We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very reasonable splurge”
Review of Questenberk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Questenberk
Ranked #13 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A very reasonable splurge”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We prefer character to luxury, so the moment I found this I knew it was for us. And on a beer budget, this we consider a splurge and deservedly so. An old monastery amid a castle complex with spectacular views, superlative in every way.
Of all our stays in Europe, I was impressed most by the hospitality here. We arrived late at night after 9pm, and the welcoming staff was wonderful. I observed another guest arriving the following night even later, with the same hospitable welcome.
And the in room notes about check out (early morning breakfast package, luggage holding, shower & lounge use) seemed to have thought of everything, although we didn't take advantage of any of them.
Loved Questenberk, a rare find!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thai2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear thai2007,

thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Questenberk hotel Prague.

Thank you very much for your kind words about the service you received from the team. We pride ourselves on superior customer service and I am glad to see that all team members went above and beyond to make your stay more comfortable.

We all hope to welcome you back in the future. In the meantime, all the best!

Sincerely,

Robert Safarik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    130
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
165
617
35
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights during our travels through Europe. We have stayed at 4 hotels so far, and this is by far the best. INCREDIBLE views, free breakfast,free wifi, free coffee, modern rooms, and the hotel is a beautifully renovated historic building. And it's very affordable. We'd love to come back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Aaron G,

many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at the Questenberk hotel Prague. I was delighted that you enjoyed all the smaller details we take pride in offering our guests. As I always do I have passed on your lovely words to my team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

All the best to you and to your wife. We'd love to welcome you back

My kindest regards,

Robert Safarik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Perched at the top of an imposing hill offering views over most of Prague's historic wonders sits the Questenberk. After a day of walking the city, the final upward effort makes a return to this hotel so welcome - exceptional rooms and equally exceptional service. When we first arrived there, about 9pm, the check in was not only flawless, but so too was the hospitality on offer.

We knew the location was going to be something special when we popped out a little later to stretch our legs. It had rained earlier and the cobblestones, buildings and street lights below the hotel was reminiscent of scenes from an old INXS video for Never Tear Us Apart, filmed on a wet night in Prague in 1988. Getting up at the crack of dawn to view Charles Bridge was similarly breathtaling (without the hordes of tourists and beggars).

Our rooms at the Questenberk were impressive, although being on the ground floor they lacked the spectacular views of rooms higher up. However, this was more than compensated for by the breakfast room, an old chapple that looks out over the city. All in all, delightful accommodation in a delightful city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear David M,

I was absolutely delighted to read your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Questenberk hotel Prague. I have made sure to pass on your kind words to my team. I was so happy that you and your friends came to stay with us and enjoyed our services and facilities. I make sure to provide you a room on higher floor upon your return.

We all hope to welcome you back.

My best wishes,

Robert Safarik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you want to retire for a quiet night up a hill after whole day visits to the busy tourist spots below, Hotel Questenberk might be ideal. Its located at the Hradcany area just minutes away from Strahov monastery (where in one restaurants you should try the original czech beer first made by the monks), Loreta Church and Prague Castle are. Enjoy a spectacular view of Prague and breathe fresh air which is luxury nowadays. Walk down the hill at Nerudova street and you'll find many restaurants and specialty stores. You get so distracted by the places and things to see that before you know it, you've already reached Malonstranke where the St.Nicolas and Infant Jesus churches are, and to Mostecka street that leads to Charles Bridge. Transportation to the old town and back is not a problem as you can take Tram 22 just a couple of minutes from the Hotel or take a Hop on/Hof off bus which stops in front of the Hotel. And there's a grocery just across the Hotel open till 11pm.
Questenberk Hotel itself is a historical landmark. It's quaint and makes you feel at home. Rooms are large including bathrooms and they serve free breakfast buffet. Wifi is available in the room as well as in public areas.
But the best of the Hotel are the friendly and professional staff. They attend to you from the moment you arrive. They provide advice on tour options, always greet and ready for assistance when you need them, giving you a lasting impression of what Czech hospitality is about (which you don't encounter much when at the crowded tourist spots).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear R T,

Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us and for your support. It was our great pleasure to take care of you. I am glad that you enjoyed the location of the Questenberk hotel as well as the service my team provided. I have passed your kind words to all the team who appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Robert Safarik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Questenberk Hotel was a wonderful experience. The staff were particularly helpful and ensured that staying there was trouble free. On arrival we made enquiries about getting tickets for the trams, and the concierge went out and got them for us so that we could use them in the morning.
The rooms were large and very clean with bottled water supplied each day. Breakfast was good, especially the home made yogurt.
Located close to the castle with great views of the city below. An easy walk downhill or a short trip by tram. So convenient, yet away from any noisy areas at night.
When we return to Prague, it will definitely be a return to the Questenberk Hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms all seem to be good and spacious. Some grand Deluxe Suites have a good city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Julian F,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at the Questenberk hotel Prauge. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time with us. I am also pleased that you found the staff attentive and the rooms comfortable and that you enjoyed our home made yogurt.

It is so good to know that you found the hotel's location peaceful. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to Prague.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Robert Safarik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sesto Fiorentino, Toscana, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Location, view, rooms, cleanliness, breakfast, staff kindness, service, quiete, comfortable....this is the Questenberck hotel im Prague. It made our wonderful staying in Prague unforgettable.
We strongly recommend it!!!!
It will be our hotel in Prague when we are so lucky to visit again this wonderful city!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Susanna B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on the site for us following your recent visit and I am thrilled that you enjoyed our location by the Prague Castle, breathtaking views of the city, your room, cleanliness, breakfast and the most important - staff kindness. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We all very much appreciate your reccommendation.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of looking after you on a future visit to Prague and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of any further assistance.

with kind regards,

Robert Safarik
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Best location,the hotel is just 5 min walking to the Castle, the hotel it self is a beautiful old building, and the room is just the best. The staff is very helpful and friendly.
You have stores and restaurants very near.

Room Tip: If you are traveling alone, ask for a room with no conection (door) to other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshD9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear JoshD9,

Thank you for sharing your positive review following your recent visit.

It is always delightful to receive such kind feedback as yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is rewarding to hear that these efforts are noticed. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments are passed on to the team and that their service is duly noted.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Questenberk hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Robert Safarik
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,676 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,709 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#10 of 649 in Prague
706 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 649 in Prague
1,609 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 649 in Prague
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Questenberk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Questenberk

Property: Questenberk
Address: Uvoz 155/15 | Prague Castle Area, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#13 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#13 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Questenberk 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location of Questenberk hotel is special for its breathtaking view on the entire city of Prague. Within moments you are able to reach Prague Castle (approximately 5 minutes) and other most visited Prague's sites such as Charles Bridge, Lesser Town and Old Town square. Its unique placement gives you infinite options how to plan your journey in Prague. Only steps from our hotel you can enjoy the calm of Petrin park which is the biggest park in Prague and it is a pleasant place where to spend end of your day with an evening walk from the town. The building was built in 17th century and it served as a formal private palace to Sir Caspar Von Questenberg who was a German priest, Abbot of Strahov Premonstratensian Monastery. Sometimes the building is misinterpreted as a church, because the architecture is very similar to the one found in Strahov Monastery which is located only 2 minutes of walking through our terrace restaurant. Our hotel is suitable for clients of all ages, families with children, couples, wedding occassions or business trips. Staying in hotel Questenberk will give you unforgetable memories and will definitely make your stay in Prague even more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Questenberk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Questenberk Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing