We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views to die for.”
Review of Questenberk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Questenberk
Ranked #13 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Questenberk Hotel is in a wonderful position above Prague, with views that are amazing. The walk down to the city is steep but well worth it as you pass some wonderful restaurants, going back up we always caught the tram. The rooms were very clean and the staff were quite helpful. Breakfast was good and set you up for a days sight seeing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear visitor of our hotel,

it is always a great pleasure to read such a nice commentary on hotel Questenberk, because what is better than satisfied customers? We all hope that your stay with us was filled with only wonderful moments and you have seen everything that you wanted. In case not, our doors are always open for you. We have recently opened our new lounge which is located by the business center on the ground floor as we try to the maximum for our client's comfort. Next time you can try it yourself and enjoy Prague together with its all main attractions and views from our hotel. We cannot wait to welcome you here again!

With warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
There are newer reviews for Questenberk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Questenberk is a splendid option to the old town crowds and right on the doorstep of the castle. There are some splendid restaurants closeby and yet its an easy and interesting downhill walk to the Charles Bridge and hustle and bustle of the old town. The tram takes you back if you want. You can open the windows at night and still sleep peacefully. They really do provide top service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear guest of the Questenberk hotel,

we are very thankful for your friendly and helpful commentary that you have left here and also in our hotel when you were departing. We are all very glad that you have enjoyed your stay in the area of Golden Prague which consists of Golden Lane, Loreta, Prague Castle. I believe that your stay was filled with only wonderful moments and that you have enjoyed everything as you wanted to. Our location gives you infinite options of how to spend your day either in the rush of the city or in the calm of our hotel which belongs to the Strahov Monastery which is only few metres by foot from the Reception. We are looking forward to welcome you back in Questenberk hotel either alone or together with your friends. I hope your trip back to Canada was pleasant and that you are having a nice time.

With warm regards,

Robert Safarik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Sitting over the city with a not payable view. Very helpfull, professional and friendly staff. All points of view are in walking distance. The Prague castle is only 5 minutes away. Down town is also reachable in 10 minutes downhill.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear guest of the Questenberk hotel,

we appreciate your commentary that you have written to our hotel. We are very happy that your stay was fulfilled with wonderful memories and that we will be able to welcome you in our hotel soon again. We are glad that you have enjoyed view from our hotel which is beautiful especially from our breakfast room or terrace restaurant. As all the main sites to see are in walkable distance you can enjoy the historical centre fully, but you don´t have to worry about crowds and rush around the hotel.

All the best.
Robert S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My very first impression as we pulled up outside, was that we had made a mistake choosing this hotel for 4 nights. On the last morning, I didn't want to leave!! Since I have come home from our 16 day trip, it remains in my memory as our favourite spot. It is old building but that is what gives it the charm. The staff couldn't be more gracious. We booked a Deluxe room. Our large room on the 3rd floor with a view to the monastery was spotlessly cleaned every day. The breakfast was good. The view of the city from the breakfast room was breathtaking. The hotel is in the area called Hradcany very close to the castle. It is about a 30 minute walk to the other side of the river but the peace and quiet you experience in the area at night makes it worth the walk. We arranged for a private guide Sofie Milanova to spend 2 days with us. Good choice. We found her through Viator private guides.
We enjoyed dinner at 4 restaurants while we were there. Our very favorite was at Waldstejnska Hospoda. We also enjoyed dinner on the terrace at the Monastery above the hotel (a little pricey but great view). The other two choices were Restaurace U Labuti (reasonable prices near the castle) and U Tri Houslicek (3 Violins) which was a bit pricey but great atmosphere in the evening when most of the tourists have left. See tripadvisor reviews on all. The only negative I have to mention was the monastery bells. I began to anticipate them and even missed them when I left but they do disturb your sleep every morning at 6 am when they ring for about 2 minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear guest of the Questenberk hotel,

we are glad that your first impression changed after several minutes coming to our hotel. I believe that those 4 nights that you spent with us gave you unforgetable experience from Prague. It is definitely best to take Deluxe room if you are staying for more than 2 nights, because they offer space and comfort which is very calming after spending whole day in the city. If you decide to explore the city by foot it takes only minutes to reach the main attractions, however if you prefer walking to the center to see everything what you should see then it might change into a nice whole day walk. I hope that you have enjoyed all the restaurants that you mentioned and that when you once come back you will have even more time for exploring Czech cuisine all over the town.

I wish you, your family and friends all the best in the year 2013 and only nice experience from travelling.

With friendly regards,

Robert Šafařík
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Great location, very nice and friendly staff which pays off for the slightly thin breakfast... We can 100% recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding breakfast choices we have prepared new buffet table for our guests with more choices. Our breakfast is a twist on modern continental, consisting of pork ham, cheese plate including cream cheese, fresh fruit salad, fresh vegetable, home made yogurt, choice of cereals, freshly baked bagels, toasted seeds, fresh coffee, juices, and a pot of tea, hot meals as eggs, bacon, sausages, jams, etc. We are going to also serve parma ham and freshly baked croissants. Our guests can enjoy the luxurious breakfast buffet in the consecrated chapel with skyline city views or we can serve à la carte breakfast in the private garden equipped with table and chairs. No need to get up and dressed. Alternatively, customers can then decide as, they wish, to have a picnic in the Petrin park, etc.

Sincerely,

RS
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Prague gets over 3,000,000 visitors a year, and I think that they'd all arrived while I was there! It is very beautiful but also very busy and so it was very nice at the end of a hard day's sightseeing to come back to the Questenbeerk for it's calm and serenity. The beautiful building, well equipped rooms, subdued lighting, excellent decorative order, helpfull staff and overall atmosphere made a very lasting impression. If, no when, I return to Prague, I will make a beeline for this superb hotel. The only reason it does not get the full five stars was that there was no restaurant/bar and after a day's travelling, I had hoped to eat and have a drink in the hotel. However there is a small supermarket and other shops nearby and a very good restaurant with a vietnamese twist, ten metres from the front door. I will add some photos when I can work out how to!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulancia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We went to Prague on our honeymoon, and chose this hotel - what a good choice! We were in the cheaper rooms up in the attic, but I think they probably had more character than the bigger rooms downstairs, with lovely old beams. Both the room and the bathroom were huge, both were cleaned every day to a high standard. Breakfast was plentiful and lots of choice, although the cooked breakfast didn't look very appealing! But the continental options were lovely. The hotel is right next to the monastery, we could hear the bells but weren't disturbed by them. The location of this hotel is in the castle district of Prague, and is much quieter than the more touristy Old Town down the hill. However, there is a tram 5 minutes from the hotel (for those who don't fancy walking up the hill!), and a couple of nice restaurants nearby (we recommend the monastery brewery). All the staff we met were helpful and friendly and spoke very good English. The only thing we didn't like about the hotel was that we didn't have a double bed, only two singles pushed together.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFrancis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 648 in Prague
2,742 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 648 in Prague
1,732 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#12 of 648 in Prague
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 648 in Prague
1,638 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 648 in Prague
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Questenberk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Questenberk

Address: Uvoz 155/15 | Prague Castle Area, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#13 Business Hotel in Prague
#13 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#17 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $85 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Questenberk 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location of Questenberk hotel is special for its breathtaking view on the entire city of Prague. Within moments you are able to reach Prague Castle (approximately 5 minutes) and other most visited Prague's sites such as Charles Bridge, Lesser Town and Old Town square. Its unique placement gives you infinite options how to plan your journey in Prague. Only steps from our hotel you can enjoy the calm of Petrin park which is the biggest park in Prague and it is a pleasant place where to spend end of your day with an evening walk from the town. The building was built in 17th century and it served as a formal private palace to Sir Caspar Von Questenberg who was a German priest, Abbot of Strahov Premonstratensian Monastery. Sometimes the building is misinterpreted as a church, because the architecture is very similar to the one found in Strahov Monastery which is located only 2 minutes of walking through our terrace restaurant. Our hotel is suitable for clients of all ages, families with children, couples, wedding occassions or business trips. Staying in hotel Questenberk will give you unforgetable memories and will definitely make your stay in Prague even more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Questenberk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Questenberk Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing