We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good reference point”
Review of Carol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carol
Ranked #230 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
306 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“good reference point”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Even though not exactly closed to old Prague downtown, Hotel Carol is a good place to stay when visiting Prague. In fact, at five minutes walking, you can reach the metro station and in 5-6 stops get out close to Staromestske namest, Old Plce. On the other hand the Hotel is recently renovated, rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast is abundant, you have wi-fi and you can find also a pub-restaurant with good food for a quick brunch. The hotel is also provided of a sauna if you would like to have a moment of rest. The staff is polite and tries any effort to interact with foreigners.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauribear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    101
    30
    5
    1
See reviews for
58
67
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed in a verry nice renovated room. The staff was verry frendly and helpfull. Breakfast was verry good, The location of the hotel is just outside the centre of the town,in a nice naberhood and close to the tram and subway, so within 15 to 20 minutes you are in the centre. Also the O2-arena is just around the corner, aswell as a huge shoppingmall.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2012

very nice - just renovated - room. Free wifi and Lan-internet. Shopping mall around the corner with hundreds of shops it seemed. Surroundings obviously changing a lot. Interesting to see the dynamics of Prague not only in the centre of town. If you are interested how Prague really is moving on, this is the quarter to be. Strange combination with nature also. 100 mtrs from the hotel there is a very nice park. We were there on a sunny afternoon and the atmosphere was very friendly with prague families playing, cycling, jogging etc. The real Prague I would say, not just museums and tourists.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Our floor was under construction so a lot of noise, also on saturday and sunday!!
Nothing was workin in the bathroom, loose dripping tap and shower-head, even the actual toilet was loose, so we had to be VERY careful using it.
Staff was polite at best, but generally avoided answering any of our questions. The pool is only open a few hours morning and night, otherwise you can book it for an additional fee.

Only positive points: the heating was working and the location is perfect when visiting the O2 Arena (3 minutes walk away)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camilama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBronsema, Manager at Carol, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
we tried to do the renovation without disturbing our clients, but obviously we didnot succeed 100%, for which we are sorry. Now we are glad that the renovation is completed and think the result is worthwile. If you will contact us we will offer you a free stay for 2 nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Location is subjective - it is a couple of blocks away from the office I was visiting. About five minutes away from the underground and there is also a massive shopping mall (Galerie Fenix) that includes everything from clothing, to a supermarket, to coffee shops and snack bars. This is not an 'tourist area'.

The room was massive and the bathroom exceptional. Everything was immaculately clean. Buffet breakfast with something for everyone and the hotel restaurant is good enough for a snack. The bar serves great local beer at a great price and the coffee is good.

There is a *very* small pool, free to use at certain hours, good enough for a wade.

Staff were lovely, helpful and non invasive.

I wholly recommend Carol if you need a quite place to rest after a long day and get in solid night of sleep.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank synerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We spent 4 nights in this hotel in december 2008 during Christmas event. We had booked a double room and we have had a spacious room with a small living room under the roof. Very quiet room , spacious, bed extremely confortable. The breakfast buffet offer large choice. Staff are serious and not very warm but it seems to be the rule in this country. Swimming pool and internet free. Clean. We park our car in their small private parking but streets seems quiet and we recommend to park your car in the street. We have booked through a travel operator as they offered the 4h night , than the quality/price were very good. Not far from the centre because metro and Tramway around the hotel. The place around is not very attractive.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cecilou70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Where one could expect to have either bad or good server, one does not really know what one can get. Some days one will get good service, other days one can expect to get the most horrible service one ever could expect. The personal are in many case more interested in dealing with their friends or colleagues, than to look after the customers. The food is average - when it is being served. They for Prague strangely enough do not have beer on draft which makes drinking in the bar a very sad experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casperghst42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 9
Arlington
Arlington
#494 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Praha 9
Clarion Congress Hotel Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Eurostars David
Eurostars David
#153 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 9
Wellness Hotel Step
Wellness Hotel Step
#208 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Eurostars Thalia Hotel
Eurostars Thalia Hotel
#150 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Praha 9
Pivovar
Pivovar
#394 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carol

Property: Carol
Address: Kurta Konrada 547/12, Prague 190 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 9
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Business Hotel in Prague
#160 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carol Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing