We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel - average location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Amedia Praha
Ranked #392 of 672 Hotels in Prague
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“good hotel - average location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

Stayed for three nights at the Eurohotel. A decent hotel for the able-bodied but if you are less mobile or don't fancy lugging luggage across the city, then give it a miss. From the airport you need to take a 119 bus to the start of the green metro, then change onto the red line, then alight at Chodov and catch a 115, 154 or 197 bus for one stop then get off the bus and cross five lanes of traffic before walking up a grass bank and round to the front of the hotel. The hotel itself is in a non-descript area surrounded by a KFC, petrol station, garden furniture shop, exhaust centre and anonymous office block. There is less then nothing to do in the immediate area, but the bar is cheap and well-stocked, although the barmaid has to be prised away from her beau to serve you. So, it's rubbish right? No, it's not. The rooms, although small, are immaculately clean, and the air-con was very effective, although slightly noisy. The only downside was the lack of a shaving point, but that is my only gripe. The breakfast was more than adequate, the reception staff very helpful, and the out-of-town location means a very quiet and restful nights sleep. A day metro ticket is cheap and the metro itself is very frequent and reliable. The three of us stayed there for 3 nights for £106. Fantastic value all round. Would I stay there again - absolutely!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    95
    111
    37
    24
See reviews for
46
121
16
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

This hotel is on the outskirts of Prague, about a half hour trip to the old town with the metro. The rooms are clean and basic with two beds, shower, toilet, and tv. They advertise that they have airconditioning but we had ours on full blast the whole stay and the room was always hot. The maid suggested that we keep our door open with a hanger to make the room a bit cooler. Not very pratical if you are not in your room much. Breakfast was basic with cereal, breads, meat, cheese and sauerkraut! Coffie machine and juice machine. Ok for filling up before walking around Prague. Reception was nice and very helpful, they sell bus tickets at the counter and were happy to answer any questions. You can park in the underground parking garage for 10 Euro per day which we did. There is not much nearby, only a gas station and a KFC if you want something to eat in the evening as the hotel only serves breakfast. It is only a 10 minute walk to the shopping center Chodov and Metro station. About 8 stops to Muzeum which is in the middle of the old town. Ok for the value if you don't mind staying far out of the center.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

Yes, one stop on the the bus then seven on the metro (to Muzeum - ie. Wenceslas Sq), but the transport links are regular, fast, clean, safe, frequent and cheap, particularly if you buy a 3 day card. So don't be put off by it being approx half an hour from the City Centre. Really not a problem, unless you want to stay out in Prague until the wee small hours of the morning. It is clean, modern, comfy and cheap and has everything you will need (including a reasonable bar until 11pm plus). Breakfast is continental but perfectly adequate. Evening meals is pizzas, which you may discover, are brought across from a local pizza place (you can walk there yourself - it's a 24 hour establishment 5 minutes walk away). German and Japanese coach tours use it as a stopoff and they're no fools. Recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Commsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

We only stayed in this hotel one night, but it is one of the nicest, most modern hotels in the city if you’re willing to take a long metro ride and are unable to afford a more centrally located hotel. The staff was helpful, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was huge. The bartender was very helpful giving directions; also the drinks were cheap :-)

To get to the hotel, take the red metro line to Chodov. Exit the metro on the stairs that say the name of the hotel (or ask a police officer). There is a bus across the street which is the second stop (after the mall), but it’s much easier to walk there by making a right on to the main road (the mall will be to your right once you turn). Walk 5 minutes, and the hotel is a blue-green skyscraper on the left.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strangebrew27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

Stayed a few days and was not overly impressed. Staff conducted business in a professional manner, however were not overly friendly and acted suspicious toward us, even keeping our passports for hours to "check in". This made us extremely nervous and was not something they did with all of their guests. What their suspicions of us were, we don't know?

We found a Playboy behind the chair when we went to plug in the light, so the room obviously was not cleaned properly. The beds were two twins pushed together and consisted of an uncomfortable mattress on a platform with a thin comforter as a cover. The bottom sheet did not even cover the entire mattress.

The bathroom was clean enough, no complaints there. The carpet was filthy, the towels thin and the room quite small.

Breakfast was cold cuts, cheese, breads and some yougart- it's the same every day so for a multiple day stay you may want to breakfast elsewhere for variety. There is a bar, but they do not allow outside drinks, so if you take advantage of the lower prices at the gas station behind the hotel, you'd better be prepared to drink them outside or in your room.

It was a bus ride or a 10 minute walk crossing a busy highway and a 20-25 minute metro ride into the city center.

That said, it was inexpensive and adequate. So if you're on a tight budget, don't mind using the metro (which was clean and efficient) this might be a good place to try out- just don't have too high of expectations.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enternamehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

This hotel served our purpose during our long weekend in Prague. All staff were really friendly and helpful. We arrived at 10:00am and were able to check in even though it states check in isn't until 14:00. Our room was fine, with a few slight issues. The toilet seat was broken and my bed broke in half when my partner rolled onto it (that's the truth lol). Hotel were really helpful and professional.
From the tube was about a 10 minute walk, we could have caught a bus for one stop but we enjoyed the walk.
Breakfast was typical continental breakfast - don't get too excited but I would say have yoghurt with your flakes as the milk tended to be on the warm side. The yoghurt was lovely! Or you can pop to KFC which is right outside the hotel lol.
Loads of leaflets in the hotel for tours ect. We took a few and did some of the tours which were fantastic - so glad we did.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Prague for the first time, however if I went back again, I would stay a lot more central.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelk4k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk
Level Contributor
149 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

At first we wanted another hotel, but it was fully booked and the travel agency adviced us a Eurohotel.

When we arrived we haven't found the hotel at first. So I attach the plan for the first time visitors.

The recieption was polite. The small issue is the fact that they give one key-card for the double room, but it wasn't problem for us. The rooms are cosy, with tv, aircondition and shower. Everything what you need without high ambitions. TV shows some chenels in czeh, german and english. Room ar cleaned daily. Breakfast is from 6.30 to 11. It doesn't contain hot dishes, but everything that you need like cheese, ham, musley, and so on.

Now what about loction. It is 15 minutes by foot from metro (r one bus stop) and then 15 minutes by metro to the center. Metro works till midnight, but you could also get there by night tram+night bus from the center or main trainstation. So for us it was reachable without any problems. In the hotel there is no restaurant, but there is a good bar. Nearby is a KFC fast food and huge Trade center with everything what you need, like food hypermarket, cafes, technic and clothes stores and so one,

So in general we have no problems with the hotel. And we think that it is a very good choise for it's price. The sevice is higher than the price. And we would like to recomend it like the very good 3* hotel to everyone.

  • Liked — All was extremly good
  • Disliked — There is no scheme how tyo get from metro on there website
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanoleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 7
Extol Inn
Extol Inn
#353 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Praha 6
Fortuna West
Fortuna West
#609 of 672 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BEST WESTERN City Hotel Moran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Globus
Globus
#584 of 672 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel U Divadla
Hotel U Divadla
#160 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Vladar Praha
Hotel Vladar Praha
#398 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Amedia Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Amedia Praha

Property: BEST WESTERN Amedia Praha
Address: Tuerkova 2318/5a, Prague 149 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Amedia Express Praha)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 11
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Amedia Praha 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Amedia Praha. For budget conscious business travelers and tourists, our modern and comfortable hotel in Prague's Chodov neighborhood is nearby the biggest shopping centre in Prague which offers a wide selection of International brands, restaurants, and entertainment sites as well as a fitness centre, bowling and bars. The hotel is well-appointed and three-star rated featuring comfortable and affordable renovated rooms exceeding the standards. All rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with satellite flat screen televisions, a desk and a bathroom with shower, WC and a wash basin. Modern style fully renovated rooms with double beds for one or two people with choice of Business or Standard category. BEST WESTERN Amedia Praha is known for the attractive price-for-value ratio throughout the year, even during fair and event periods. There is a great connection to the busy center of Prague which makes the hotel a perfect place for businessmen, visitors of Prague's many congresses and exhibitions as well as for tourists who seek a quiet place to rest after a busy day and yet want to be able to reach Prague's busiest streets in minutes. Our front desk is open 24 hours to ensure easy check-in upon arrival. The hotel is located close to public transportation with the metro only 500 meters away and the city center can be reached within 20 minutes. For those traveling by plane, the airport is also only 20 minutes away. There is easy accessibility to the D1 Highway as well as quick car access to the city ring road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Amedia Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurohotel Praha Prague
Eurohotel Praha Hotel Prague
Euro Hotel Praha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing