We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Julian(Prague)
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$124
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$197
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$675
$483
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$195
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$257
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Unitas Hotel(Prague)
$182
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$269
$232
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveler rating
191
205
65
8
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
205
65
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeer hallattached restaurantgreat locationstrongest beerfreshly made pancakesold town squaregreat beercharles bridgeon arrivalcomplimentary beeryogurttraditional hotelcentrally located hotelfirst floorcomfortable bedgoulashfirst morning
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 479 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2005

We spent 3 nights in Pension U Medvidku (from 11 till 14 August 2005) and here are our comments:
> Location: could not be better! Easy walking distance from all main attractions (Charles Bridge, Wenceslas and Old Town squares, Castle). Prague is such a great city to enjoy by foot.
> Staff/reception: the first day, not quiet helpful nor well-informed; the rest of the stay, there were much more friendly people in charge of the reception.
> Room #3: nice, large, clean & authentic room. But… the beds were really hard, the bathroom was rather dark (a tiny spot to light a too big bathroom) and the windows didn’t close properly (bad soundproofing – we could hear the people in the restaurant downstairs – and bad insulation – in the summer, it’s not a problem but beware staying in this room during the winter!)
> Breakfast: rather small but this a 3 star pension. There were a plate of meats & cheese, bread, sausages, eggs, cereal, yogurt, coffee, tea, chemical juice, croissants, chocolate-filled pastries and Czech specialties. The second and third day, no croissants and chocolate-filled pastries at all. We asked the waiter and he told us that there was nothing left. We had breakfast at 8 and they were yet short of these! The waiter kept coming in the dining room but just to have a look, no to bring more food.

General feeling: as city trip lovers, our main concern is the location. For the rest, Prague has so many wonders to offer that we easily forget the “weaknesses” of Pension U Medvidku…

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PHV009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2005

I visited Prague solo in June and loved U Med! It was a nice comfortable hotel- the room I had was a single under the rafters and the exposed beams and space was welcoming. The attached restaurant served me wonderful food and always had a table for hotel guests- even if you were by yourself and they were packed. Walking distance to everything. Tesco supermarket right on the corner and a tram stop if you want to ride. Loved the "Bears" and will stay again if I am back in Prague!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sk260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2005

I stayed at the hotel may 2004 and writing this a year later.
Singleroom 2.200 CZK per night, stayed 3 nights.
Room okay, TV with CNN and Eurosport.
Bed a bit squeaky, very thin walls, narrow shower, but fantastic location close to everything.
The room and bathroom was clean.
Breakfast just OK.
There is a restaurant and a bar in connection with the pension.
I did get one diner at the restaurant, nice and affordable.
And the bar got Budvar beer and it's cheap, I can recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PerH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2005

MY third visit to Prague finally saw me managing to book a room in my first choice of guest house.
U Medvidku is located next door to the famous beer hall of the same name, also wel worth a visit for the beer, the food and the atmosphere (O.K. it's a BIT touristy, but far less so than other inferior places in Prague.)
The pension is located in a great spot, only a couple of minutes walk from Old Town Square in one direction, and the Charles Bridge & River Vltava in the other.
I was happy to be able to book a spacy single room with en suite facilities (Strangely there was no shower curtain, nor a rail for it). There was not much of a view from my room, and it was at the top of four flights of stairs, which some people may not like. However, it was kept clean, warm (in December) and had a comfortable bed.
The room prices were excellent value, especially considering the central location
There is a breakfast room on the first floor, where a good variety of foods is served - from (several types of) sausages and bacon, to cereals, and fresh fruit. Not a common occurence in smaller Czech hotels in my experience.
There is also a computer with free internet access in the lobby.
The staff were all very helpful, and spoke good English - the night staff were particularly tolerant of people arriving back from a music club at 2 am!
This will certainly be my first choice of Prague hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank teffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Harcourt, Victoria, Australia
16
Reviewed November 1, 2004

we spent 2 nights in Prague in July this year - first night at a less than desirable place, but found U Medvidku for second night. Close to Wenceslaus Square and even closer to the magnificent Charles Bridge. If I am ever lucky enough to get back to beautiful Prague, I know where I will be staying. MM , Australia.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews