We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice service”
Review of Hotel Melantrich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Melantrich
Ranked #190 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, nice service”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The best location for those who want to spend the night out in the old town. Comfortable walking distance from all Old Town attractions, calm, courteous staff, satisfying and hearty breakfast included. The room was spacy and the bed was comfortable. We were there at the end of October, the central heating was on and the room was a little warm in the morning, but at least we weren't cold. In the night, the heating pipes were a bit noisy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Technogracia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    288
    79
    18
    5
See reviews for
56
294
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

As the trip advisor goes from average to very good I plumped for average but it really rates a 'good' rating but not a very good rating.
The good points are a fantastic central location that would be hard to beat.
Reliable free wi-fi available in the rooms as well as reception area.
Shower though a bit small had a strong plentiful supply of hot water.
Bad points are its not really a three star hotel. Basic amenities and rooms that really need a make over. That said I would recommend it for a short stay as you only need to sleep there and it offers a great location. Would have been nice if they had offered coffee at times other than at breakfast though.

Room Tip: I had a room on the ground floor. OK at the start of the week but loud music heard from the nearby d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hotel Melantrich has a terrific location, just at the entrance to the Old City as you arrive from Wenceslas Square (which is the direction you arrive from if you are walking from the train station-an easy, downhill, scenic, 1/2 mile-ish walk.) The entrance is a bit odd: Thru a door, down a hallway, buzz thru door, up a staircase, around the corner, turn right and you're at the front desk. The good part of this, one would reason, is that there shouldn't be any 'riff raff' off the street just wandering thru the lobby taking things. One would think. That leads me to the 'Bad Part' of my review. (Read on. There is a 'Good Part'). I stayed here for two nights with a friend and his son and girlfriend. 2 rooms. The first morning, we were greeted by construction on the front side of the hotel (Hotel remodeling) so we asked to be moved (just one room) to the quiet side. The desk said yes, just bring your bags down to the desk and we'll take them to the room later when the room has been cleaned. Flash forward. We come back to the hotel that evening after a magical day (probably the norm) in Prague and find the bags have not been moved to the room, and only my bag is still behind the front desk. My friend's bag, which included a MacBook Pro computer, was nowhere to be found. Not good. Long story short, the manager was called, the police were called, a report was made, and very little hope was given for the recovery of his bag. And it never was.
Here's the redemption part: the manager, a young man. . . 30-ish, was incredibly engaged in the process and did everything he could to help with the matter. He sat and watched hours of video tape of the desk, helped with the police, etc. And eventually comped our rooms. I don't think it was just lip service. Sometimes hotels go through their 'Oh yes, we're very concerned about you and your property' routine, but all they're really concerned about is covering their own butts. This was not the case here. I wish I could recall his name, because this guy was hotel management at it's best. He came close to making a bad situation acceptable.
OK, so he was good. The rest of the 'Good Part': rooms were nice. sort of old world style. Location, as I said, is prime. And the breakfast, included in the price I paid at least, served in the cozy lobby, was delicious and plentiful. Oh, and free Wi-Fi in the lobby area. (Although I'm thinkin' someone spotted the MacBook Pro at work earlier that first day. . . just a thought.)

Room Tip: Our first room, which had 2 beds, was small and the beds were pushed together like a queen size bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawncago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hotel is centrally situated in old part of tow, walking distance to old square and astrological clock. The hotel room was small but comfortable. The staff were very friendly, chatty , smiling and helpful. The hoitel entrance was somewhat of a disappointment. While the name was displyed on the wall of the building, it was difficult to know where the nentrance was. in fact, I had to ring the hotel to see if I was in the right place. I was, one has to enter a dimly lit corridor with no signs and press a buzzer as if entering an apartment block. Inside, there was no indication where reception was. I guessed the first floor, took the lift, no sign of reception. A resident then told me to go down one flight of stairs to reception. Sure enough, there was the pleasant girl on reception. I was glad to see her! Nice hotel, but please, sort out the entrance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

It was one of the highlights of our holiday in early September 2012. When my wife and I arrived at this hotel, we were shocked by the size of the room they gave us, it's huge! Besides a big bedroom, there was a spacious living room, dining room, pantry, bathroom and toilet. Rooms were clean and comfortable, especially bedroom. The location of this hotel is fantastic, most of the famous tourism spots are nearby, you can reach them in short walking distance. On the last day of our stay we needed to checkout at 6am and we were packed with a bag of wholesome breakfast from the hotel. The whole experience was really beyond our expectation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hengky_Stephano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Top location!!
Dont worry about the a little dogy looking entrance. 
Yes, the decor is dated and some of the furniture could be replaced. 
But with that location and that price; go for it. 
Breakfast was totally fine too. 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Blue_Sea_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Loved this place! I was skeptical when I saw the entrance of the hotel/offices/residences and what ever else was there in the building but the hotel was really great. Walking distance to everything, great staff and nice breakfast (simple but good). Rooms were clean and comfortable. Really can’t find any negatives. City is amazing, people are friendly, just watch out for the taxi drivers they will rob you for what ever they can!

Room Tip: try to get a room on a higher floor as people that are on the first floor on the inside sometmes go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank b0ki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#127 of 649 in Prague
465 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Prague Golden Age
Prague Golden Age
#290 of 649 in Prague
171 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Betlem Club
Betlem Club
#268 of 649 in Prague
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leon D'Oro
Hotel Leon D'Oro
#208 of 649 in Prague
940 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
At the Old Lady (U stare pani)
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Dar
Hotel Dar
#279 of 649 in Prague
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melantrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melantrich

Property: Hotel Melantrich
Address: Melantrichova 504/5 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#166 Family Hotel in Prague
#172 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melantrich 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Melantrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melantrich Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing