We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views of the old city”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #138 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing views of the old city”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Throughout the whole stay everyone was really friendly and once we arrived at the reception we were offered an upgrade of our room for Eur30 to the new-built roof terrace rooms (see attached photo). The location of the hotel is very central with easy access to main historical attractions. The room was relatively spacious but the main thing we enjoyed was the amazing view. The breakfast was good, standard buffet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoriahotelprague, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are delighted that your experience with us was fulfilling and you enjoyed the Hotel. We are extremely happy of your appreciation of our newly built 8th floor with an amazing view of the Prague Castle. We are really very proud of it.

\we look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Yours sincerely

Martina Simunkova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    516
    137
    23
    4
See reviews for
175
575
47
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Two friends & myself stayed at the Hotel Astoria in July 2012. Initially we had 1 room booked for all 3 which was a bit tight. Upon request of an additional single room one was made available for me the following day by the very helpful hotel associate. I think his name was Jann. He spoke several languages which was a definite advantage considering all the international travelers. He also made an extra effort to secure the room for me. Much to my very pleasant surprise the room was available early the next morning so I could unpack early and start touring. The room was perfect for 1 or 2. It was safe and clean with an excellent view. Upon request several reputable tours were recommended.The hospitality was perfect for us.

The hotel was ideally situated for us, close to the main square in Prague yet quiet for sleeping. Everything (all major attractions) was within walking distance, including the banks so money exchange was convenient.

The breakfast was perfect for vegetarians and meat lovers equally. It kept our appetites satisfied until late lunch.

I would definitely stay here again. Thank you Hotel Astoria.

Room Tip: Fifth four ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoriahotelprague, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive feedback on our hotel. I have especially enjoyed reading that you have appreciated the friendliness of our staff.That is one of our main priorities at Astoria Hotel Prague. I will share these comments with my team and hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Martina Simunkova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We adresse promised free wifi in the room, we didnt get it and had to pay ekstra to get a superior room. The internet shut down every day, and we needed to get a voucher every evening and morning. The are building an eigth floor with are extremely loud and noisy and it will keep you awake from 7am - 5pm. When you complain in the reception, the answer is and i quate "we cant do anything about it". I am never comming back to this place. It shurely dosnt live up to its name.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jesperabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoriahotelprague, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear guest,
It saddens me to read that you had a disappointing experience witth us. On behalf of my team I do apologise for that.I can assure you that we have just finished the construction works on our newly built 8th floor which offers a beatufull view to the Prague Castle and the Old Town. Regarding the wi-fi issue I must apologies again however we launched a new system which unables us to cover more floors with wi-fi signal. As you might know there are always some technical issues before the system is fixed to the guests satisfaction. I hope you will give us one more opportunity to welcome you to Astoria Hotel Prague again. I believe that our positive reviews could convince you to come back.
Yours sincerely
Martina Simunkova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel, great hotel in a good location just minutes walk from the Old Town Square. Our room was a good size for a hotel in Europe, very clean and quiet. Breakfast was included and was more than adequate. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoriahotelprague, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your visit at the Astoria Hotel.
I was delighted to read that you have had a positive visit to our property and that our services met your expectations.
Yours sincerely
Martina Simunkova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast N Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed here for seven nights in june and would just like to endorse the good reviews this hotel has received.
Especially liked the standard of housekeeping,our room often being serviced while we were at breakfast - spotless!
Staff all very pleasant and helpful, Breakfast was great, with lots of choices both hot and cold. The location is good just a few minutes walk to the old town square and other sites.
Prague is wonderful with lots to do and see and we would certainly stay at the Astoria again.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view. Some rooms on upper floors have balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mileseater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We booked the Astoria after reviewing several hotels in Prague, mainly for their location and pricing. We were not at all disappointed. The staff is very helpful with directions and transport, rooms are neat and clean, bathrooms are well stocked with soaps and moisturizers and the best part is that it is located within walking distance of the subway, tram stops, shopping streets and the hop-on- hop-off bus stop.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on a higher floor since the hotel is on a narrow road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zed62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It is with great pleasure I read your review knowing that we have lived up to your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards

Martina Simunkova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a week in June. We chose the Astoria based on Trip Advisor reviews. The other reviews were correct about the location being convenient for visiting all the sites. We were able to walk everywhere, but we took Tram 22 to the castle. What a beautiful city! We were given a room with a balcony with a nice view. The room was small, with a queen bed, desk, luggage rack, and closet. There was no dresser, only a shelf in the closet. The room had a safe, flat screen tv, and a reasonably priced minibar. The bathroom was very clean. The side of the tub is a lot higher than we are used to in the States. We had to be very careful getting in and out of the shower. They provide a bottle of combined body wash/shampoo, no conditioner. I read this in a review and brought my own. If you need an iron, you have to call the front desk and have it brought up to your room. The breakfast, which was included, was good - scrambled, poached, and hard boiled eggs, potatos, two different sausages, bacon, breads and pastries, yogurt, granola, two juices, a nice selection of teas, and coffee. We were always able to get a table. The hotel provides excellent customer service. All employees were extremely pleasant and helpful. We flew into Paris (Delta), then on to Prague. Unfortunately, about 30 pieces of luggage were left in Paris. When we checked in at the hotel and informed them about our luggage situation, the receptionist took our paperwork and called the airline to find out the status. I was very impressed, we did not ask her to do this. Our luggage arrived at midnight that night. We took a 5 hour tour to the nearby town of Kutna Hora. We did not have to make reservations, just meet at the clock at 9:50 and board the bus, We visited the bone church, took a short walking tour of town, and had a nice lunch (included in the tour) at a restaurant that served Czech food - pork and saurkraut, goulash, and dumplings, The restaurant was recommended by Rick Steeves in his travel book.
We had a great time in Prague, and I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1sttriptorome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed evaluation of your visit at the Astoria Hotel.
Our main goal is to deliver very good services to all our guests and we were very glad to read about your pleasant stay. Our staff is doing their best to help you enjoy every minute of it. Please be assured that we shared your commendation with all our Team Members.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel at your next visit in Prague.

Yours sincerely

Martina Simunkova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Metropol Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#73 of 649 in Prague
518 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#81 of 649 in Prague
1,476 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#72 of 649 in Prague
708 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Central Hotel Prague
Central Hotel Prague
#195 of 649 in Prague
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Rybna 680/10, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#130 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#133 Business Hotel in Prague
#151 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superb Location of 4* Astoria Hotel in Prague Old Town makes it the ideal choice for leisure or business clients. All major attractions are within walking distance – The Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, Powder Tower. 80 guest rooms provide comfortable accommodation, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities,mini-bar, safe, hairdryer and air-conditioning. Top floors rooms offer outstanding views of Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing