We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay here purely for good location”
Review of Old Prague Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Prague Hotel
Ranked #261 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“stay here purely for good location”
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Central to everything and so easy to walk everywhere! Im a young female first time traveling to Europe on my own in the middle of summer and wanted somewhere in Prague where i could be safe and also easy to get to all the main areas. Old Prague Hotel ticked all the boxes. Close to some great restaurants and pubs (czech beer was amazing and so cheap- equivalent to just over 1 euro!) My only disappointment was when i booked i emailed them directly to get a room with a view which they emailed straight away saying that was no problem at all. Great! Ofcourse i turned up and they gave me a room on the first floor with a view of the back of some building! When i questioned them they said they were completely booked and that they've had so many requests for rooms with views! I didnt complain because i was only there for two days but i was extremely disappointed because i booked months before! If they told me they couldnt provide me with a good room i probably would have paid more money at another hotel for a better view. Also breakfast was extremely basic, some dry pieces of bread with butter, cold meats, pate and cheese and juice and a tea bag. Also my double bed was two single beds put together and the tv didnt work! So if you are looking for a clean place to stay and not fussed about breakfast and service and amenities but want a good location then book at the Old Prague Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittykat_206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    176
    61
    11
    11
See reviews for
54
133
46
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

This hotel is really nice, the staff are very friendly and the location is just excellent. All the tourist sites are within walking distances.

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank YM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I have stayed here probably half dozen times, mainly for it's location - 5 mins walk from Wenceslas Square and The Old Town. Rooms are adequate with tv showing CNN. En-suite with hairdrier, etc. Dont ask for an ironing board they dont have one. I think the hotel must have been taken over recently as when I stayed this time (Aug 2009) the breakfasts were not as good. Only luke warm water for one cup of tea and terrible coffee. Also no bowls for cereals (had to use a tumbler)However all that said i think it is value for money and if/when I return to Prague again would I stay here again? yes I would.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Setch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Old Prague Hotel for two nights during a recent trip to Prague. The hotel has recently been renovated and changed it's name from the Prague Expres Hotel to the Old Prague Hotel.

We could not have been happier with the hotel. It is very well located and our room was a decent size. It was noisy one night - a lot of door slamming - but the next night not a sound could be heard.

Breakfast was brought to the room and we greatly enjoyed that. It was brought early - about 20 minutes early but we were up and ready so we did not have a problem with that. Breakfast consisted of some rolls, jams, nutella, coffee, juice, yogurt, and cereal. We were very pleased with it.

During our stay the hotel was running a super special - we only paid about 55 dollars a night for our room! It was an amazing price for such a super hotel!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megginc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilkenny ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

stayed in the expres, feburary 2008 after staying there the 3 previous years,
it is a real jem big spacious rooms and very cheap as we booked 2 single rooms every time at a mere 65euro a night with breakfast,
they arrange a taxi to pick you up from the airport and the same for the way back at a good price and relaible.
it is very central 5 mins walk to any of the good locations.
staff are extremely helpfull and provide a security box at front of house at a small price.
this would suit all ages and especially young singles.

  • Liked — central location and cheap
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank philpotno7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2008

i would recommend this hotel everytime been here 3 times and am planning to go back there next year location first class close to everything from the minute you got there to the minute youleft

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank tesmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

Prague is absolutely gorgeous! I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in October based primarily on the reviews posted here. Room No 7 was large, comfortable and clean with an enormous bathroom by any standard. I was picked up at the airport by the hotel`s recommended car service who had to wait two hours for my arrival due to flight delays in London.

My first nights (Sunday) sleep was a wonderful 12 hours thanks to exhaustion and a comfy bed. However, the next two nights were interrupted by the singing and music emanating from the night club downstairs which started at 10pm. I was prepared for this from the reviews listed here and after inserting earplugs I was able to sleep soundly. Many people, I`m sure, would not find it as disturbing as I did. I can sleep with heavy traffic outside but not with music playing.

The schoolyard out the back didn`t bother me as I was usually awake by 6am. The staff spoke English and were helpful and courteous. I pretty much did my own thing so didn`t need to consult them too much. The breakfasts were plentiful and arrived on time each morning. On my last day, when I needed to leave before normal breakfast time, they were able to provide it 30 mins earlier.

You do hear everything that goes on in the corridors. Thankfully, I didn`t have too many raucous neighbours at night.

The location is excellent. It`s just a 5 min walk to the Old Town Square. I did not need to use public transport in Prague. I was able to walk to everything I wanted to see from the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who can tolerate a bit of dulled music at night.

  • Liked — Spacious room and bathroom
  • Disliked — Night club noise from downstairs
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank victa65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#193 of 649 in Prague
521 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Prague Golden Age
Prague Golden Age
#289 of 649 in Prague
168 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Betlem Club
Betlem Club
#270 of 649 in Prague
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cloister Inn Hotel
Cloister Inn Hotel
#96 of 649 in Prague
1,950 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
#163 of 649 in Prague
435 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
At the Old Lady (U stare pani)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Prague Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Prague Hotel

Property: Old Prague Hotel
Address: Skorepka 421/5 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Acc Nifos Expres Hotel)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#153 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Prague Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, clean and cosy hotel in the historical centre of Prague 5mins walking from the stone Charles Bridge. 14 Double rooms and 14 three-bed rooms with private bathrooms. The hotel offers breakfast, free internet and wi-fi connection,safe boxes, sightseeing tours, left luggage, transfer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Old Prague Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hotel Prague
Prague Old Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing