We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full service Hotel at 'Pension' price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Design Hotel Neruda
Ranked #75 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Full service Hotel at 'Pension' price”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here after escaping from the unrealistically highly reviewed 'House at the Big Boot' I would give the place five stars in comparison to that. It is the actual hotel where the Czech poet Jan Neruda lived - his father was a hotelier. It has undergone some very interesting renovations that bring it up to world class for a hotel. The bathroom was fantastic, with a big bathtub (I am 6' 2") and a very modern finish. Yes, there are some stairs and this place is up the hill - the upside is that it is a short stroll to Prague Castle - the downside is that is an easy downhill walk to old center - but a bit of a hike back up. It also has a quite good vegetarian restaurant - something hard to find if you happen to be vegetarian and visiting Prague (lots 'o Pork). Overall clean, and the service is professional.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Askatuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for taking time to write such an amazing review and learning the history of our building. I am extremely happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel mentioning your room with a large bath tub, location and our vegetarian restaurant.

We have been recently trying to meet our customer expectations by giving them a free upgrade for standard prices.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Hotel Neruda!
Kind regards

Helena Bubníková
General Manager

Hotel Neruda
Nerudova 44
118 00 Praha 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    358
    114
    35
    21
See reviews for
96
688
60
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regensburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Cute little hotel and if you are fit, the winding hallways and random flights of stairs won't bother you. We stayed in a darling room on the top floor that was accessible only by a funky suspension-type staircase. I LOVED it for the quirkiness, but some may find it annoying with a lot of heavy luggage. The breakfast was simple - nothing to write home about. But you do need to arrive early if the hotel is fully booked because food tends to disappear. My one complaint was the parking situation. Basically the reception gives you a map that takes you in a round about way to an unmarked parking place. We stopped the car where we were supposed to park and started searching for a sign. There is no sign, but eventually a very scary, angry, big man (not associated with the hotel) approached us and in a gruff voice told us to follow him. We got a feeling that we were parking in his private back yard, and honestly we were worried that we would never see the car again. The man was rude and perhaps drunk. Unfortunately, that is the only parking that the hotel most likely has access to. If you can find your own parking, I would suggest that. . . if you must use the hotel spaces, just be warned of Mr. grumpy pants. In the end, our car was totally fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanamarie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

we would like to thank you for taking time to write your great feedback!

I am greatful to hear that you enjoyed a pleasent stay in our hotel and as stated loved the quirkiness of the hotel. I would like to appologise for your parking issue. Due to the amazing location our hotel is situated in, parking can be a little challenging, however we are trying to resolve this issue.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Hotel Neruda!

Kind Regards

Helena Bubníková
General Manager

Hotel Neruda
Nerudova 44
118 00 Praha 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We booked the hotel via hotels.com, wich gave us an excellent deal (superieur room for +/- 45 euro a night, we stayed in februari) including breakfast. I read the reviews on tripadvisor (wich suggested that room # 001 was a very nice room) and I started emailing with the hotel for room #001. They were really nice and fast with their answers and eventually it was no problem. The room was beautyful, it was one of the rooms from their pictures on their website. We really had a terrific stay, stylisch room, great service (they spoke english), and great location (5 min walk from the castle). Breakfast was ok, but could be beter. Parking is 24,50 Euro a night. (but its really hard to find a spot in the area.) Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10En
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for your time writing this wonderful feedback. We are delighted you were pleased with your deal and that the team was helpful with your request to stay in room 001. I am happy to know you had a positive experience while staying at our stylish hotel and the service and location met you expectations. I am also delighted to inform you that our team is working on improvement to our breakfast menu.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Hotel Neruda!

Kind Regards

Helena Bubníková
General Manager

Hotel Neruda
Nerudova 44
118 00 Praha 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This was my hotel in my first time to Prague, and i enjoyed every minute being a guest in here. The breakfast is great, the service is terrific, it is located in a convenient place within blocks away from metro and the typical sightseeing places in Prague.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSmelhaus, Generální ředitel at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, December 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in the historic centre of Prague and thank you for your feedback.
I m very happy that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us and that the staff was friendly to you.
We are always pleased to assist you with your needs.
Thank you for sharing your experiences here with other travellers.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to help with anything in Prague
We are here for you and we are looking forward to your next visit soon
Best regards from Prague

Dipl. Ing. Petr Smelhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed 3 nights at Hotel Neruda in Room #201, which is a 'superior room' with a fabulous bathroom and modern designer furnishings, plus high ceilings and wooden beams to remind you that you are in a 14th century monastery! We were celebrating our wedding anniversary whilst on holiday and I think the room we had was the 'honeymoon room'. There was a mix-up on the first night and we were put in a different room (#004, I think) - it was separate from the main part of the hotel (a private doorway two doors up Nerudová street) and whilst the idea of total privacy and our-own-apartment-in-Prague was nice, it did feel a little odd and remote. And the Wi-Fi reception was very poor, which was problematic for my husband who needed to read his work emails. But the mix up was resolved the next morning with profuse apologies from Reception (the staff are LOVELY and so helpful) and we were switched into our correct room. The breakfast buffet was generous and seemed pretty Czech - lots of cold cuts and caraway-seed bread. I prefer to eat locally whilst in new places rather than just expect cornflakes everywhere. The room rate was so reasonable that any minor complaints about breakfast could not be justified (the juice and fruit salad were terrible - but then again we were in Prague in mid-Winter when fresh fruit is presumably scarce). The hotel's location in Malá Strana, literally just below the castle, was perfect. We walked everywhere - took about 10 minutes to get to the Old Town Square via the beautiful Charles Bridge, and from there we just kept walking. We ate heavy traditional meals each night at beer halls and pubs in the Old Town and New Town and so we really appreciated the walks back to Nerudová street to burn off some dumplings! I recommend Hotel Neruda and would stay there again when visiting Prague.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marley_newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear Valued guest,
I am very glad to read your wonderful review of satisfaction with the stay in our Hotel Neruda.
Hotel service is always about to listen to clients' needs.
Girl at the reception offered you a separated room, where you did not feel so good ........in the morning you were moved to our beautiful wedding room, where you were satisfied ... and I am happy with you.
Thank you very much again for your stay and I do hope that you have a nice feeling from Prague....
Wish you all the best
With kind regards

Helena Bubníková
General Manager
N Hotels Group

Hotel Neruda
Nerudova 44
118 00 Praha 1
E-mail: sales@hotelneruda.cz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just had a lovely stay at Neruda. Got an excellent last minute deal which was amazing value. Stylish decor, excellent location and absolutely wonderful staff who couldn't have been more helpful. A couple of negatives - the single beds in the twin room I was sharing were very narrow and consequently I didn't sleep very well. Also the breakfast, which was fine if not spectacular, suffered one particularly busy morning when the poor lone waiter (who was working his hardest) simply couldn't keep up with demand. But overall would definitely reccommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenEleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Squeezed into a long row of curiosity shops on Nerudova street is a strong contender for the best boutique hotel in Malá Strana—the Hotel Neruda. This refurbished 20-room villa has combined a high level of modern elegance with the original accents of its 14th-century shell. Most of the fixtures—from the fresh new bathrooms to the beds and dining tables—suggest a bold sense of Prague’s promising future, but enveloped within its Renaissance past.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shreyasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Let me thank you for your great feedback!!! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay in Prague in Hotel Neruda from 14th century. It is a nice feeling of history and new design together….
It will be our pleasure to welcome you/your friends back to Hotel Neruda in the future. Thank you.
With kind regards

Helena Bubníková
General Manager
N Hotels Group

Hotel Neruda
Nerudova 44
118 00 Praha 1
E-mail: sales@hotelneruda.cz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#32 of 649 in Prague
642 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#44 of 649 in Prague
791 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Star
Golden Star
#18 of 649 in Prague
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#40 of 649 in Prague
315 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#67 of 649 in Prague
1,796 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Neruda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Neruda

Property: Design Hotel Neruda
Address: Nerudova 225/44 | Lesser Town, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Prague
#57 Business Hotel in Prague
#67 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#212 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Neruda 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design Hotel Neruda is located right below Prague Castle, in a charming area of Mala Strana, in the house where once lived the famous Czech writer Jan Neruda. Modern interior with classical elements was designed by famous architect Borek Sipek. After long strolls through Prague recharges your batteries in the hotel's private spa, which features two saunas and a hot tub. Also be sure to try homemade cakes and delicious hot chocolate in a pleasant atmosphere of Prague Chocolate Cafe & Bistro, which is part of the hotel. High quality services, personal approach and unique atmosphere - all you can expect when staying at this design hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Design Hotel Neruda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neruda Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing