We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel for a city trip”
Review of Certovka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Certovka Hotel
Ranked #125 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Charming hotel for a city trip”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located near the "Karlův most" (Charles bridge). Excellent location for a walk to the downtown historic center, as well as for a walk up to the Prague castle, or a nice evening walk alongside the Moldau river. The rooms are small but nice. The breakfast buffet is sufficient, with a few local danish pastry specials.
Don't order a taxi at the hotel desk to get to the airport, it costs more then a regular taxi (normal taxi fare: 550 Czk, hotel rate: 700 Czk).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPRubens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    118
    25
    11
    0
See reviews for
35
186
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just got back from a 3 night stay at this wonderful hotel. From check in to check out everything was wonderful. The breakfast was plentiful, the room immaculate, ours overlooked the small loch and the bridge. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone who likes to be well looked after.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Certovka is an excellent four star hotel at the Western end of Charles Bridge. The rooms are well cleaned and a decent size, with views of either the Castle or Bridge/river. Its under five minutes walk from the nearest tram stop, ten minutes to the subway, and close to lots of great restaurants. Breakfast is buffet and cooked. Staff are very friendly and speak excellent English. If I went back to Prague, I'd definitely stay again. We got a good price on last minute.com

Room Tip: Third floor has good views, especially on the castle side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANS321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed with my sisters for five days in Hotel Certovka. It is a perfect hotel for a pleasant stay in Prague. It is located next to the Charlesbridge with lots of restaurants and shops nearby. A short walk over the bridge brings you to the vibrant heart of Prague. The hotel is in walking distance of all the major cultural sites in Malá Strana, Hradčany, Old Town, Josefov and New Town. We never had to use the public transport. The hotel is beautiful and quite small. Our room was very spacious and looked very nice. Beside a bed and desk we also had a table with chairs next to the window (overlooking the Charlesbridge). It can be a bit noisy, especially on Friday and Saturday night. The beds were ok, but the pillows are very thin. The major downside of the hotel was in my opinion the room cleaning. The room was during our stay not vacuumed, a plastic bag of previous guests next to the heater was never removed, and the shelf above the washstand was not cleaned despite clearly visible stains. It is such a beautiful hotel, which made the poor quality of the cleaning more disappointing. The room is quite warm, despite of the air-conditioning. While we were in Prague, temperatures varied between 26-30 degrees. The breakfast was excellent, with for example different kinds of bread. One warm meal during breakfast (mainly different types of omelettes) is included in the room price. The breakfast room has only six tables, but it was usually very quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. Certovka has an excellent price-quality ratio. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Depending on what you are looking for this hotel is in a great location to the old town of Prague. The room we had had a view of the street that did not bother us as we were not in the room that much. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was good as it was cooked to order. One receptionist was extremely helpful the other we encountered made you feel like you were an inconvenience. Not for a long stay we stayed two nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachlife35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a week,and all I can say the only good thing about is the location and a nice lady that did the cleaning and at the same time work in the breakfast restaurant. this is no way a 4 star hotel.The receptionists were more in the rude side,and don't even try to ask for directions,they don't know nothing. I will not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaritaFloridaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I discovered Certovka hotel when I first visited Prague alone in 2005, wandering by feet in Mala Strana and just arrived from Vien by train. The only room availble without previous booking was a tiny "bohemienne" one under the roof but with a unique view of the bridge from above.
I promised myself to take my wife to Praga and stay at that hotel, but for various reasons we only could fulfil that dream last may : we were not disappointed!
Quiet, romantic place, with charming view of Charles bridge ,clean and elegant rooms ,and , most of all , kindest and utterly helpful staff . We much appreciated morning breakfasts , and the proximity to places like Kafka museum and top class restaurants along the Moldava.
We are 67 but we felt as if in a new honeymoon.

Room Tip: on the channel and/or view of the bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dinolevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#79 of 649 in Prague
339 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#186 of 649 in Prague
359 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#75 of 649 in Prague
741 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Jezulatka
Hotel U Jezulatka
#321 of 649 in Prague
89 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#16 of 649 in Prague
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Certovka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Certovka Hotel

Property: Certovka Hotel
Address: U luzhickeho seminare 85/2, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#110 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#153 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Certovka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Certovka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Certovka Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing