We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly Average for the Price”
Review of Carol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carol
Ranked #232 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

When I booked this hotel the Tripadvisor from what I recall was quite positive. The hotel is quite close to the metro and a large modern shopping centre with a supermarket and places to eat. The hotel itself is in an old building, the inside of which has been modernised. The room was nice and had an excellent shower unit. My main complaint was not being able to find air conditioning. It was a hot evening and I needed to leave the window open to get some cool air, but the street was very noisy. The staff were very polite and helpful. The breakfast was good and although the swimming pool was small it was pleasant. It takes about 15 minutes to the centre of Prague in the metro. Perhaps I would have enjoyed the hotel more if I had used the facilities such as the bar and restaurant to get some atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask if it is possible to have one with air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monfode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 262 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Flights to Prague with Aer Lingus was great and we landed on time. Being disabled we had ordered private transport with Resorthoppa to Hotel Carol but there was a mix up and we ended up in a minibus which was very uncomfortable for the likes of myself (very bad arthritis)On arrival a very efficient lady made sure we had our rooms in record time, she spoke many languages which we thought was very good.
Rooms were lovely and very welcoming. Bed comfy and shower in bathroom excellent.
Cannot comment on breakfast as we never went but we had many a meal in the Hotel and they were all fab.
Service in the bar and restaurant could not have been better and we had a great time.
Hotel is so close to a huge shopping centre and of course the O2 where we saw the amazing Andre Bocelli and Joe Cocker. Metro is 5 mins away and the trams are round the corner.
Should you have any walking disability like myself then you will have a great time here...lifts and walkways are there for you
Cannot wait to go back to this lovely Hotel and amazing staff.
Sauna and swimming pool also available free

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koolmodine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed in the Hotel Carol for business. Good choice. Rooms are clean and functional, trendy and minimalist. Free wifi. The bed was comfortable.
Service is good. Breakfast is large and very plentiful.
The hotel is very close to Metro and has a bar attached to it. No noise. Swimming pool and sauna are available.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinedaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed there for a single night in March 2013.
To be honest it is a mid priced hotel in a area of town not famed for luxury. However, it was on a very quiet street with almost no traffic noise or disturbance.
The hotel itself was clean and appeared to be recently renovated. The room was spotless and the bed nice and comfy (very firm).
However, the room was so hot and the temperature not controllable (not that I could figure out at 2.30am!) and the walls are pretty thin. Thankfully the worst disturbance I hear was a crying baby, which reminded me of home and was actually quite relaxing. None the less, my colleague was not quite so lucky with a rather amorous pair next door to him.
Breakfast was fine and there really was nothing to mark this hotel down on.

Just that there was nothing to make it stand out from the crowd.

We did manage to get completely ripped off by a taxi driver charging 900CZK to get from old town square to Hotel Carol. Should have been around 250CZK.

Would I stay again - probably.
Would I recommend it to others - probably not.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is about 500m from the nearest Underground train stop, and 4 stops from the city center. The wifi was free, but clunky.
But, this was one of my favourite hotels on my trip. It had a nice feel to it and the room was superb.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Herman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very pleasant hotel in a quiet neighbourhood. Nothing special but better than average. It is quite a way out from the city centre but the Metro is about 15 minutes walk away and the tram lines about two minutes away. Also there is a very nice pub/restaurant less than five minutes away.
Rooms are very nice, good size and all the usual amenities. Breakfast was fairly standard hotel buffet but good selection of hot and cold options. Breakfast was very busy though as they seemed to have a coach trip staying.

They do have garage parking but it is a VERY tight fit.

I would quite happily stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was really satisfied by this hotels high standard, nice & clean room, new furniture, big bathroom and a rich & fresh breakest menu!
Easily approachable from the city center by public traffic (250 meter from metro), for very reasonable price, excellent choice!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z0ltan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 9
Clarion Congress Hotel Prague
Praha 9
Wellness Hotel Step
Wellness Hotel Step
#257 of 648 in Prague
848 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
EA Hotel Julis
EA Hotel Julis
#243 of 648 in Prague
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 9
Arlington
Arlington
#529 of 648 in Prague
43 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel White House
Hotel White House
#512 of 648 in Prague
26 reviews
Praha 9
Relax Inn
Relax Inn
#568 of 648 in Prague
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carol

Address: Kurta Konrada 547/12, Prague 190 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 9
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in Prague
#160 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $66 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carol Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing