We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
Ranked #50 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I just came back from a 3 night break in Prague. We stayed in this hotel and found it to be very good. On arrival we were offered to upgrade to an executive room for an extra 30 Euro per night. As we were not planning to spend much time in the hotel, we rejected the offer. The normal room was perfectly good: clean, nice bathroom and very comfortable bed. It could have done with a coat hanger of some kind, but that's not a big deal. There was a kettle in the room and free tea and coffee. If you wanted to use the hotel WIFI there was an extra charge.

The location is perfect. Less than 5 minute walk from the Municipal concert house and the Powder Tower. After that, within another 5 minutes you can be in the Old Town Square. Right next to the hotel, there's a big shopping mall, if you fancy doing some shopping while in Prague.


The hotel rate included breakfast in the amazing art deco restaurant. The breakfast buffet included all the typical things: cereals, breads, pastries, meats and cheeses and also you could have omelettes made to order. Really, there was nothing missing.

The hotel has a sauna and steam room, but these was not pointed to us on arrival. We only discovered it after flicking through the facilities book in the room.

To get there from the airport, we used the company Prague Airport Transfers, and took advantage of their excellent free walking tour. (review to come). The transfer took about 1/2 hour at the most.

So, overall I thing this hotel is excellent, but I am giving it a 4* because I think that nowadays there's no reason not to have free wifi in a hotel of these category.

Room Tip: If you don't like to sleep with the heating on, make sure you take the wooden cover of the radia...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal24London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,877)
There are newer reviews for Art Deco Hotel Imperial
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,637 - 1,643 of 2,877 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 5 days in a standard room on the 5th floor. The room was rather small but with big windows (we had partial view of the castle which was great at night!) and very bright, just as we like it. It was cosy and warm and kept clean during the stay. The bathroom was clean, just had an issue with the bathtub because it's a bit elevated and can be tricky to climb off with wet feet.The bed was super comfortable. We had actually booked the romance package which included some extra services, that went pretty well. The limo service was on time at the airport and the driver very friendly although not very talkative. The dinner at the a la carte restaurant was also great, the portions are big but all plates very tasty. The fruit and sparkling wine was placed in room before us, but probably a lot sooner since the ice had melt. And the late check out was well appreciated because we had more time for shopping. We did use the concierge service as well: the lady was helpfull but not very attentive and always in a rush looking over our shoulder. Staff was ok but nothing more than that. The location of the hotel is ideal, a close walk to all sites, next to the metro and the Millenium mall. I would stay there again in the future but I would appreciate a friendlier attitude from the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Spent 3 nites here 3/17-3/20 in an executive room- which was spacious and very clean. Bed was comfy, shower worked well, there was a nice sitting area and 2 very large windows. Since it was an executive room - free wifi.

the hotel itself was quite clean and had some nice art deco touches-stained glass too.

Breakfast was excellent- had pretty much everything you could ask for and they served until 1030. the dining room was beautiful with many art deco touches.

location- perfect- less than 10 minute walk to old town square.

had a little celebration for 7 in the hotel lounge area- it was the one part of the hotel that was not art deco- but the space was fine as was the service.

had dinner our first nite at the restaurant- food was very tasty, not too expensive ( we find most hotel restaurants are very expensive- this was not) with nice service in a lovely space.

would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank z235e49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlankaAtImperial, Director of Sales at Art Deco Hotel Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Guest thank you for such a lovely review on your stay. Only the weather could have been a little warmer for this time of year, I know. We are looking forward to having you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We are a couple in our 40s and stayed at the Art Deco Imperial Hotel while visiting the old city of Prague over a long weekend. The room was clean, quiet, comfortable and nicely decorated, room service was very good (the quality of the food was better than in some restaurants in the town) and the staff were very polite and helpful. Transport to/from the airport with the hotel limousine was inexpensive and professional.

One should also mention that the cafe inside the hotel serves excellent cakes and coffee/tea in a lovely art deco surrounding. The hotel has immediate access to trams (e.g. for visiting the Prague castle) and is a 10-15' walk from the old Prague town centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tasis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. But what were they thinking of when I asked them to book a taxi to a local restaurant, and instead we got a limo? (The driver helpfully explained that we could sign the inflated fare to our room.) They outwitted us for a few quid and we didn't trust them over the slightest thing from then on. I advise you stay somewhere else in the hope that they're even slightly honest...

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the front - the trams will destroy any chance of a good night's sleep.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlankaAtImperial, Director of Sales at Art Deco Hotel Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. We actually try to prevent guest‘s unpleasant experiences with some local unreliable taxi companies by running our own hotel limousine services. However rates are set and always available in advance. Your journey to the restaurant across the city cost CZK 350 (14 Euro) which is adequate to the distance. It is a shame you felt pushed into something you did not want but there was always an option to ask for a local operator which you had not requested.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in an executive room, ask for a quiet side of the hotel, it really is very quiet, no tram noise. Exec room was great, very comfortable, nicely furnished, free wifi access included. Bathroom was marble, bath and shower and immaculately clean. Therea are tea making facilities and a coffee maker (but the coffee was not good.) Staff are very helpful and polite, excellent service, a really credit to the hotel. We liked the little bar in the hotel, friendly and personable bar-tender. Location is 5 minute walk from Old Square. Buffet breakfast was included, but not really 5 star, the cooked elements were very tired by 9am, fresh fruit was either over-ripe or under-ripe. The omlettes cooked to order were very good. The gym was well fitted out, but no water in the dispensor, despite a staff member coming to check the gym and the sauna was out of order. The whole style of the hotel is art deco/nouveau, and all very fresh and clean. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We heard people commenting that they could not sleep for the tram noise.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FerretUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Booked a 3 night stay via Lastminute.com at a bargain price and not the least bit disappointed. Beautiful hotel, our room was perfect, spacious and immaculately clean and no problems sleeping. Breakfast was superb and available until 10.30am (hallelujah !), lots to choose from and something for every taste/palette. Ate in the restaurant one night and although the food was nice, it didn't blow me away. Waiter was very helpful with my wine choice (chose a Czech wine which was very nice as I thought the "imported" wines were overpriced) and he was very attentive and polite. Couldn't fault the staff at all, nothing was too much trouble and they were all very helpful and polite and a pleasure to deal with. The bar area lacks a bit of atmosphere but the bar staff were very nice and made a mean Long Island Iced Tea lol. Used the hotel limousine 3 times and worth every penny, it was cheaper to use it to go up to the Castle and also for the return journey to the airport. Loved Prague and wouldn't hesitate to go back, beautiful city and very reasonable price wise for a capital city. One word of advice for any ladies thinking of going........it's not stiletto friendly as almost all pavements and roads are cobbled, so definitely pack your flats for walking about and if you're taking your Jimmy Choos........take a taxi !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morsy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Cosmopolitan Hotel Prague
Cosmopolitan Hotel Prague
#35 of 648 in Prague
356 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#49 of 648 in Prague
2,022 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#45 of 648 in Prague
1,773 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#29 of 648 in Prague
1,143 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#41 of 648 in Prague
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Imperial

Address: Na Porici 1072/15, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Prague
#27 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#38 Family Hotel in Prague
#46 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $141 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Deco Hotel Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Hotel is a luxurious choice of Art Deco accommodation. Centrally located 5* property in historic ambiance of an original building from 1914. The magnificent rooms of Cafe Imperial boast exquisite ceramic mosaics, the tile-decorated walls and pillars overflowing with rich floral and animal ornamentation. All 126 elegant rooms with historic high ceilings offer high-speed internet, safe, mini-bar, flat screens and marble bathrooms with heated mirrors and floors, bathrobes & slippers. Complimentary Internet, Fitness & Wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Imperial Prague
Hotel Art Deco Imperial

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing