We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, small blip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Ranked #59 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great hotel, small blip”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We picked this hotel based on excellent trip advisor ratings and we're not disappointed. We had arranged collection from airport and were duly picked up by a smartly dressed young man in a lovely clean and luxurious car...great start. Check in was smooth and easy but was disappointed with the allocated room. On entering the room was really hot. I went to open the window to find it opened only onto a corridor not outside. The ventilation system did not provide cool air at this time of year. Knowing I would not be able to sleep in the heat of the room and with no way of cooling it I asked to change. Nothing was available that night but the man in the desk arranged for a room change the following day and brought up a fan to the room..he agreed the room was way too hot.

After a difficult nights sleep the breakfast was superb. Room changed organised for later that day to a much better room at the front of the hotel which was cool and had a window to the outside!

Otherwise staff were very friendly and helped us to book meals and concerts etc. the hotel is in a superb location within easy reach of all the sights....it's also just across from a fantastic cocktail bar ( hemmingways).

In summary, room once changed was good. Staff excellent. Breakfast excellent. Location excellent. Would recommend but would suggest paying for a superior room or booking directly with hotel as I've read that the least good rooms are allocated to those who booked through hotel websites. Had a fantastic stay in Prague.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank filouthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomasNesvorny, General Manager at Hotel Leonardo Prague, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review and I am glad to hear we could sort out the initial room issue and make yourself comfortable. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us in Prague this Autumn at our boutique hotel and enjoyed our breakfast as well. You are correct that we can pay more attention to direct bookings over our website as we own these reservations and our guest services manager reaches out to guests prior to arrival regarding special occasions or other preferences. Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,528
    684
    107
    21
    16
See reviews for
454
1,175
78
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went for 5 days for an extended city trip and the city made us walk. The booked limousine from the airport the evening before worked very well. The room was clean, warm and very spacious (maisonette) and our daughter had her own room under the roof. Much space to put our suit cases, wet clothes and umbrellas (it rained much and heavy). Breakfast was in the cellar – and very romantic. If we are ever going back to Prague, we will go back to the Leonardo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomasNesvorny, General Manager at Hotel Leonardo Prague, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about our boutique hotel in Prague and we are sorry about the rain, we will try to do better next time. As we are heading into the Winter season very soon, snow in Prague can be very romantic, when everything gets covered in white and especially during the Christmas markets season as well. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Really lovely hotel in an excellent location. Had standard room, which overlooked the courtyard and was very quiet. We had a large balcony with table and chairs - very pleasant for an evening drink!! Not only tea and coffee making facilities, but a whole kitchenette! Breakfast was really excellent with plenty of choice. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Can't really think of anything to fault or that could be improved.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vixen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomasNesvorny, General Manager at Hotel Leonardo Prague, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are glad you did enjoy your stay with us here in Prague and liked our boutique hotel and thank you for your kind words about Hotel Leonardo Prague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

A lovey boutique hotel in an excellent location not far from all the main tourists sights in Prague. It has a good restaurant and the rooms are spacious and excellently furnished. A great place to stay if you are in Prague whether on business or as visiting the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomasNesvorny, General Manager at Hotel Leonardo Prague, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review or Hotel Leonardo Prague. We are glad you did enjoy your stay with us here in Prague and liked our boutique hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in the family room which was really just two standard rooms connected by an extra outside door. Each of the rooms still had card key locks, each had it's own bathroom and the minibar/kitchette area was in the room with the double bed. The hotel is within a few blocks of Charles Bridge and pretty easily accessible to the river, tram stops, etc. The family room(s) face the street which, even with the windows closed, one could hear night time revelers up until all hours of the night. The trash truck crashed down the street around 11:00 pm and then the street cleaner around 1:30 am. I think things started to quiet down around 4:00 am. We drove to the hotel and, given the tight street on which the hotel is located, the valet managed to get the cars out to wherever they parked them fairly quickly. Given the number of other options in Prague I'd probably try to find another place to stay if I were to return.

Room Tip: Try for an inside room. You won't have a view but you'll get some sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cafjefmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomasNesvorny, General Manager at Hotel Leonardo Prague, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear that overall you did enjoy your stay but the noise. We did soundproof windows on the rooms you were in, but it seems it might not be enough. I am surprised to hear that was a garbage truck late at night in the street, as this is normally not happening. We are sorry for that and thank you for your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We arranged to have the hotel car pick us up at the train station in Prague. The driver was waiting for us, drove us straight to the hotel for check in. The location of the hotel is very near the Charles Bridge, and several restaurants and pubs are in the area. Our beds were quite comfortable, we were quite pleased with the hotel during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomasNesvorny, General Manager at Hotel Leonardo Prague, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your great comments about Hotel Leonardo. We are happy you did enjoy our services at the hotel from the beginning of your airport pick up to the end. Best Regards from Prague!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It seems that most other people had a more positive experience with Hotel Leonardo, so maybe I just had some bad luck, but I was not impressed. The location is the best feature of the hotel - it is on a narrow, cobblestone street 1-2 blocks from the river in the center of Prague. It is also right near the National Theater and Charles Bridge. We had booked a nice room because we were treating ourselves - we asked for a view of the river and a spacious room. What we got was a top floor loft with basically no view of the river, 2 twin beds, and no wifi reception. Not to mention, it was not very roomy. Our travel companions, who reserved the same type of room, meanwhile got a HUGE room with a great view and 2 queen size beds. We ended up having to move our room and lost our view of the river, but kept our 2 twin beds. Not such a big deal, but when you are paying extra money to treat yourself, it's a little disappointing. Also disappointing was some of the help we received. We found an amazing vegetarian restaurant, Clear Head, and wanted to eat there for our last meal in Prague. The front desk said they booked it for us, even called us to verify that it had been done. When we went to the restaurant, we saw a sign saying it was closed for the day - apparently that sign had been up for a week. So how was the reservation made? We were all incredibly disappointed that we weren't able to enjoy our last meal like we had hoped. The biggest plus of this hotel is the really good breakfast they serve.

In sum, the location is great, the accommodations are nice if you get lucky, and the staff isn't necessarily the most helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CherylAB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomasNesvorny, General Manager at Hotel Leonardo Prague, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear CherylAB92,

thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to read you did not enjoy the hotel as much as you hoped to. I have followed up on your experience with my team.

Your reservation was in a Castle View Maisonette Room and I am sorry you did not enjoy the room as personally they are my favorites. Your other party was upgraded into Castle View Junior Suites, that is a different room type. I understood my team did their best to accommodate you to move you to various rooms you would have liked.

As per your note about Clear head restaurant, I am not sure where the mistake could have happened as we all knew the restaurant was closed all week and it is located on the other side of the street.

I am sorry you did not have a fantastic experience.

Tomas Nesvorny, General Manager, tomasn@hotelleonardo.cz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,713 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#33 of 649 in Prague
2,476 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 649 in Prague
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,296 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#12 of 649 in Prague
737 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leonardo Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leonardo Prague

Property: Hotel Leonardo Prague
Address: Karoliny Svetle 323/27, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Prague
#22 Family Hotel in Prague
#40 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#53 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Leonardo Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique Hotel Leonardo is an oasis of elegance and sophisticated hospitality located directly in the Old Town, only 300m from the famous Charles Bridge. Hotel Leonardo enjoys a very unique central and quiet location and offers 82 richly and tastefully furnished rooms, magical outside fountain courtyard, Platina Restaurant & Garden, intimate meeting rooms and complimentary rich buffet breakfast and free Wi-Fi to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Leonardo Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing