We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lavish Art Deco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
Ranked #47 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lavish Art Deco”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed at the Imperial at the end of June 2012, travelling solo.

I want to get this out of the way first and foremost. One thing I noted in the negative reviews here, is that the staff has been unfriendly and unhelpful. This could not be in more stark contrast to my experience. For me, the staff was fantastically helpful and generous in answering questions.

Locationwise the Imperial is perfectly situated. You can get everywhere quickly either by foot or by tram, and finding my way from the airport was quite easy. Protip though: Only take the 1.1.1. or AAA taxis from the airport, as other smaller companies are likely to inflate their prices and fleece you. You will also be able to get a discount on the return trip to the airport.

The room itself was absolutely spotless, but I will say this: Unless you really like the art deco style (as I do), you will probably have issues with the visual of the Imperial. If you do enjoy art deco, you are in for a treat. The style is prevalent eveywhere, from the lobby to the café, from the hallways to the bar.

The bed was large and very comfortable, just the right balance between hard and soft.

I had requested a smoking room away from the street, and the hotel was quite able to accomodate my wishes.

The edge to the shower/bathtub was a bit high, which was not a problem for a tall lanky fellow like myself, but I imagine it may be an issue for shorter folk.

I hung out quite a lot in the bar, and both of the gentlemen manning it were polite, quick, and mixed excellent cocktails.

I also had dinner in the Imperial Café one night which was also fantastic. I had pleasant banter with the waiter, and he was eager to ensure that everything was satisfactory.

I can also highly recommened choosing to include breakfast. Opposed to others I did not find it at all crowded (perhaps because I usually eat breakfast at around 9:30?), and I found the variety of food and drink quite good. Try the mini pancakes, they were delicious.

The concierge was effective in helping me to book the tour I wanted, but I have to say, be careful with booking a tour with "Premiant Tours" that the hotel recommends. I went on two tours with them, and on one tour our guide had to say everything in both Italian and English (and his English was not too good, I must say), which made the whole experience feel rushed. The other time, our guide spoke in such monotonous tone I felt like she was trying to hyponotize us. It was not the most positive experience for me.

There were few negatives with the Imperial, but there were indeed some. Apparently there was some sort of construction work going on at the hotel, so one morning I woke up to a bald constructing worker standing on some scaffolding right outside my window. It would have been nice, and courteous might I add, of the hotel staff to have informed me of this possibility.

The only other negative that I can think of would be the mini bar in the room. I usually clear it out so I can put my own drinks and foodstuff in there, but at the Imperial they use an electronic system to see what you have taken out. The space in the fridge that is provided for guest use is simply too small, and I found it rather annoying. Not to mention that the whole "We're keeping track" thing suggest they do not trust their guests. It was odd, to say the least.

But overall, I would absolutely stay at the Imperial again. I'd give it 9/10.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the building. The noise from the trams can be a bit bothersome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSkyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,955
    613
    118
    27
    12
See reviews for
324
1,675
98
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012

a good hotel. nice and reach decor. the straff was very helpfull. can arrange every means of visit or trnasportaiton or food needs. the location is very good for touring the old parts of the city.
the breakfast is quite poor. espresso is not included.
internet cost extra money unless you use it during breakfact or in the bar.

Room Tip: use public transportation when needed. for instance, to get to the airport it cost us only 180 Kcz i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itzik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

One of the best hotels I have staid in! Not only is the decor itself amazing but the location and staff were both great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This elegant place had it all. Great room with 2 bathrooms for a $30 upgrade over the pre-booked river cruise package, excellent restaurant, and wonderful service. My wife had a minor medical emergency, and the concierge made all the arrangements to get her to a doctor quickly and smoothly. The wi-fi worked perfectly, which should be the rule, but asn't always the case.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClassOf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

According to the hotel....a five star hotel.
It'isn't in comparison with Four Seasons even the Hilton is better. The breakfast is mediocre.
Everything is there and a lot of choice, but not first class. Orange juice isn't fres, croissants are small and no Ok
No bell boy, nothing special. Small rooms and you have to pay for everything.
Internet isn't free either.
I think it's a good three star hotel...but not worth 200 euro per night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ercordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes,Fife,Scotland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We enjoyed a thoroughly good weekend at the Imperial. The service is excellent from the time I booked in January to our visit on 8th June. This was a special occasion for us and I had told my wife we were staying at the same place (The Brixen) when I last visited Prague in 2006 for football purposes to watch Hearts play Sparta Prague, so I informed the hotel of my little secret and they went along with it giving us a nice high floor room on the side of the hotel with views towards Prague Castle. We used the hotel limo service for airport transfers and the hotel sent a top of the range E class Mercedes which started of the weekend perfectly and upon our arrival at the Imperial the surprise was even turned on me when after swiflty checking in we were taken to our upgraded room which also had complimentary Champagne and strawberries!

The room itself was good size with large comfortable bed, large TV (handy for Euro 2012!). There is a mini bar but we didn't use it. The bathroom again a good size, nice style but the bath panel is a touch high so take care getting in and out. Great powerful shower so no complaints at all. Thought I had taken a photo of room but hadn't so only bathroom and strawberry photos!

Breakfasts are taken in the restaurant, they were plentiful and always well stocked we generally had breakfast about 0945 or so and always plenty to choose. You can ask for fried eggs at the omlette station if you wish.

We had one meal in the restaurant on the Saturday evening. I thought approx £62 for 3 courses each and bottle of wine was good value for a restaurant of this quality and very,very good meals they were indeed.

There is a small lounge bar. Petr the barman is helpful in selecting background music and also showing football on the TV! Complimentary internet and printing is available on the right hand side of reception.

The hotel oozes quality and class, it is very decorative and creates a lovely ambience is in a good location as mentioned in other reviews, there is also a Lidl supermarket about 50 yards left (as you exit) from hotel. 2 bottles of lovely wine and bottle of water £3.20!!
I found most beers in the City (except old town square) were around £1.50 and £2 or so for vodka/coke or so. Very reasonable for a city (mind you it was only 75p a pint in 2006!)

We attended a show in the State Opera House, it is a stunning venue. We did a lunch river cruise and it was a very pleasant way to spend a couple of hours, you get your own table and the large picture window lets you see everything if you can't go outside if raining. The food was very good and the boat itself immaculately kept, including large toilets.

We did same as an earlier reviewer and after checking out on the Monday (the baggage room is opposite reception and receipts given) we took the hotel car (a merc, what else would you get!) to Prague Castle walked around the lovely buildings saw the changing of the guard, saw the blackened statue of the man in the courtyard, on way down to viewing point ,who has a particular part which is gold!

We walked back to hotel via some of the sights we had already seen but very pleasant it was again. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, lovely hotel with friendly professional staff. Thanks for a really good stay, we would not hesitate to recommend the Art Deco Imperial and have actually done so already.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid hearing early morning tram noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeandSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at Art Deco Imperial Hotel for four nights and found the staff friendly and helpful even arranging a box breakfast for us to take on our early morning flight out. Lovely art deco hotel. Arranging hotel transfer to the airport at 3am was appreciated as we felt safe and the driver was extremely helpful. Would stay here again as great location and easy walking distance to see the attractions and restaurants. Value for price paid.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank JeanCIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#50 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Cosmopolitan Hotel Prague
Cosmopolitan Hotel Prague
#30 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Kings Court
Hotel Kings Court
#52 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,773 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#46 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Imperial

Property: Art Deco Hotel Imperial
Address: Na Porici 1072/15, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Prague
#27 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#39 Family Hotel in Prague
#44 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Deco Hotel Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Hotel is a luxurious choice of Art Deco accommodation. Centrally located 5* property in historic ambiance of an original building from 1914. The magnificent rooms of Cafe Imperial boast exquisite ceramic mosaics, the tile-decorated walls and pillars overflowing with rich floral and animal ornamentation. All 126 elegant rooms with historic high ceilings offer high-speed internet, safe, mini-bar, flat screens and marble bathrooms with heated mirrors and floors, bathrobes & slippers. Complimentary Internet, Fitness & Wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Imperial Prague
Hotel Art Deco Imperial

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing