We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long climb :)”
Review of Platan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Platan
Ranked #241 of 359 Prague B&B and Inns
Highlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A long climb :)”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Despite what others have said here - there IS a lift up to the 5th floor thankfully!!!!
Its very old and very rickety and only takes a maximum of 3 people but it works fine.
As for the Pension itself, it was spotlessly clean and warm - especially welcome seeing as it was -18 outside when we arrived.
The beds furniture and decor have seen better days and some of the bed linen was pretty worn looking. But to be honest, we got what we paid for and have no complaints.
Would have been nice to have a shower head you could stand under as well.
All in all though its in a great location, the staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast was a nice tasty way to start the day.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prs069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    58
    51
    12
    19
See reviews for
22
72
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed two nights in the studio of Pension Platan. The studio is located in another building than the reception and pension. Be reminded that the studio is situated on the fifth floor and there is NO lift! But you will be rewarded with a clean and spacious room with private bathroom and a balcony with a view to the river Vltava. It is only about a 5 minute walk from the pension to the Staromestske namesti (Old town square), and close by is a supermarket open everyday until 22.00 (Oct 2011). Breakfast was included in our price and it was made ready in the fridge. You can enjoy your privacy in the studio since the room was not visited by anyone of the staff. And furthermore, it is a really quiet place for a good night sleep although the beds aren't too comfy,...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amsterdamned74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Just got back from 4 nights here. Very pleased with the stay. The location is great with a 5 minute walk to all the tourist attractions. The breakfast is good (we stayed in the studio apartment) the fridge was kept well stocked. The rooms are clean and simple. All appliances worked. The only downside is the long haul to the room with there being no lift. We would return again. :)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cayusez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

my friends and I (thee were 3 of us) stayed here for a couple of nights. Got the apartment at the backyard with 2 rooms, 2bathrooms. Fridge, sink, washing machine available. We were supposed to be checked into a triple room. When we emailed the owner asking about any laundry service available or any nearby laundry place, the owner quickly moved us into the apartment, thinking the washing machine would help as we would need todo laundry. that's very nice of her to arrange it for us. The apartment area was very quite at night. Worried of our safety as all of us were girls travelling together. Free wifi when staying there. But very weak signal at the apartment, we had to go to the office (where other rooms were located) to get better Wifi connection. Overall OK experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed for two nights in the hotel over a weekend. It is very centrally located with the old town center just a 20 minute walk. However, the hotel is definitively a functional budget hotel and at 50 euros a night one cant expect much more. The room we stayed in was decently spacious and clean. There is no housekeeping (at least no one cleaned our room when we were out). Breakfast is included and is basically bread with preserves, butter, cheese etc with coffee and juice, nothing spectacular but is filling. The staff was friendly and helpful but the so called reception is open only between 9:00 and 13:00 so there is no one available at odd hours. Check out is promptly at 10:00 since they need to clean the room for the next guest since they have only a limited number of rooms. So it wont be possible to leave your baggage there if you are leaving the city in the evening and want to spend the day in town. The hotel has free wi-fi though which is a definite plus.
This is a decent budget hotel and good if you plan to sight see all day and come back to your hotel just to crash.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lknewnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

My husband, brother and myself stayed here in June 2011. We had the "art deco apartment" with two double beds (there were 2 cots and a crib - but it was broken). We were not able to attach the shower head so we had to hold it or rig up a hanger to hold it up. Only one VERY small towel each. There was no air conditioning and it was on the 3rd floor. Check in was relatively easy (can only check in between 8-11 and if after keys left in safebox out front). The decor was dated. The beds were relatively comfortable. The kitchen was decent and there was plenty of space in the rooms (one bedroom with double bed separate from other room with double bed/couches/kitchen).
Close to the city center and the sights.
Was not a four star hotel by any means but not a total dive either. For the price it was reasonable. The elevator works although it is very old and only holds 3 people.
You pay for the room after the first night (between 8-11). All in all not a bad place and if you are young and on the go most of the time it would be just fine. Perhaps not the best location if limited mobility.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadagirltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keasbey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

My dad and I are staying at Pension Platan for our 5 night stayin Prague. I still have one more night to stay but am ready to review this place. Let's break it down:

Location: SUPERB! Its in Old Town Prague, just off of Namesti Republicky (but just a couple blocks away to keep all noises out). It's on the 5th floor of a building that also houses a car rental place across the courtyard. Be warned, the place was difficult to find the first time ONLY because I had no idea what street was in which direction once I got off the metro stop. Stand so you are facing the Palladium, and walk to the left of that (on the same side) and it'll be Revoluci Street (keep walking past a couple of lights, and when you pass Himalaya (indian restaurant), look out for the car rental sign, its that same building.

Price: Awesome. I paid about $38 USD for both of us with a room that included breakfast (basic, more on that below). For Old Town, that's perfect.

Room: We stayed at room 4, it has two double beds put together and then a single separated bed. A single seat couch, table with three chairs (for eating), armoir, three night stands, safe, microwave, TV, bathroom with a wooden stand for towels, personal belongings, etc. It has a full length mirror, towels, sheets, blankets are all provided. Our room had windows on the roof (kind of like an attic/slanted roof). It was really quite pretty as the light came in each morning. Oh and best of all, FREE WIFI (secured)!

Breakfast: served in the room every morning between 8-11am (up to you when you want it).Its VERY basic but then its food so its fine! You get rolls with (butter, honey, chocolate spread, pate, jam), wedge of laughing cow cheese, yogurt and choice of coffee or tea.

Service: The two people I have seen work here are very friendly. They are only at the pension from 8am - 12pm. The keys to your room will open both the main pension door and the fob opens the main bldg door after hours. It's quite secure which is nice. The rooms are not cleaned nor are beds made each day like in a hotel. It's basically you renting out a room, the trash is taken care of as needed, and towels are also replaced as needed. Maps provided upon request (there's also a small one in the room upon arrival). In addition, there is a fridge in the corridor where each room has a designated shelf.
A couple of things to keep in mind, you'll have to pay your balance the day after you arrive (not at the end of your stay like most places), credit cards are not accepted in person (so CZK or Euro only), check in is between 12-1, we arrived at 10am, left our luggage at the pension and back before 1pm to check in, and if you check out outside of the hours of 8am-12pm then you can leave the room key in your room or at a drop box on the main bldg floor).

Overall, I would definitely stay here again. The area is safe. The tram is literally outside the door should you need to use it. The service is good. The price is great. The rooms are cute. If you're not high maintenance and are just looking for a place to spend the nights, this is it. There is NO luxury, so don't expect it. I highly recommend this for budget travelers.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anjani6898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Rubicon
Hotel Rubicon
#220 of 649 in Prague
589 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel City Centre
Hotel City Centre
#585 of 649 in Prague
310 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
City Lounge Hotel
City Lounge Hotel
#325 of 649 in Prague
101 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#68 of 649 in Prague
1,758 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Unie Pension
Unie Pension
#170 of 359 in Prague
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platan

Property: Platan
Address: Revolucni 1546/24, Prague, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 359 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Platan 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Platan pension is situated in the historic centre of Prague - in the Old town. 0ffers rooms, apartments and a studios. Each room has private shower and WC, safe box, satellite TV, full mirror, el. kettle, ventilator, hairdryer, radio and FREE WIFI. Iron and fridge are in the main corridor. Continental breakfast is included. Pension Platan is the best choice for tourists who are looking for pleasant accommodation in the center of Prague for a good price. Children are for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Platan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Platan Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing