We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”
Review of Clown and Bard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clown and Bard
Ranked #84 of 646 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Magdeburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

After all the positive reviews, I expected a bit more from this hostel. When we arrived the wifi was down, and it remained down for the entire 3 days we were there. The rooms were clean enough with lockers in them. You could hear everything though. People were running around at 5 am screaming and the hallways smelled of weed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLK91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    55
    37
    19
    25
See reviews for
4
28
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This was hands down one of the best hostel experiences I have ever had. The exuberant staff ensured that I had a great time in Prague, making it feel like home before I had even checked in yet. The hostel has a great bar, providing an ideal area to meet fellow travellers and some locals too. Its in a central location, I easily walked everywhere I wanted to go from there.
It is a difficult place to leave, and I will be back again as soon as possible!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyChaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a great hostel for meeting people, whether you're alone, in a couple or in a group. The overall relaxed and friendly atmosphere is what makes this place so great. The facilities are fine, it's clean, and the staff are really helpful and nice. It's a bit of a trek to the centre/public transport, but that just means seeing another side of Prague and getting a bit of exercise after a few too many Trdelníks.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandratw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Would be definitely the kind of hostel i'd like to go if travelling alone or with friends (not kind of a couple place:P). The bar at the reception is always full of people staying there and it's easy to make friends if you want to find some company - or if you wanna stay inside and drink one day! Their terrace/garden thing is also very beautiful, although the weather was cold when i visited the place so we couldn't hang out. Our room however was not very clean and it was also behind the kitchen- so we never saw the sun. Other rooms upstairs or with windows at the terrace should be much more better- make sure you ask for one of those. Shared kitchen/fridge/toilets/shower were ok, but nothing more. Cheap simple breakfast till 13.00 (good if you'd spent the previous night at their bar;p). Close to the city centre, but not within walking distance (maybe in the summer when it's not cold!). Met some cool guys and would go again if i was alone, but i would choose something else if i didnt need to meet new people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs and with windows looking at the garden! (not all of them have a good wifi s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ermina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The staff were extremely helpful and nice. However the cheap price is an indication of the quality and cleanliness of the accommodation. Definitely one of the poorest places I've stayed at, but for the price I can't complain.
Transportation is not particularly convenient here, although if you don't mind walking a bit, it is possible to reach the main station, tram stop and metro station from here.
What makes this place very good is the helpfulness of the staff which overall meant that it was still a rather pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have good wifi reception so make sure to check with them if there are other rooms avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olizhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hostel is quite far from the center, and everything is average. The water was often cold, the hostel is empty. But the rooms aren't too bad, about what you expect from a hostel in terms of arrangements. Staff were nice and helpful with anything you may need.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank amckey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hostel was OK, there was a cool bar there which was the best part about it and the neighbourhood it was in had a whole lot more cool bars (with very cheap beer!!!) scattered around everywhere. This was definitely not a touristy area so I would likely not have come here if I had stayed somewhere else in the city, so it was a good way to see some of the 'real' Prague. The breakfast I thought was sufficient and the staff were friendly as well. Being a bit out from the centre did have it's drawbacks however, I could incredibly lost for literally hours trying to find my way back one night (I admit I was at least a little bit inebriated so that surely didn't help !!!) and another night I got a taxi back with some other guests staying at the hostel and the cab driver ripped us off cause we didn't have the right change.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Brix Hostel
Brix Hostel
#28 of 646 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel Elf
Hostel Elf
#25 of 646 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Orange
Hostel Orange
#64 of 646 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Ananas
Hostel Ananas
#24 of 646 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel One Prague
Hostel One Prague
#7 of 646 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Praha 7
Sir Toby's Hostel
Sir Toby's Hostel
#9 of 646 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clown and Bard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clown and Bard

Property: Clown and Bard
Address: Borivojova 102/758 | Zizkov, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 646 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel has been on the map since 1995 and still just as young in spirit and focused on our guests’ satisfaction as the day we started. With an international staff motivated by building new friendships and promoting a lively atmosphere, it is easy to consider this place a home away from home.We are located in Žižkov, which is just three tram stops from Václavské Námestí (the heart of Prague’s center). Žižkov is known for being the most socially diverse area of the city, making a short visit quite comfortable and in some cases worth extending. For those travelers on a budget yet still wanting to experience the culture of the local people, this spot is a gem. Žižkov has the highest number of bars in the city and there are a variety of beer gardens, cafes and restaurants with both local and other ethnic cuisines to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Clown and Bard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clown And Bard Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing