We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot beat the location or the price”
Review of Hotel Melantrich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Melantrich
Ranked #203 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Location is fantastic. The hotel - you walk up some stairs - we were a little oh great what did we book - but we were pleasantly surprised by the whole experience. We got an enormous room on the corner - unfortunately forgot the room number but it was a big apartment style room.

The old gentleman at the front desk was so cute. You can't even tell he's there because he sits below the counter. He showed us the room and was very kind to answer questions.

Seriously though - while the decor is a little funky - it works, is clean and would stay here again. For us it was the right price in the right location so if it is the same for you - book it.

They do offer a breakfast - we only really got the coffee but it seemed lots of people were enjoying the breakfast while we stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoGlobalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiubovEgorova, Manager at Hotel Melantrich, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback after your stay at Melantrich hotel.
Please let me comment for some point you have mentioned.
The hotel is situadet in the heart of Prague in the old building, that is why i tis not possible to have an elivator to the reception and to the majority of the rooms.
You were lucky to have the best room we have. Also recently, after your stay we made so changes there, so now this room is even better.
I hope during your next visit to Prague we will see you again at hotel Melantrich.

Best regards,

Liubov Egorova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Melantrich
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 540 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located near the old town square but be prepared for the street noise keeping you up. Also no airconditioning in the room so it was painfully hot in the room during August heat. Service was good and rooms clean. Towels looked a bit worn but nothing to complain.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiubovEgorova, Manager at Hotel Melantrich, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Riude,

Thank you for your opinion, it is very important for us. I am glad, that you were satisfied with our service and cleanliness of the room. You are right, it is a bit noisy in rooms which face the street especially during summer, but this is the price for staying in very centre of Prague. Also the majority of rooms faces a yard and it is more quiet there.
As for towels, we regularly renew them, but I will pay more attention on it

Best regards,

Liubov Egorova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a great stay at this Hotel when we were in Prague. Our receptionists (Egorova and Jaroslav) were most accommodating, the rates were great, the room was clean, and the location was great--would "highly" recommend. Great customer service and breakfast, too!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Gary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiubovEgorova, Manager at Hotel Melantrich, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Gary Z,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback after your stay at Melantrich hotel.
I hope to welcome you again in our hotel during your next visit to Prague.

Best regards,

Liubov Egorova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for about 4 days.. This was the best combination of a hotel with good breakfast, neat and comfortable rooms and located in the most central location and still not loud at night... It's hardly 2-3 mins walk from the astronomical clock.. Connected from airport directly with the bus and metro.. Everything was at a walking distance from this hotel.. This is at a totally unbeatable location. We visited it in summers and they do not have air conditioners in rooms but on pre-placed request, they had arranged for an Air conditioner already placed in the room. The rooms was quite comfortable and spacious by European standards. The only thing they can improve in their rooms is the curtains.. Though there are double curtains but they could not block the street lights at night.. We had to put up pins and had a hard time blocking the light coming from outside.. That is it.. Apart from that.. Perfect stay.!!!

Room Tip: Choose the ones they have in the new block.. I think they are bigger and new as compared to the othe...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aisha_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiubovEgorova, Manager at Hotel Melantrich, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear guest,

I appreciate your kind note and pleased to read the high rated review of your visit. I did not work at Melantrich hotel in August 2012 yet, but I hope to welcome you during your next visit to Prague.

Kind regards,
Liubov Egorova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in Hotel Melantrich in the middle of Old Town Square Prague. The rate was excellent. There are no elevators, but I knew this prior to my arrival and as such, I was prepared. I only brought a small back pack. Wifi is free and fast. The room was very spacious.

Getting around Prague from this location, is just beyond perfect. I was able to stay out and enjoy the square and all that the night life had to offer a solo traveller. I didn't have to worry about getting back to my hotel or about being safe.

Room Tip: Stay here. Don't expect a modern hotel, however, having most of the tourist attractions within w...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiubovEgorova, Manager at Hotel Melantrich, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Terry J,

I am very glad to read your positive review from your stay at hotel Melantrich***. Thank you for taking time to share you opinion.
We all hope to welcome you again at our hotel during your next visit to Prague.

Best regards,

Liubov Egorova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here because the hotel we'd booked was inaccessible due to the floods, so had no idea what to expect - it was just the first good-value place we could find that had rooms. We were so lucky! The location was superb (and a few doors down from Country Life, a fantastic veggie buffet place so I ate really well!), and the hotel itself was fine. All areas were really clean, the wifi was fast and reliable, the bedrooms were well-equipped with shiny clean bathrooms. The service was great, really helpful and friendly, and there were nice touches like a spot for leaving Bookcrossing (or other) books. They also organise pre-priced transfers for you e.g. for getting back to the airport.

Only two oddities (hardly faults, but good to know): the entrance clearly signs you up the stairs, but we tried the lift anyway as we had cases, and ended up at a doctors! Take the stairs :) Also, the curtains didn't have rails all the way across, so you can't fully shut them. It means the rooms are lighter than I'm used to at night (I like blackout curtains), but it didn't bother me as much as I thought it might. The positives were more important, and I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiubovEgorova, Manager at Hotel Melantrich, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in Melantrich hotel. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our location and service.
Please let me reply to the remarks you mentioned.
As for the entrance, you are right, the best is to fallow signs and take stairs to come to reception.
Also windows in all hotel rooms are equipped with translucent curtains as well as with blackout curtains. These blackout curtains are hidden behind the translucent curtains. It is the pity that you have not contacted the receptionist for advice or help.
Looking forward to welcome you again in Melantrich hotel.

Sincerely,

Liubov Egorova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Melantrich for four nights and found it to be good value for money for a 3 star hotel in the perfect location, 2 min walk from the old town square.
The decor of the rooms needs updating but the rooms were clean and spacious for2 people which we think is more important.
The entrance to the hotel is not obvious from the street and you need to walk up several flights of stairs to get to the reception, then walk up mor stairs to get to your room, so if you have heavy luggage, be warned.

Reception staff were friendly and gave us maps etc to help us on our way.
The breakfast that's included each morning is average and we skipped it after the first morning, but again, can't complain for the price we paid.

The pillows were flat and almost non existent, which didn't help our sleeping. Our room was inward facing and looked into a central area with no view, but avoided any street noise.
Would we stay here again? probably yes, considering location and nightly rate, but eat out for breakfast..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiubovEgorova, Manager at Hotel Melantrich, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Matthew,

thank you for taking time to post your opinion about hotel Melantrich*** on tripadvisor.com. The feedback is very important for us.
Kind regards,

Liubov Egorova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#135 of 648 in Prague
478 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Dar
Hotel Dar
#280 of 648 in Prague
201 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
At the Old Lady (U stare pani)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#72 of 648 in Prague
723 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leon D'Oro
Hotel Leon D'Oro
#214 of 648 in Prague
953 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Prague Golden Age
Prague Golden Age
#276 of 648 in Prague
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melantrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melantrich

Address: Melantrichova 504/5 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#166 Family Hotel in Prague
#172 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $62 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melantrich 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Melantrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melantrich Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing