We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, helpful people”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sir Toby's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sir Toby's Hostel
Ranked #7 of 662 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place, helpful people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

The location is slightly off the main center, but its super close to the tram. The staff here was so helpful and great, the hostel is so cool inside and the bar down stairs is great. Rooms were great. Overall, just a really great experience here. I completely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    128
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
76
147
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

My husband and I had a private en-suite room, which was huge, comfortable, and nicely decorated. The staff was very friendly and happy to help with questions. The free wi-fi throughout the building was always fast and reliable. The location is ideal, with easy tram access. The pub downstairs is perfect! We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Prague.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shinandfamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

I was on Sir Toby's las week, and it was a great experience. The staff is awsome, the rooms are very good (no frills). Good internet connection, and easy access, through the tram, to Prague Old City and Castle.

Breakfast is very good and affordable (5€).

Sir Toby's combines hostal and hotel services, I stayed in two different private rooms, and all of them were very good. They have a kitchenette and they provide coffee and tea at no extracost. You could get the towels from the front desk. They also provide public transportation tickets and cards for a very good value.

The staff is quite friendly and always ready to help.

It is a very good choice if you want to stay in a quiet neighborhood and find and affordable place in the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseatoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

It's a great hostel, nothing to add or complain about clean, noise and other issues, but I guess that the combination of small factors made a great experience for me. I mean, kitchen close to the common room that's close to the bar and it's all underground. A real nice combination. Every one has to be in close spaces so you meet people all the time. The atmosphere is just amazing.
I didn't plan my trips so well. but over there was so easy to get information. The hostel had it's own map that was really impressive and any information could be found with the Staff or with the other guests.
I'm almost afraid to talk too much and sound like advertising, but my experience was just amazing

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SauloEuclydes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

We accidentally went the wrong direction when we first arrived but as soon as we got that sorted the location was very easy to find.
It is a couple of minutes out of the city but once you get a pass (which is cheap and is available at the hostel reception-with a very good deal) it's actually nice so that you can see a bit of the river and the rest of the city.
The rooms were always kept clean and the cleaning ladies I met when I was too hungover to leave the hostel were extremely nice, considerate and even taught me a few words in Czech.
The bar and common room area was so incredibly awesome and a great place to meet people. The drinks aren't expensive but if you're really budget travelling you can buy cheaper beer down the road at the grocery store - which is also very convenient!!
The free wifi was a little dodgy at times, but unless you're trying to download movies it is completely fine :)
The staff were always helpful and kind.
All in all one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evakiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Staff is very nice. We were two people in a room with a double bed and an individual bed. The room had a bathroom with a sink, shower and a toilet. You have to bring your own towels. There was a small cabinet with cups, sugar and coffee with an electric kettle.

The Hostel itself is great! You have breakfast (not included with the night price), the shared kitchen is open to any customer and has already salt and kitchen oil. Supermarket is less than one kilometer so you can have one great (and cheap) meal (I suggest black beer Krušovice, really good!). You have dozens of city guides on the main lobby. And there is free wi-fi at the lobby and on the all hostel.

The price is very affordable. Although we went there in november, there is a great backyard to enjoy the sun or have a wonderful meal.

Location is not at the historic center of Prague, but there are transports about 250 meters from the hostel or you can walk about 2 km to the river which is next to the historic centre

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroNunesMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Sir Toby's is really wonderful. The downside is it's not in the center of Prague, but there are trams that take you there in 10 min. One tram takes you near Old Town Square and the other takes you near the castle.
The staff at Sir Toby's is really great. They seem to be able to all speak several languages and were very, very helpful and friendly. They give you a really helpful map when you arrive and directions on how to get to the trams and how to use them. A really great thing they do is you can buy daily or weekly transit passes from them. Apparently the hostel purchases several monthly passes and you can use them for a per day rate. They have free internet and several computers. They have free lockers behind the desk for valuables. And the breakfast! So good and such a good deal. Our room was very clean and comfortable, it had a sink and then we shared a bathroom with one other double. The bathroom was very clean, the shower had good water pressure and the water was always warm. They have a very nice Pub in the basement and one night I even went to a beer tasting that was very cheap considering all the beers I got to taste.
Overall I think this is a great place to stay even thought its outside the center. I actually think it was nice to get out of the tourist crowds that are in the center.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer-of-SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#64 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#186 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#12 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#5 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#19 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Charles Bridge Economic Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Toby's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Toby's Hostel

Property: Sir Toby's Hostel
Address: Delnicka 1155/24, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 7
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 662 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sir Toby's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A genuine hostel experience with unrivaled guest service! We love Prague and want you to love it too. With almost two whole floors of common space (including a full guest kitchen, garden with guest grill, basement Pub with drinks and board games, and a cozy reading room), you're sure to make new friends at Sir Toby's. Plus, we offer a wide variety of accommodation options to fit your budget and your preference. Sir Toby's offers the kind of personal attention and service that only come with experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Toby's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Toby`s Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing