We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel....just like Prague”
Review of Questenberk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Questenberk
Ranked #11 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel....just like Prague”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was a short winter break for my wife and I with another couple of close friends.
This hotel must have been part of the old monastry which is just behind it. It was surprisingly cozy and warm considering the high stone ceilings. As with all the buildings in Old Prague, the architecture is magnificent, and the interior has been very tastefully decorated.
Staff couldn't have been more helpful, with taxis, recommendations for sightseeing and restaurants.
Breakfast was continental style and plenty of it. All fresh hams, cheeses, breads etc.and as much tea or coffee as you want for a long day sightseeing Prague.
The hotel was close to the castle and other places of interest, though at the top of a steep hill and across the river from the main centre of town. This had the advantage of being amazingly quiet and peaceful at night, but a bit of a hike to get home to after a hard day on the cobbled streets of Prague.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 777Bogeyman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    128
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
161
600
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We've just returned from a 4 night break at this hotel, and had a wonderful time. Prague has so many interesting places to visit in a relatively small area, and the hotel provided a very comfortable and convenient base. The staff were extremely helpful, from the moment we arrived, and even helped us plan a trip to the Karlstejn Castle, outside Prague, with all the transport times and connections (- incidentally, this was a highly enjoyable trip and very easy to access with only a 40 minute train journey from the main station). Our room was warm and comfortable and the food at breakfast was excellent. Unfortunately, we didn't get a chance to try the evening meals, as the restaurant was only open at weekends while we were there. The location of the hotel was ideal, with its proximity to the castle and also the Petrin Park. We used the tram on a couple of occasions, particularly coming back in the evening, but this was frequent and only a few minutes walk from the hotel. Altogether, it was a great holiday, and we hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room with a view of the monastery - these rooms are more spacious and come with ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppycatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This hotel has a really nice location close to the beautiful st Vitus cathedral, walking distance to Charles bridge and old town, and is beautifully surrounded! almost every house is a piece of art, including the hotel building. The rooms are cozy and warm, the breakfast is delicious, and the staff are so helpful and nice. It was a pleasure to return to this hotel after a busy day in Prague.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

If you are wanting a romantic weekend away this is the hotel stay!! The location was great as it was about 15 minutes walk from the busy old town and being on the hill by Prague Castle the views were stunning! The hotel itself was beautiful and charming and sitting in the restaurant looking over Prague was perfect. Not only is the hotel beautiful but the staff were so friendly and welcoming. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt cared for and content. On arrival we were welcomed by the receptionist Miriam who immediately knew who we were and welcomed us in, sat us down, got us water and explained about the hotel as well as showing us a map of Prague, giving us lots of advice and tips. Our bags were taken up to our rooms for us whist we were shown around and offered complimentary drinks whenever we were ready. We had dinner at the hotel on our first evening which was gorgeous as we had the restaurant to ourselves, a lovely waitress and great Czech food whilst looking out over Prague. Breakfast every morning was lovely and the staff were so attentive. We also spent some time in their customer lounge after exploring Prague where they set out tea, coffee and cakes. The rooms were quaint and very comfortable! I would advise this hotel to anyone. Perfect stay, couldn't fault it! We left feeling happy & relaxed. Nothing was a problem for them!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had a great Monday to Friday short stay in Prague with friends and had a wonderful time. The hotel was just what we hoped from the photos we had seen on line. Immaculately clean, very attentive staff (who were happy to arrange transport for us to the theatre) and excellent views to enjoy over breakfast (which by the way had everything you could wish for). We also ate a traditional Czech evening meal on our first evening which was delicious (so are the afternoon cakes at 4pm!)
Situated high above the city with beautiful views it was perfect for us as we like walking but if your unfit it would have to be a tram for you (that's ok its handy to catch just across the road).
Jo's was our favourite Cocktail bar and the brewery has wicked beer just round the corner 5 min away. Unique and definitely recommended

Room Tip: Didn't have a kettle in our room which we missed for a cuppa when we woke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn-n-Leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitburg, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I picked this hotel based on their great rates and their tripadvisor ratings - and they still managed to exceed our expectations!

Before I start my novel-length review - let me say this, (if you choose not to read beyond this point): I made a point to notice all the hotels in the center of Prague while we toured, for comparative purposes - and I can't imagine that any of those hotels could have exceeded Questenberk. With their rates, service and location - you can't ask for anything better - I hope to return soon and we will absolutely stay here again. They make you feel like you're in an all-inclusive resort!

Before arrival - they respond promptly and offer plenty of information via email. I've never seen a hotel respond with so quickly, and personally before.

We arrived around 6pm Friday afternoon. The receptionist was beyond friendly and informative (Miriam). She gave us information for the guarded parking around the corner - and then allowed us to bring in our luggage (after offering to have someone bring it in for us), park the car, and then check into our room. (If you drive to Prague - I highly recommend using their parking service. It was guarded and the rate is prorated at 20EU a night. We parked our car for 3 nights, and was pleasantly surprised with the final bill that came out to 52 EU. Well worth it.)
She gave us a very detailed overview of the city (where to go, how to get there, etc.) Their service is truly exceptional - I've never seen this kind of service honestly (and I've done a lot of traveling). They make you feel like you're in an all-inclusive resort!

She walked us to our room, and on the way showed us the different features of the hotel. Our room had preparations for our pets - which we originally planned on bringing with us - which was very sweet. We also had a cheese platter and bottle of wine - complimentary as an arrival gift! We had 2 double beds pushed together to make an XXL King size bed - which was pretty cool. We could share a double bed, or sleep in the separate beds next to each other. The pillows were our favorite feature - we might go out and purchase some pillows like that, they were so comfortable. My husband was particularly fond of the 'sleep spray' provided in the bathroom that you can spray on your pillows. The rooms were well heated, and if you were too warm - you could crack a window to cool it down. Bathroom was small, but had a heater that kept you warm; the bathroom (well, everything) was extremely clean - which is a nice change from some other European hotels; and the water pressure was perfect. They provided bathrobes, slippers and umbrellas if necessary as well. There's also a safe in the wardrobe - that you keep the key to if you choose. WIFI is strong, free and easy to use all throughout the hotel.
On the first floor there is a lounge room - where you can get on the computer, or make yourself some complimentary coffee and just hang out on the furniture. (On Saturday, after a long morning touring the city in the below-freezing temperatures - we came back and sat in the lounge with coffee, and our ipads. We sat there, regrouped in the warmth, comfort, quiet and relaxing room; until we were ready to venture back out in the cold to see Prague at night.)

The dining room is on the second floor, where the doors stay shut at all times, so any sound in there does not travel to the rooms. Our room was at the opposite side of the second floor; opposite of the dining room (this hotel is soooo quiet - we hardly ever heard anything going on beyond the confines of our bedroom - which is also quite nice!). So in the morning, it was a short jaunt to breakfast. The dining room is gorgeous. There is one particularly exceptional table by the windows where you can see the entire city of Prague - we snagged that table each time we could! At breakfast, you are greeted and we always promptly received a kettle of coffee (that was delicious). The breakfast spread was thoughtful, and the options changed slightly every other day. I think you can order off the menu for a small fee of 4EU as well. We aren't breakfast people though, so we didn't order anything (for breakfast that is).
We ate dinner there Sunday night (too cold to go back out in the city). Their menu is small - but understandably so, since a lot of guests probably eat in the city - but the chef takes special care in the meals he prepares. We had the salmon tartar as a starter - and it was PHENOMONAL. The chef came out and personally asked us how we enjoyed our meal. We had drinks, appetizer, steak and seafood entrees, and dessert - and the price was around 40EU - exceptional prices for an excellent dinner!

The walk to the center of Prague is easy and you get to see sights along the way. You can choose to walk one way and see the castle, or you can choose the other way and walk by shops and restaurants. The walk BACK is a bit rough if you choose to walk back at the end of the day. You have options: you can use the tram (which the staff will explain in detail how to use) or you can use a taxi (plenty at the bottom of the hill). We chose to walk each night - which was rough - but after our hefty meals, we needed the exercise. Plus, the walk is quiet, you get to see some shops that are less crowded, you have a magnificent view of the city, and there are plenty of places to stop along the way. It felt safe as well. But it is a hard walk - don't be fooled. A shuttle service would probably be popular with the guests - but I am not sure how practical that would be for the hotel to offer.
The hotel is unique, and exceptional in their services. I wish there was a Questenberk everywhere in Europe, so I could choose them with each trip we take!
Thank you Questenberk, for your exceptional hospitality.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe double room - but if we are lucky enough to come again - we may upgrade so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Candice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Breaking away from the group after finishing the business part of the trip, I hid us away at the Questenberk. The property appears to be converted from something left from years gone by, and benefits from the charm of its history. We had a room a few floors up which from the inside resembled something of a lodge. The small windows looked out upon the old city, a great view in fact. The room was spacious with an equally spacious bathroom. The only drawback was the shower which reminded me of plastic showers sometimes found in more temporary setups. However, this could not detract from the quality of the place. Breakfast is served in the dining area and is a typical European breakfast buffet. A la carte is also available. There is an outdoor restaurant of sorts, but we could not figure out when to actually eat there. The location is perfect, just put on some good shoes and take the downhill stroll on the cobble street. The castle is but a glance away, perhaps save a few hours for that. Continue heading down to get to the main meandering streets of the city and eventually across the river. Don't forget to stop for the Czech sausages before heading across the bridge - we can't find anything like them anywhere else!
Questenberk offered a pleasant stay in the old Romantic City of Prag.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GogoTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,670 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,572 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 649 in Prague
748 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,056 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Questenberk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Questenberk

Property: Questenberk
Address: Uvoz 155/15 | Prague Castle Area, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#13 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#13 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Questenberk 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location of Questenberk hotel is special for its breathtaking view on the entire city of Prague. Within moments you are able to reach Prague Castle (approximately 5 minutes) and other most visited Prague's sites such as Charles Bridge, Lesser Town and Old Town square. Its unique placement gives you infinite options how to plan your journey in Prague. Only steps from our hotel you can enjoy the calm of Petrin park which is the biggest park in Prague and it is a pleasant place where to spend end of your day with an evening walk from the town. The building was built in 17th century and it served as a formal private palace to Sir Caspar Von Questenberg who was a German priest, Abbot of Strahov Premonstratensian Monastery. Sometimes the building is misinterpreted as a church, because the architecture is very similar to the one found in Strahov Monastery which is located only 2 minutes of walking through our terrace restaurant. Our hotel is suitable for clients of all ages, families with children, couples, wedding occassions or business trips. Staying in hotel Questenberk will give you unforgetable memories and will definitely make your stay in Prague even more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Questenberk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Questenberk Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing