We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“big disappointment”
Review of Hotel King George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel King George
Ranked #53 of 358 Prague B&B and Inns
new york city
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“big disappointment”
Reviewed July 24, 2006

I had booked this hotel based on past reviews and recommendations from various guide books. I am from Prague, and speak Czech, and wanted my group of cycling friends from America to experience a genuine historic hotel.
I had made the reservations well in advance. When we got to the hotel, we too saw the dilapidated state of the building, the "Club" practically next door, and the large, ongoing construction in the building next door. I was very upset by this, since none of this had been mentioned by anyone, including (and especially) the hotel staff before our arrival.
The fabulous restaurant mentioned by previous reviewers was closed, and never opened during our stay.
The staff, with one exception was hostile, rude and downright unhelpful.
The rooms were clean, and in our case, large, but very hot and noisy.
The only thing going for the hotel is the location, since it is very close to the Old Town Square ( and what makes the hotel charge the prices they do)
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone at this time.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    59
    36
    24
    14
See reviews for
18
75
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2006

The accommodation provided was adequate for our short stay in Prague, however I found it to be over-priced.
The reception had made an error with our booking - they had booked only 2 nights rather than 3 - they had doubled booked our room. On our return from a full day of exploring, we were told that we had to find alternative accommodation, and all our luggage was piled onto the floor. The receptionist refused to discuss the situation with us, and we had to find alternative accommodation by ourselves. This surprised me as I was expecting a much more professional response from them.
I would not recommend this hotel to others after my experience.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2006

I feel the pain of the two previous reviewers, because I had a similar terrible experience at King George Hotel. I booked here based on the good reviews on Trip Advisor and in travel books. I will not make the same mistake again.

We arrived to find a fairly dingy building almost across the street from a "gentleman's club." The receptionist was rude and acted as if she was doing us a favor by checking us in. We trudged up some dodgy stairs because their elevator did not go up to the top floor where our "suite" was located. King George has quite a nerve calling our room a suite. It was a small room in the attic with and adjoining small room. We had to rent the safety deposit box, something we had not encountered in Vienna or Krakow during our travels. It was not particularly clean and the "carpet" did in fact feel like steel wool. The bathroom had a very communist feel, and the shower leaked a lot onto the floor. After 1 day of staying there, the communist toilet paper ran out. When we told the staff this the following morning, they merely brought in a new roll, plopping it on top of the toilet, without putting it inside!

Another great surprise was the completely active construction site right outside our window. The men started work at 7 am each morning, so it was lovely waking up to that noise. You have to keep the windows open because there is not air conditioning. Breakfast was awful and the bar where it was served was less that clean. Breakfast staff could not have been more rude. We skipped it the other 3 mornings that we stayed, and had to buy breakfast elsewhere.

Please do not make the mistake of booking here, the place is a dump and staff is rude. Only saving grace is that it is close to Old Town. Prices are not cheap, and DEFINITELY not worth what you pay.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank given2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2006

When a friend and I booked this hotel we only meant to stay 2 nights but the charms of Prague got to us and we asked the front desk staff to extend our stay by one night. We thought it was all OK except it wasn't and to our horror we returned to the hotel after a day out to find we did not have a room at all. The rude front desk staff accused me of being a liar when we tried to explain we had extended the booking but it was all to no avail. While we had been away all our clothes and toiletries had been piled high in the middle of the room and my toothbrush had been left on a not so clean floor!

Lucky for us the Pension Red Chair was very friendly and had a room available at very short notice. It was a relief to get away from such rude people and such a disappointing place.

Also, we booked a suite at this hotel and were quite disappointed to find it was really just one big room with a queen bed and 2 singles. The bathroom consisted of a bath with a hand shower with no water pressure and minimal hot water from the hand shower. To top it off the hallways always smelled of stale cigarette smoke.

A very disappointing stay in what we expected to be a fabulous hotel

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank glees99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2006

We booked into the Hotel King George, based on positive reviews on Trip Advisor and recommendations in Rick Steves. Were we in for a disappointment! (I have to wonder why the finest hotels in the U.S. rarely get more than 3.5 , but "circles" on Tripadvisor, while almost every hotel in Europe seems to rate 4 circles plus.) The room was small, dingy and the carpet felt like walking on a steel brush. Indifferent staff (we asked if we could see another room and he told us to wait till the morning), creepy entrance, meager breakfast. We had asked for a quiet room - the final straw was construction literally right over our heads in the morning. By 8 a.m. we were out of there looking for something else. Thank goodness for Hotel Retezova, which saved Prague for us.

Positives - location near Old Town Square and Charles Bridge (in spite of being next to "Pussy Galore"); good bathroom (though no place to put shaving kits, etc.)

Negatives - listed above - and no bargain at 3500 Czech crowns per night.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ONTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2006

Spent four nights at Hotel King George with my mother. Absolutely perfect location. The thing I liked best about the location was that even though you were a short walk to the Charles Bridge and Old Town Square, the street the hotel is on is a quiet side street, away from the massive crowd of tourists. We were up a flight of steps (no elevator) and towards the back so we never heard any noise from the bar/restaurant. Nice buffet breakfast in the morning, a little grocery store next to the hotel, very clean accommodations, modern bathroom. We were very satisfied and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank blackmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2006

I booked 3 nights at Hotel King George after reading great reviews on TripAdvisor, and the price was unbeatable. I went to Prague during the lowest of the low season, and I was able to get a nice large room with a sparkling bathroom, separate sitting area, on the top floor with hot breakfast for about 1600-kc per night. In Prague, that's an amazingly cheap deal.

The place feels like a boutique hotel, a bit rustic in a clean, comfortable sense. My suite was spacious and very comfortable, and the radiators kept the entire room VERY warm. The room was not luxurious but has a bed and breakfast feel. There were a bar and restaurant on-site so you never had to go far to get food or drinks. The staff were wonderful....always smiling and extremely helpful.

The location was perfect. I could walk to the Charles Bridge or Old Town Square in 5 minutes. There were plenty of restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops nearby, and there are two metro stations 5-8 minutes of walk away. I met a lady who paid more for her 3-star hotel and had to walk 30 mins to get to Old Town Square!! Needless to say I was EXTREMELY happy with my choice of accommedation. Hotel King George is definitely a gem and I'll be back again very soon.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FollowThatBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Betlem Club
Betlem Club
#267 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Residence Bologna
Residence Bologna
#335 of 651 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
#183 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pension U Lilie
Pension U Lilie
#281 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Rubicon
Hotel Rubicon
#223 of 651 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#193 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel King George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel King George

Property: Hotel King George
Address: Liliova 247/10, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 358 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel King George 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel King George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel u Krale Jiriho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing