone if you stay in the original building.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking time to write such a great review, mentioning so many things you have enjoyed and experienced in hotel Neruda. I am delighted to receive such a detailed positive feedback and pleased to hear you have enjoyed your one week stay with your group of friends in Prague and we were part of it.

As you mentioned first impression counts the most and I am happy to hear that we have managed to impress you with our friendly reception staff thru out the week. We try to deliver the best possible service to our clients and it is great to hear we are doing a good job at it.

Hotel Neruda is a listed building from 14th century that's why we have so many quirky staircases around the old building which also makes our design interesting and special. As you mentioned some rooms are in the new wing and some in the old, where it can be tricky to get to however, we always try to help our clients or provide an alternative route to their rooms if they find it difficult or offer them another room.

Thank you one more time for this amazing feedback and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back at hotel Neruda soon!

Kind Regards


Helena Bubníková
General Manager
N Hotels Group


Hotel Neruda
Nerudova 44
118 00 Praha 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

For the money this hotel is fine.
Good: receptionists friendly & helpful, room & bathroom clean and modern, breakfast weird for an Aussie/Brit but normal for Europe, fantastic location,
Bad: we had room 14 which is very small. This didnt bother me but beware if you want space. The only bad thing of our stay was room 14 has windows which open onto a corridor so we were unable to open our windows at all as there were people walking past. Very strange and quite annoying. We would have complained had we not already been told the hotel was full and we had the last room.
That being said, it was still nice. We were there for 2 nights so spent hardly any time in the room at all.
I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking time to write your kind feedback! I would like to thank you for understanding about our situation with room number 14 as you mentioned we were fully booked and this is the last room we offer due to the strange window. However, we try to make it up to our guests and provide a discount if you get to stay here.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Hotel Neruda with a large superior room on your next stay. Please email me if you are returning to Prague!

Kind Regards

Helena Bubníková
General Manager

Hotel Neruda
Nerudova 44
118 00 Praha 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband, son (22 months) and I stayed in Hotel Neruda in June 2012 and loved the hotel, it's amazing. First of all, the location cannot be beat - it's at the top of Nerudova Street, a famous cobble stone road lined with historical townhouses (former King's Road) directly leading to the Prague Castle. The walk to the Prague Castle takes about 2 minutes, and the views of Prague from the Castle and its surrounding Gardens are spectacular.
This part of town is quite busy during the day, but very quiet at night, which is perfect for light sleepers. You can easily walk down the street to the Charles Bridge and the other (newer) side of town for more sightseeing and nightlife.
The hotel is in a historical townhouse from the 14th century, therefore it is very charming and the interior is quite unique - it has been tastefully renovated and decorated by a famous Czech architect. Very chic. And very clean. Everything was spotless. And I loved the attention to detail, the antique headboard, and the modern bathtub and stand-alone sink - gorgeous! And by the way, the room was air conditioned.
Hotel staff were wonderful - very friendly and very accommodating. Nothing was a problem. We had to check out very early (at 2am) due to an early flight and they packed breakfast for us - it was really nice to munch on something on our way to the airport.
There's also a lovely vegetarian & vegan restaurant in the hotel building which is very convenient.
Definitely recommend and would return to the hotel in the future.
I added some pictures of the hotel, more pictures of the surrounding area can be found here: http://bamboolababy.wordpress.com/2012/07/03/our-recent-visit-to-prague-czech-republic/

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for such a great feedback!! On behalves of the entire team at Hotel Neruda we are thrilled to hear your trip with your family in Prague was pleasant. I am happy to know you have enjoyed our spectacular location and our 14th century design with a modern touch.

Our staff tries to deliver high value service with personalized touch to each of our valuable customers.

We are looking forward to seeing you again with your family at Hotel Neruda!!

Kind Regards

Helena Bubníková
General Manager


Hotel Neruda
Nerudova 44
118 00 Praha 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#31 of 649 in Prague
640 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#44 of 649 in Prague
790 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Star
Golden Star
#18 of 649 in Prague
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#42 of 649 in Prague
313 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#67 of 649 in Prague
1,793 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Neruda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Neruda

Property: Design Hotel Neruda
Address: Nerudova 225/44 | Lesser Town, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Prague
#57 Business Hotel in Prague
#65 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#212 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Neruda 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design Hotel Neruda is located right below Prague Castle, in a charming area of Mala Strana, in the house where once lived the famous Czech writer Jan Neruda. Modern interior with classical elements was designed by famous architect Borek Sipek. After long strolls through Prague recharges your batteries in the hotel's private spa, which features two saunas and a hot tub. Also be sure to try homemade cakes and delicious hot chocolate in a pleasant atmosphere of Prague Chocolate Cafe & Bistro, which is part of the hotel. High quality services, personal approach and unique atmosphere - all you can expect when staying at this design hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Design Hotel Neruda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neruda Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing