We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, excellent location but not a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
President Hotel Prague
Ranked #179 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good hotel, excellent location but not a 5 star hotel”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel's best feature is its location. Literally 30 seconds away from the start of one of the most luxurious shopping streets in Prague, the hotel is less than 5 minutes from the Astronomic Clock. It's also very close to Charles bridge and to tens of other local attractions. The second best feature of this hotel is its breakfast, which is in line with other 5-start hotels. Some of the staff is also very friendly and cooperative. Free wi-fi was a good add-on.

If you are looking for a good hotel in a good location, you should definitely consider this one. With one caveat: this is not a 5 star hotel.

Unfortunately, there are a number of reasons why I honestly think whoever gave this hotel 5 star was either drunk or crazy. The Intercontinental lies just besides it: compare the two and you'll see that the President is really just an excellent 3*** or a basic 4****.

This is why:
- our room was rather small
- a tiny car park (we were able to only park there for one night, outdoor for 28 euros).
- a tired look and feel of the hotel furniture and fixtures (our room had a 15-year old TV set with 5 channels all in Czech and 1 in Irish ?!?; some parts of the rooms' fixtures were badly damaged and the carpet was severely stained).
- No coffee-maker in the room.
- We got a beauty kit on the first day of our stay alone - nothing for the other 3 days. There was no body lotion, no bubble bath, no show polisher, no individual bottles for shampoo/conditioners/body soap.
- The elevator would only take us up to the fourth floor, although our room was on the fifth. Not sure why as there are lifts on the 5th.
- I never got to see the sauna as the only day I wanted to use it I was told that maintenance had declared it unusable for the day. We got no prior warning that this was the case so I planned my day so that I could be back early and enjoy a relaxing sauna for nothing. I have been in other 5-star where maintenance problems occured but I was notified at the start of the day by the hotel staff, offered excuses and a bottle of wine as a token of their apology - that's a 5 star service.


In conclusion: if you are not interested in luxury but sill want to stay at a good hotel; if location is more important than hotel services; if you're going to spend most of your day touring the city rather than working or relaxing from your hotel, then this is a good choice.

I hope this was helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zibbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen L, General Manager at President Hotel Prague, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Mr. Zibbu.,

I have read very carefully your comments. I am very glad that you had a positive experience and we would like to thank you for taking the time to express your suggestions and opinions in Trip Advisor. Your value cooperation whit the feedback about your stay, help us to improve and motivate all the team day by day. So we will improve all the points that you suggest to us.

I will take the opportunity provided by this writing, to thank you most sincerely that you chose our hotel during your stay in the capital of the Czech Republic.
I would like to inform you that we will provide you allways the best offers and discounts in your future stays, and our President Club Members benefits. Please contact whit us is you decide to come back to Prague.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again.

Reiterating my gratitude,

Sincerely,

CL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    425
    171
    61
    64
See reviews for
178
528
55
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

It is a top recommended hotel comes with good service, nice bedroom, good breakfast and great location especially!
The view surrounds the hotel is just more than fantastic; it is my Christmas gift this year,
it is just super super great!

Room Tip: for couples: do not forget to choose double bed bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen L, General Manager at President Hotel Prague, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Ms.Kelly,
It ‘s was a pleasure to welcome you in the President Hotel Prague ***** . Like you say, we are situated in the historic heart of Prague, but not everyone knows that the hotel occupies an historic and protected building, unique for its architectural building style called "brutismo".

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to express your suggestions and opinions in Trip Advisor. Your valuable co-operation has been most useful for us to get our main target and to try to improve a level our customers’ satisfaction to its highest. We will take care about all your recomendations.

I take the opportunity provided by this writing, to thank you most sincerely that you chose our hotel during your stay in the capital of the Czech Republic and inform you that we will provide you the best offers and discounts in your future stays, and our President Club Members benefits.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again

Sincerely,
CL

President Hotel Prague
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Situated near the river with a great view of the river and the town. Walking distance to restraunts and the historic Jewish quarter. We were happy with our large room with a huge bathroom, however some of our friends were not happy with the quality of their room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen L, General Manager at President Hotel Prague, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Ms. Wendy B

It ‘s was a pleasure to welcome you in the President Hotel Prague ***** . Like you say, we are situated in the historic heart of Prague, but not everyone knows that the hotel occupies an historic and protected building, unique for its architectural building style called "brutismo".

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to express your suggestions and opinions in Trip Advisor. Your valuable co-operation has been most useful for us to get our main target and to try to improve a level our customers’ satisfaction to its highest. We will take care about all your recommendations in order to improve.

I take the opportunity provided by this writing, to thank you most sincerely that you chose our hotel during your stay in the capital of the Czech Republic and inform you that we will provide you the best offers and discounts in your future stays, and our President Club Members benefits.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again

Sincerely,
CL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We enjoyed staying at the President Hotel, very conveniently located on the river. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was large with a very nice bathroom, but we would have preferred a king bed instead of twin beds (welcome to Europe!). The breakfast buffet would have been better if they kept the eggs hot instead of covering them half-way. Self-serve coffee wasn't too bad. The bar is where I got delicious cappuccino, beer of course, and Czech wine. Dinner one night was especially good.

There is a nice Thai spa at this hotel and my husband and I enjoyed a massage.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunny22314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen L, General Manager at President Hotel Prague, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Mr. Bunny22314
It ‘s was a pleasure to welcome you in the President Hotel Prague ***** . Like you say, we are situated in the historic heart of Prague, but not everyone knows that the hotel occupies an historic and protected building, unique for its architectural building style called "brutismo".

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to express your suggestions and opinions in Trip Advisor. Your valuable co-operation has been most useful for us to get our main target and to try to improve a level our customers’ satisfaction to its highest. We will take care about all your recommendations in order to improve day ba day.

I take the opportunity provided by this writing, to thank you most sincerely that you chose our hotel during your stay in the capital of the Czech Republic and inform you that we will provide you the best offers and discounts in your future stays, and our President Club Members benefits.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again

Sincerely,
CL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corlette, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

what a view from our spacious well appointed room. everything about this place is solid. bed was just so comfortable. spa bath well used after so much walking. we had two nites in this hotel and enjoyed everything (other than the hiccup on arrival where we were shown into an already occupied room). front desk staff were pleasant but a little confused. staff overall were very helpful and pleasant. under cover parking was a bonus in the heart of the old city. breakfast was a feast. we enjoyed prague immensely, the food, the atmosphere, the people. we booked hours before driving into prague without any discount or knoweldge of this hotel. have read the negative reviews and wonder if we stayed in the same hotel. we had no problems but agree it is 4 star, not 5.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moores101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen L, General Manager at President Hotel Prague, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Fam Moores101,

I am glad that you had a positive experience with our staff and you felt welcome during your stay. We would like to thank you for taking the time to express your suggestions and opinions in Trip Advisor. Your value cooperation whit the feedback of your stay, help us to improve and motivate all the team day by day.

I will take the opportunity provided by this writing, to thank you most sincerely that you chose our hotel during your stay in the capital of the Czech Republic.
I would like to inform you that we will provide you allways the best offers and discounts in your future stays, and our President Club Members benefits. Please contact whit us is you decide to come back to Prague.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again.

Reiterating my gratitude,

Sincerely,

CL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our first trip to Prague and we were not sure what to expect. The hotel is situated right on the river and very central; a 6 minute walk to the old town square and a 15 minute walk to the Charles Bridge and other sites. We felt very comfortable wandering around the areas, exploring side streets but had been told by hotel staff to keep a close watch on our wallet/purse. Be sure to take only a AAA taxi from the train station/airport - we did not and did get taken on the amount we paid. Prague is a beautiful city and worth visiting. However if you are bothered by cigarette smoke, be aware that smoking occurs everywhere; on the street, in pubs/bars - there are some restaurants in old town that have either non smoking sections or are completely smoke free. The hotel advertises a fitness center onsite but it does not have one. However there is one at the hotel adjacent to the President Hotel; walk out the front door, turn to your left, go a bit down the alley to the gate to the other hotel property and this will take you to the gym. There is a daily fee that is not too expensive and it is a big gym and has a pool. At the President Hotel they have Thai massage that is fantastic; best massage ever! And the breakfast provided as part of the room charge includes both hot and cold items, is quite extensive and filling.

Room Tip: See if they have a corner room; they have a bit more room in them and a nice large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mabes1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen L, General Manager at President Hotel Prague, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Mabes1975,
It ‘s was a pleasure to welcome you in the President Hotel Prague ***** , we are situated in the historic heart of Prague, but not everyone knows that our hotel occupies an historic and protected building, unique for its architectural building style called "brutismo".
I take the opportunity provided by this writing, to thank you most sincerely that you chose our hotel during your stay in the capital of the Czech Republic.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to express your suggestions and opinions in Trip Advisor. Your valuable co-operation transmiting your opinions help us to imporve day a day. We will recheck the fitness publication you mention. Hotel have sauna and massage.

We will allways provide you the best offers and discounts in your future stays, and our President Club Members benefits.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again should your future trips take you back to Prague.

Reiterating my gratitude,

Sincerely,
CL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We got a discount through our regular website and that is why our review is globally favorable.
The room was spacious and quite confortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is quite ideal between the castle and the main square of the old town.
The internet is free and speed is sufficient to check your mails.
Our room had a balcony from which we could see the river.
Otherwise, there was this constant noise coming either from a central air con machine or a laundry that could have spoiled our nights if we were not that exhausted each time we came back in the room.
The shower cabin was leaking from everywhere and the bathroom floor was flooded after every shower and, consequently, very slippery.
The toilet seat was smaller than the toilet bowl and was, consequently not very confortable.
There was no tea/coffe set in the room: policy of the hotel they told us.
Erick

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinha_et_Erick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen L, General Manager at President Hotel Prague, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Dinha_&_Erick,

I am glad that you had a positive experience with our staff and you felt welcome during your stay.
I take the opportunity provided by this writing, to thank you most sincerely that you chose our hotel during your stay in the capital of the Czech Republic.
We would like to thank you also for taking the time to express your suggestions and opinions in Trip Advisor.
We will provide you the best offers and discounts in your future stays, and our President Club Members benefits. Please contact whit us is you decide to come back to Prague.
This year we have install the tea/coffe set in the rooms, according to your suggestions.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again.
Sincerely,

CL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
InterContinental Prague
InterContinental Prague
#93 of 649 in Prague
2,539 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#29 of 649 in Prague
1,112 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#45 of 649 in Prague
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Grandior Hotel Prague
Grandior Hotel Prague
#83 of 649 in Prague
4,161 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel Prague

Property: President Hotel Prague
Address: Namesti Curieovych 100/1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly President Hotel Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#150 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — President Hotel Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel in the centre of Prague is visited by fans of tourism and relaxation, namely thanks to its advantageous location. The President Hotel is located on the right bank of the Vltava river, between the Charles Bridge and the Cloister of St. Agnes of Bohemia. Thanks to its ideal position in the centre of Prague, the President Hotel is located only a short walk from renowned historical monuments such as the Charles Bridge, Prague Castle, Old Town Square, National Theatre, Jewish Quarter, Synagogues and other places of interest in the heart of one of the most beautiful cities of the Czech Republic. The unique position allows you to conveniently visit the Pařížská street, a luxurious shopping venue with an abundance of fashion shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your President Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague President Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing