We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back again and again”
Review of Hostel Elf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Elf
Ranked #23 of 650 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Would go back again and again”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Hostel Elf was a great place to stay for the four nights I spent in Prague. The people were welcoming, helpful and really wanted to make every customer's stay and good as could be. The rooms are simple, clean and there are multiple bathrooms and showers so the wait is typically minimal. There was a FREE BBQ two of the nights I was there and Happy Hour for one night where beer was about 34 cents (Canadian or American $)!! There is free breakfast every morning which is simple but handy and there is tea, coffee and water available all day long.

I thought about doing a pub crawl while visiting the city but there was no need because the Hostel offers to take you out for free one night a week!! Nour took at out and even though it was only a tuesday night, showed us a great time!

Everyone who was staying at the hostel was really friendly and I left having met a group of really great people from all over the world! If you like the meet new people, be only 15 minutes away from the old town centre, and have access to helpful staff in a clean place.... Hostel Elf is perfect for you!!

Room Tip: Everyone was friendly so don't hesitate to stay in dorms! If you want more privacy, there are do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    109
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
3
41
64
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013

feel like you are home the best place a ever seen, free breakfast, free BBQ, very helpful staff, very clean. I meet so many people from all of the world. The terras is also a good place to chill and listening some good music after a happy hour in the hostel with 50% off for all the beers wich is awsome. i will never forget this place.
thank you Hostel Elf for the good time and for the good Job :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nounouangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aabenraa, Denmark
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Do it! Hostel Elf is extremely nice. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Doublerooms are not impressive, but beds are fine. I think Hostel Elf is the perfect spot, if you want to socialise with other travellers and make party! Oh, and the breakfast is really good! Oh and they make like free BBq´s and stuff like that. Every day, a new freebie.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrederikBertelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The bedroom was cozy and clean, the breakfast simple but tasty and enough, and although people respected the night and were all very quiet during that time, you could see a lot of activity in the morning and during the day. We didn't have the chance to try the BBQ, but I will return here for sure if I ever find myself in Prague again! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SofiaAlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Hostel Elf describes itself as involving and fun. I wouldn't use either word to describe it - the staff are nice enough (some of them) but they seem mostly concerned with larking around with their local friends rather than providing a good service.

For some inexplicable reason, the kitchen is in the hallway of the rooms, which means you hear everything and to make it even worse EVERY door slams, so don't expect an easy sleep. Moreover, what Elf means when they say 'fun' is if you want to make the effort to try and fit in with their established group, you will be up to all hours disturbing everyone else in the hostel - when I was there, two drunk guys were running up and down the corridor at 3.30am shouting and banging on walls. What's the worst part? The desk is supposedly open all hours, so there was a staff member aware of this and doing nothing about it.

Just in case you'd gotten too much sleep despite the drunken idiots running up and down the corridor, the staff make sure they get up early and do everything loudly - just to give you that 'so tired you can't think straight' feel.

Essentially, this hostel reminds me of a teenage youth club. Everyone is dressing to impress each other and probably too concerned with seeming lame when someone is causing a problem to sort it out.

If you think it's ok that they let their service slip because they such cool guys, then go here. If you plan to get wasted every night and are in a large group, go here. If you want a decent experience that tides you over so you can go and explore Prague refreshed the next day, don't.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petethinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Initially, it was quite difficult to find. We called the hostel and the person who answered the phone was very rude. In fact, she was so rude that I was willing just to hang up the phone and wander with my map until I found the Hostel to prevent further conversation with her. I found the hostel 30 minutes later after. The woman had bleach blond hair and I remember her voice when I called for directions. She was very rude when I came there. She did not do anything personal to me but her actions and her tone of voice were very snobby, spiteful, and unpleasant. The time was 8:30 in the morning and I was famished and most hostels that serve breakfast would allow the travels to enjoy the breakfast even thought it was not time to check in yet. Needless to say I left hungry and this woman at the front desk did not even inquire if I would like something to eat. The people in the hostel were amazing but there was a lack of showers for the men. The breakfast every morning was quite nice and overall besides that lady with the blond hair at the front desk, it was nice. I do not think I would return again just because of this customer service.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Admittedly, the hostel was slightly hard to find, but once you realize what the symbol looks like on the lamps posts, it is fairly easy. We walked, but I imagine it would have been super easy to find had we taken the bus from Florenc Station. The staff were super friendly, giving us free maps, answering tons of questions, and even pointing out good restaurants to eat at. They had plenty of information on FREE tours and their English was perfect. The bathrooms and rooms were spotless. The hostel has eclectic decor and it becomes entertaining once you get used to it. Breakfast was good, toast with various spreads, decent coffee, etc. The lounge and terrace outside were really nice. Cheap beer and drinks as well. I stayed with three other people we did not have any issues with noise. Internet was good as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavalamb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hostel Advantage
Hostel Advantage
#17 of 650 in Prague
359 reviews
Praha 7
Sir Toby's Hostel
Sir Toby's Hostel
#8 of 650 in Prague
498 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#4 of 650 in Prague
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Hole
Art Hole
#21 of 650 in Prague
178 reviews
Praha 3
Brix Hostel
Brix Hostel
#25 of 650 in Prague
67 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel One Prague
Hostel One Prague
#7 of 650 in Prague
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Elf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Elf

Property: Hostel Elf
Address: Husitska 888/11, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 650 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Elf 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel ELF - Your home in Prague !! FREE buffet breakfast!!! FREE coffee and tea 24hrs!!! Proud to be one of the backpackers hostel that opened in Prague in 2000 we can say that hostel ELF is the perfect place to stay. Our cool original independent backpacker's hostel offers cheap accommodation in Prague and is the ideal hostel for the independent traveler and student groups. We are not just bed and breakfast - the hostel has two floors, two common rooms, two kitchens and great outdoor patio, BBQ area, terrace... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Elf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Elf Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing