We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming hotel in the Stare Mesto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Ranked #169 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“charming hotel in the Stare Mesto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2007

The Pension U Medvidku is a nice little place to stay in Prague. The rooms all have hardwood floors and exposed wooden beams and rafters, creating a more "authetic" feel than you would get at hotels with more modern designs. The staff were all very courteous and helpful. The hotel is about a two minute walk from the old town square, so it is a good value for the location. Prices start at about $90 per night for a single room, which includes breakfast. I think I was the only guest there who wasn't married and over the age of 35, so it is a fairly quiet place, although the hardwood floors throughout mean that you can hear everyone who walks past your room at night. The hotel has a great (and popular) beerhouse, as well as a beer museum where you can see all the traditional Czech brewing tools.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mpr612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    188
    58
    6
    9
See reviews for
69
153
38
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2007

We stayed in U Medvidku in February 2007 for 5 nights. We were getting married in Prague and all our guests were also booked into the same Hotel, so we saw around 6 of the rooms.

All rooms very very clean and very spacious, with the exception of the single rooms which were tiny. We booked a historic double room and ended up with a massive suite, with a huge living room and a similar sized bedroom, containing one double bed and one single bed.

The other doubles were also quite spacious, and generally had more than one bed, either a pullout or a sofa bed.

Our room was at the front of the hotel, looking out onto the street. This was a bit noisy at night, with the sound of traffic, although the street itself wasn't all that busy.

The beds were very comfortable, but creaked when you moved. None of our wedding guests had this problem.

The hotel is in a great location, right in between the old town and Wenceslas Squares. There are quite a few good pubs and restaurants in the same area.

The staff were pleasant and helpful and the breakfast were good and included in the price.

The airport pick up provided by the hotel is cheap and convenient.

I would definitely return to this hotel, but just request a room that doesn't face on to the street.

We stayed in Hotel U Prince on the weekend of our wedding, which I will also post a review about.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank DCreelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2007

We had the good fortune on our New Year break in Prague to discover that our first choice hotel was over-booked, resulting in our transfer to the Medvidku. The rooms were basic, but comfortable,warm and clean. The staff were excellent english-speakers and couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. Free internet access is a bonus for checking weather & flights.
The location is superb and close to all the major attractions and the river. We recommend walks to the Castle and the ancient fortress of Vsyrehad. The Old Town is full of great places to eat & drink, especially the Atmosfear Bar where you can get a free hat with every three Jagermeisters - we came away with two each !
Don't neglect the facilities the Medvidku has to offer though - the Budvar beer and the Beer Cellar restaurant are top notch !
This hotel will definitely be first on our list next time.

  • Liked — EVERYTHING !
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Ryders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2006

We stayed at U Medvidku in Oct-06 & we were very impressed.

I'm sure the taxi would be great if you had lots of luggage or in a group but bus 119 & the tube cost 20kr instead of 600kr & was dead easy to use. Just don't forget to stamp your ticket inside the bus! Take the bus till the final stop & there's a tube stop right there. When you get out of the tube at Mustek walk away from the very impressive building at one end & turn left at the other end. When you get to Tesco's look right & you can see it!

The hotel staff were very friendly & helpful. In regards to value for money, it was excellent. Compared to what other hotels charge - £60 was a bargain, especially when you consider it's location. It is within minutes walk of everything from the old town, Charles Bridge & Malá Strana area (which is great for drinking).

We stayed in the historic room (33) & it was fantastic. The room is on the 3rd floor & is a very steep climb - we are young but got quite out of breath so if you are old/not healthy I wouldn't recommend it. No worries about temperature in winter as it has individual heaters. However I didn't see any signs of aircon & I suspect the room could get very hot in summer. The shower is basic & a little weak water pressure but perfectly adequate to shower - what more do you need to get clean? Yes the towels are thin but again more than enough to get dry - oh & the hairdryer was good. The room is big but still cosy, looks adorable & the bed is very comfy - we slept like babies.

The breakfast wouldn't win any awards, it was ok, there's plenty of a low-budget buffet & good coffee. The food in the restaurant was ok, served quickly & the beer excellent. The little bar was absolutely lovely had great beer, fab atmosphere & best of all in the hotel & open to 3am so the perfect final stop of the night.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

  • Liked — Everything...
  • Disliked — Nothing worth mentioning...
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't miss the bone church in Kutna Hora!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ria_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2006

U Medvidku was a decent stay, but fell short of our expectations. It was very well located, in the Old Town just a few minutes' walk from the Astronomical Clock. The staff was friendly and mostly English-speaking, and there was Internet access in the lobby. However, we paid 10% extra to stay in an "historical room" which was large but plain, and did not match the look and feel of the website photos. The working in-house brewery was an attraction, but the "tour" consisted of us poking around the small facilities ourselves and then being treated to a complimentary 1/4 Liter beer. We had thoughts of switching accomodations after a few days, once we had a chance to really explore Prague, but decided that the convenience and location outweighed the Pension's lack of character. There is a really wonderful little wine & cheese bar just a few doors down that you have to check out.

  • Liked — Location, large room
  • Disliked — Room was very plain.
  • Tips/Secrets — Spend a few extra crowns for a heally top-flight hotel.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Utinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, RI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed at this place in March 2006 and it was a great deal. The location can't be beat, just minutes from the Old Square. Our first meal in Prague was in the Hotel restuarant; the traditional food was good and the BudVar was excellent.

This place served as a great home base for sightseeing; all the major sites of Prague are arrayed around the place and most are within walking distance.

We initially were going to move from here to another neighborhood to get a better feel of Prague and save a few bucks, but the prices were so fair that we extended our stay by a couple of days- twice. Because of this we actually saw three different rooms and definately recommend the very top floor if the stairs aren't a problem, as the only issue with the other rooms was noise from the street or restuarant.

The small bar located next door is great for a last beer after getting back from a long day of sightseeing, plus it's open late.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KDWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2006

Just got back from a trip to this hotel. Location is great. 5 mins walk to Old Town Square and about 12 minutes to Charles Bridge. Tesco for small bits and bobs was great, about 2 minutes walk away.

The included breakfasts where ok - typical foods eg Hams, Cheese, Cereal, Apples and pastries. Fruit teas or coffee.

The Bar was a small place holding about 30 ish people but nice to relax in with the music channel on the tv screen. Good place to enjoy a Budvar beer :)We ate in the large wooden dining halls too 1 night....very atmospheric indeed. We also witnessed an "umpa" band on our last night but as we were not eating couldn't sit and listen to it in the main halls.

We visited the brewary and got a free sample of the own brewed beer...nice !!

Historical room was very large with a large bed ( a little hard and the bedding quite thin-if you go in cold season) but adequate. The ensuite bathroom was up a wooden staircase and was fine...shower quite good too :)Although, word of warning the towels are hard and thin too...but you get use to it ;)

All in-all this hotel was very good but a word of warning - if you struggle with stairs / steps this hotel is not for you. There is no lift and even to the top floor was quite a struggle for young fit people.....apart from this.........a great hotel.

We reccomend the taxi arrangment with the hotel at 600 Cz for 1 way and very prompt...good stuff !!!

There are so many local bars / restaurants / cafes around this hotel you dont need to travel far to sample new food and drink daily.

Free internet pc in the hallway if you want to surf the net, along with a vending drinks machine for water and beer too :)

I loved this holiday and will retun - back to this great hotel too :)

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RFWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#99 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cloister Inn Hotel
Cloister Inn Hotel
#98 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#189 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Betlem Club
Betlem Club
#269 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Prague Hotel
Old Prague Hotel
#264 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#72 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewery Hotel U Medvidku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewery Hotel U Medvidku

Property: Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Address: Na Perstyne 7 | Old Town, Prague 100 01, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#189 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewery Hotel U Medvidku 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is the only hotel with a brewery in Prague. A former medieval brewery was converted into a three-star hotel with 43 unique rooms. The Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is situated in a 15th century house, and original historical components, such as Gothic trusses and painted timber ceilings, have been preserved in some rooms. The hotel includes a traditional Prague pub with typical Czech cuisine, a beer bar with a wide selection of Czech beer, shop offering beer and brewery souvenirs and a congress hall. The mini-brewery is biggest attraction for our guests. It makes the STRONGEST BEER in the world, XBEER-33, using historical technology. Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is located directly in the city centre of Prague, close to the Old Town Square and National Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Brewery Hotel U Medvidku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel u Medvidku
u Medvidku Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing