We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Hostel Elf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Elf
Ranked #31 of 691 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Lots of amenities, big comfortable rooms, great social space and cheap beers. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunprecedented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 328 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

Fantastic atmosphere, plenty of clean toilets and private showers , never had to wait, own kitchen and computers, cheap beer, foosball table outdoor seating area, can't recommend highly enough. Zizkov is not at all touristy so the bars around are very cheap and friendly. You can get the bus right outside the hostel to old town square or you can walk in about 40 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juggernaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

To be honest I don't think the hostel could have rated any higher for me as I visited it out of season. I was there in February and it wasn't very busy, which since I was travelling on my own was a bit of blow as I was hoping to meet plenty of people to chill with.

The hostel was nice and clean and I heard the breakfast was nice too ( I never awoke early enough!) I stayed in a 6 person room which had decent sized lockers in the room. There was some nice touches like the fridge full of cheap beer and the free tea and coffee on offer 24/7.

Location was a 30 minute walk or short bus ride from the city centre which was fine by me.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloughy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed overnight in this hostel in March 2012.
Location - Excellent - just a bus ride away from the main tourist spots in Prague. The same bus takes you to almost all the major tourist spots !!!
Staff - Very helpful and very cheerful !!! Ready to help you with everything.
Toilets - Shared.
Food - Breakfast is included in your rent. They have a small kitchen on the ground floor, where you can cook for yourself anytime of the day.
Beer - The fridge full of beer is located right next to the reception... just help yourself.
Tip for Indian travelers - An Indian restaurant is just 2 mins walking from the hotel entrance.

The best thing is that you get to meet lots of fellow travelers from all around the world. Hostel Elf has a small sitting area in front of the reception where the guests can hang out in the evening.

From the back side of the hostel, there is a small walkway which directly leads upto the main train station. Worth a walk !!!!

Really enjoyed my short stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanpaggarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

great location with outdoor patio area. good atmosphere for meeting people. internet connection annoying on public computers. staff nice. great value. some of the pillows were awful and the beds were decent. rules regarding smoking inside in common areas and quiet hours not enforced. but no one seemed to complain. the staff was very nice and helpful. breakfast was pretty good. (bad coffee but that seems to be everywhere in czech). easy access to train and bus stations. bus stop and tram stop nearby. good location for night life.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceros R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

staying in hostel elf was like hanging out with your friends. it's a kinda small place but really fun.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

hostel elf is a great place to stay, location is awesome, the facilities are very clean and the insides of the hostel are amazing to look at. the place has a great vibe the staff friendly. i loved my stay here and would definitely suggest it to anyone travelling through this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hostel Advantage
Hostel Advantage
#16 of 691 in Prague
389 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel One Prague
Hostel One Prague
#3 of 691 in Prague
432 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#41 of 691 in Prague
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Post Hostel Prague
Post Hostel Prague
#8 of 691 in Prague
185 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Hole
Art Hole
#27 of 691 in Prague
198 reviews
Praha 3
Brix Hostel
Brix Hostel
#38 of 691 in Prague
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Elf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Elf

Address: Husitska 888/11, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 691 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range: $21 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Elf 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel ELF - Your home in Prague !! FREE buffet breakfast!!! FREE coffee and tea 24hrs!!! Proud to be one of the backpackers hostel that opened in Prague in 2000 we can say that hostel ELF is the perfect place to stay. Our cool original independent backpacker's hostel offers cheap accommodation in Prague and is the ideal hostel for the independent traveler and student groups. We are not just bed and breakfast - the hostel has two floors, two common rooms, two kitchens and great outdoor patio, BBQ area, terrace... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Elf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Elf Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing