We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, amazing beds, dinky interior design.”
Review of pentahotel Prague

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
pentahotel Prague
Ranked #88 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The good: a minutes walk, maybe less, to a tram and metro stop. Great fruit shop nearby, chemist ( closed Sunday ) and a few little bars. Krystal restaurant is across the road and worth a visit for lunch when you arrive perhaps. It takes a few minutes to get right into the centre. Quiet street, low traffic volume, feels safe at night. Dinky interior touches, interesting finishes, nice bathroom, two shower heads, lovely bathroom shampoos etcetc supplied in a little wash bag all for you. Very cute. Kettle and tea and coffee supplied and a safe. The bed is huge, two large singles together and very, very comfortable/ like soft yet firm. Good black out curtains, and air con.

The bad: might have lots of annoying stags with blow up dolls doing things that look like sexual assault to said dolls and laughing while doing it. While you pass. Not cool. But not the hotel's fault. Although they should discourage it. They did intervene once that we witnessed though which is good. There is some traffic noise in the front rooms so bring earplugs if you're sensitive. There was no hot water for one of us on the third morning. The breakfast is overpriced (€15, €12 if you pay in advance which they erm... suggest.. when you check in) but don't do it. The bar food also overpriced, like I said go across the road for better value. The staff is very hit and miss. Some friendly some very grumpy and off-putting. Some really know very little about where they are or how to do basics like direct to metro or tourist buses. At night the wait to be served a drink is horrendously long/ again, don't bother.
If you are poorly sighted avoid completely. The hotel is verrrry dark inside and the corridors upstairs are practically unlit. I found it soothing, others may find it frightening.

Overall great value though, if you just use as a base and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Don't get a front room if you hate traffic/tram bells.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zogabong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pentahotel_Prague, General Manager at pentahotel Prague, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you very much for your open and honest feedback which is been shared with all teh team in order to improve areas where you showed us weaknesses.
We do apologize that not all has been to your full satisfaction, however we will thanks to your feedback work on those weak points.
The water issue has been solved as due to a boiler pump failure the hot water supply has been insufficiant.

We thank you once again for your feedback and hope to welcome you soon again to one of our properties.

Johannes A. Schuschu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,309)
There are newer reviews for pentahotel Prague
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,011 - 1,017 of 2,309 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

What a change to find a hotel with such a positive vibe. From the moment you walked in you were treated with respect, the staff very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble.
The rooms were large and modern with some quirky features. Lovely bathroom with a large rainfall shower although I am not too keen of having a hairdrier in the bathroom though. Comfortable bed and a large TV with a good choice of English speaking channels.
Excellent buffet breakfast with plenty of choice, staff worked hard to make sure items were replenished. Had a meal in the hotel, good choice of food to suit everyone's taste and pocket. Highly recommend the burgers (John knows why!)
The bar area very relaxing with plenty of comfortable seating, ideal after a hard days sightseeing to come back to enjoy a nice cold beer in comfortable surroundings.
A little out of town but the tram service very frequent and cheap. Prague is a beautiful city wouldn't hesitate to stop at this hotel again and certainly recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bondiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pentahotel_Prague, General Manager at pentahotel Prague, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you very, very much for wour kind feedback. We are very glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we do look forward welcoming you soon again to one of our properties.

Kind regards

Johannes A. Schuschu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

I'have been before hotel like that..I like and my wife very2 interesting..for furniture...accecoris room..interior ..lobby....bar..dinning..etc...good.....but at 2 am ..alarm alert sound is make me wake up early ..what happen ?..just some one make joke...celebrate for grand opening....Do the best...Thx very much

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Hidayat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Simply the hotel I have been always dreaming of! Incredible atmosphere, different environment, comfort, excellent breakfast, close to everything in Prague, wonderful people working there. The best hotel I have ever been in. And I travel quite a lot. I felt more than at home. The rooms are spatious and really clean, I had a king size bed, a fantastic shower, big screen tv, a balcony. It is a 'young' hotel. Difficult to describe. If you are in Prague do not hesitate: stay in Pentahotel. It is worth every Kc you pay for your room.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Raul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pentahotel_Prague, General Manager at pentahotel Prague, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Raul,

many, many thanks for your positive feedback and for recommending our hotel to others. We hope that we may welcome you back soon to one of our properties.

Kind regards

Johannes A. Schuschu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is a trendy hotel which is very suitable for couples.It is a bit different from what you would expect.
The bar is also the reception area.The staff are all very pleasant and helpful,especially,Tatiana.
Wifi and pool are available.
There is a wide choice at breakfast,particularly of bread and a glass of Prosecco hepls to kick
start the day.Meals are filling,paricularly the massive steaks and goulash.
The rooms were all clean and had modern showers and an excellent flat-screen tv on the wall
Handily placed next to the metro to get to the centre..
Good place to stay for exploring Prague

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DIWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pentahotel_Prague, General Manager at pentahotel Prague, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you very,very much for the great feedback. We are very happy to read that you fiully enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward, welcoming you soon again to one of our properties.

Sincerely yours

Johannes A. Schuschu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

My fiance and i stayed for 4 days and we loved it. It was so relaxing. The hotel was very modern. Our room was beautiful and the rain shower was unreal. All the staff was kind and helpful. On sunday was my birthday and after a long day shopping, we came back to our room and found a bottle of champagne and strawberrys and a lovely note wishing me a happy birthday. Very thoughtful from all the staff. Would staff again and hopefully soon:-D

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank leslieharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here with 4 other couples in May this is a great hotel staff brilliant and very helpful easy to get into centre from this very modern and clean hotel would highly recommend.everyone of the couples said the same and if we return to Prague would definitely book here again. Cannot comment on breakfast had lunch there on the last day and was very good.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 8
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
#59 of 648 in Prague
3,069 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#63 of 648 in Prague
1,816 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#55 of 648 in Prague
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#66 of 648 in Prague
2,192 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#163 of 648 in Prague
533 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
NYX Prague
NYX Prague
#188 of 648 in Prague
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Prague

Address: Sokolovska 112 | Karlin, Prague 18600, Czech Republic (Formerly Ibis Praha Karlin)
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 8
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Prague
#65 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#78 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#86 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $71 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pentahotel Prague is the perfect place for you and not just because of its excellent location. With its clear, comfortable and relaxed style, it fits into the city perfectly. After all, it is safe to say that Prague is one of Europe's leading lifestyle cities. From art deco to freestyle - there is so much for you to discover in style in Prague every day; and at night too. The pentahotel Prague is the ideal place to start. Regardless of whether you want to take a walk or choose the tram or underground instead, the top sights are easy to reach from the pentahotel. Your very own Prague dreams come true, from wandering through the sublime Old Town to taking an evening stroll over the Charles Bridge. And those dreams don't stop back at the hotel - you'll be as snug as a bug in Prague in our premium quality beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your pentahotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Praha Karlin Hotel Prague
Ibis Hotel Praha Karlin
Ibis Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing