We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun stay in a very special hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
Ranked #50 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spectacular interiors , hidden in a depressing grey building on a very ordinary street. Don't miss it, completely restored Art Deco interior... every inch covered. If you don't stay here at least have dinner. Reservations a must!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesignNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,877)
There are newer reviews for Art Deco Hotel Imperial
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,766 - 1,772 of 2,877 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We are a member of worldwide machinery groups Caterpillar and Zeppelin. In April we held Caterpillar Strategic Worldwide Meeting in Art Deco Imperial Hotel. All participants have very satisfied with accommodation, meeting rooms, catering and the other services, incl. specific restaurant requirements.
We recommend Art Deco Imperial Hotel to all our foreign visitors and partners not only for accommodation, but for personal or business meetings in beautiful mood too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A great hotel, excellent rooms, friendly and helpful staff. The famous Cafe, where we had breakfast, is the best example of Art Deco and Art Nouveau styling in Prague. The Cafe is open for everyone during the day so we could truly enjoy the atmosphere of the city! The Imperial is also in a great location, only a few minutes' walk to the old town square and republic square with subway and great shopping mall...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed three nights at this amazing hotel and we were very happy with the services we get. The room was nice equipped with an amazing view toward the Prague Castle!!! AMAZING!!!! Delicious breakfast, unique atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Art Deco Imperial offered a nice stay for a six days vacation for a reasonable amount of money.

The hotel is located just about 10 minutes walk (or about 1,1 km) from the Prague old town square, so most of the city is easily within walking distance.

The building's architecture and decour are beautiful. It is actually smaller inside and less grandiose than it appears on pictures on the hotel's website, This also means after a while there's a very cozy and intimate atmosphere, when the staff remembers your preferred drinks at the bar etc.

Their breakfast, lunch and dinner restaurant Café Imperial seems to be a popular place to meet for tourists and local businesspeople. Our reservation included a terrific buffet breakfast there. I enjoyed good coffee, juices, freshly baked breads, different types of cold cuts (for example ham and salmon). several kinds of cheese, very good yoghurt, bacon, eggs, fried omelette etc. However, there wasn't much variety in the selection during those six days.

We booked a basic Deluxe room on their website with airport transfers, because we had read taxis in Prague can be unreliable. This was a good service for 1500 CZK (about 61 euros) from the airport to the hotel and back to the airport. Our driver was already waiting outside the luggage claim area when we arrived.

There are just a few details I could complain about. If you stay in a basic Deluxe room, you have to pay an outrageous price for using the wireless network in your room, 60 euros a day or so. I heard their bigger rooms (which are significantly more expensive) also include the wireless Internet (WiFi) service. So my advice is to check this in advance if Internet access is a must.

This didn't ruin my trip, because you get one hour of internet access at the lobby when having breakfast or when you drink something at tbe bar. I was on vacation, so this was enough for me. However, it was a bit awkward to keep asking that password on a piece of paper several times a day.

The lobby bar was a bit expensive too. for example two glasses of red wine and an espresso café cost 375 Czech Korunas (about 15 euros), at least compared to the local price level in Prague. But I wouldn't mind, because there are nice bars and restaurants quite nearby.

It's worth noting the images on hotel's website seem to represent the larger rooms. Our basic deluxe room on the 5th floor was very small. We got a room with a shower (as requested), but there was also a bath tub, so the combined bath and toilet room was very cramped. I almost had to get in there sideways and I still kept myself to somewhere.

The hotel staff felt businesslike polite, but not always overly friendly. I guess they were reserved, because we were just regular tourists who found an affordable deal online.

Room Tip: Check if you can get a room that includes WiFi, if you need to work in your room. They charge an out...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tero Lehto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel deserves all the great comments. I have stayed there for many times as I am a regular guest and I really like the hotel. The staff is always very friendly and is able to assist you in all unexpected situations. I always have a nice room... The only negative is, that there is no pool, but the hotel is historical property and in Prague, there are better ways how to spend your time!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room in the courtyard, they are absolutely quiet...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed at the Imperial hotel three nights. We decided to stay here because of the unique interior and also because of the great comments we saw on this webiste - Trip Advisor. I really enjoyed the large and well equiped room with a coffee maker, daily turn down service and especially the delicious breakfast at the café with extremely high cellars. I would love to come back soon...

Room Tip: Book a high floor and get a nice view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olavi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Cosmopolitan Hotel Prague
Cosmopolitan Hotel Prague
#35 of 648 in Prague
356 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#49 of 648 in Prague
2,022 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#45 of 648 in Prague
1,773 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#29 of 648 in Prague
1,143 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#41 of 648 in Prague
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Imperial

Address: Na Porici 1072/15, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Prague
#27 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#38 Family Hotel in Prague
#46 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $141 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Deco Hotel Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Hotel is a luxurious choice of Art Deco accommodation. Centrally located 5* property in historic ambiance of an original building from 1914. The magnificent rooms of Cafe Imperial boast exquisite ceramic mosaics, the tile-decorated walls and pillars overflowing with rich floral and animal ornamentation. All 126 elegant rooms with historic high ceilings offer high-speed internet, safe, mini-bar, flat screens and marble bathrooms with heated mirrors and floors, bathrobes & slippers. Complimentary Internet, Fitness & Wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Imperial Prague
Hotel Art Deco Imperial

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing