We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant at Pension Vetrnik: newly opened and excellent”
Review of Pension Vetrnik

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Vetrnik
Ranked #38 of 358 Prague B&B and Inns
Praha
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Restaurant at Pension Vetrnik: newly opened and excellent”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Newly opened restaurant and pension. Followed by a pair of elderly guests from England, we have spent a very pleasant evening in the restaurant. The meals are traditional, best quality, good choice, menu in English available. The restaurand is decorated in a traditional style (the building is a former windmill). Good choice of beer and other beverages. Friendly and helpfull personnel. Good pricing. I recommend to everyone to see it! Please find it on a map, the access is somehow hidden by newer and not very nice buildings of students dormitories and a fitness center. Sorry for writing a review to the Pensions/hotels but the restaurant is not registered yet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
39
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Pension Vetrnik was easily the highlight of our trip to Prague. The old mill had a wonderful sense of history. My husband and I took the 'apartment' room, which was very comfortable-- too big for our needs really. Our hosts Milos and Blanka were chatty and helpful. Guests could purchase tram tickets to the old town from them directly, which was a great touch. There's ample parking space on the gated property, which is great for travelers with cars. Downtown just a short tram ride away. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

You can believe the good reviews. We picked this hotel based on the reviews and were not disappointed. Friendly people. Nice atmosphere and a great breakfast included. GPS took us there but we could not find our way in. We found that you should use the walk-in gate and ask them to open the car gate. Free Wi-Fi in the room works well. Easy to get downtown. The tram is across the street and the hotel will sell you tickets.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKearns53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londra
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Come back a few days ago from the lovely Prague, one of my favourite journey ever! I chose the Vetrnik Pension thanks to the previous exellent reviews and I wasn't disappointed. This old mill stands out from an otherwise anonymous block of sovietic buildings and is a sweet jump in History. Milos and Blanca provide a warm welcoming atmosphere (despite the freezing cold of the season!) and make sure that you feel comfortable in every way. Me and my dad were the only guest for the weekend so you can imagine how spoiled we were! Milos is a wonderful cook (try the pork and the homemade potatoes croquettes!), he lit up the fireplace for us and kept us company with anecdots while we were eating. Don't ask him about Communism though!!
Nice room (good space and clean), lovely features all around (beams, comfy armchairs and a flowery smell on the corridors and down the wooden strairs), free internet wireless, wide parking space (a must for us since we were travelling by car). I will defenetely go back there if (when!) I'll visit Prague in the future.
I can't honestly give 5 stars because, despite the very good feeling that this place left me, we had to "fight" a bit about dinner. I'll explain: dinner is served between 6 and 7.30, so ideally they want you to sit at the table by 6.30 to make sure that by 7.30 you are done. I understand that Milos is not a young fellow anymore and wants to go to bed early, but we are italians, not used to eat that early in the evening. So we ended up having dinner there when we arrived but the next day in the town center instead. No big deal, I just think it'd be convenient for both them and the guests to push dinner time a bit forward (tipically in italian resturants dinner is served between 7 and 9), also because there is no much to do in the area so once you are back at the pension all is left to do after dinner is going to bed. It's really a shame to skip dinner there, the living room so warm and cosy, with the nice beams and the fireplace, Milos's company... and food was delicious too!
I suggest this place for a romantic trip or anyway a quiet retreat, maybe is just not the best for a group of young people because you have to get the tram to reach the town center (20 minutes); not big deal during the day but if you wish to stay out late at night hunging out in pubs be aware that the tram service to go back stops around midnight. Me and my dad are quiet people though, so for us wasn't an issue!
Vetrnik Pension is a very personal experience, it was one of the highlights of our holiday.

Room Tip: The pension is in a private park, so all rooms are very quiet. You can ask for a "suite"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea
Level Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful B&B for 3 nights this November. Pension Vetrnik is located in a gated-off area with lots of greenery, but don't be confused - it is conveniently inside city limits! Our GPS got a little off-course and took us to an area behind the property, but we found it within a few minutes. (TIP: if your navigation system takes you to a dead-end jogging path, simply go around the block and approach from the other side, and it's right there.)

The property is unique and has a wonderful history, which Blanka was nice enough to share with us. Our rooms were clean and the showers were spacious by European standards. There was plenty of closet space in the freestanding wardrobe. Beds were comfortable enough. The common areas and dining room were lovely. Breakfast is just fantastic, we couldn't say enough good things about it. Fresh fruit, musli and yogurt, juice, rolls, cooked-to-order omelettes, coffee, etc.

The location is perfect for those who are driving to Prague. Your car is safely stored within the gated property, and you can take the tram (3 min walk) into the old town (15 minute ride). Blanka was nice enough to provide us with the tram tickets each morning, and we just paid her at checkout. Very convenient. She also gave us a small coin with the Pension Vetrnik logo imprinted on it upon checkout - a cute souvenir to remember a wonderful stay! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincy814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I often look for a unique property when I'm traveling and Pension Vetrnik fits the bill! We were told that it was originally the first windmill in Prague and has been renovated to offer comfortable accommodations and a unique glimpse of local history. This small B&B is located in the outskirts of Prague and provides easy access via public transportation (tram) to key areas for sightseeing within Prague. Blanka made us feel right at home and be sure to ask her about the history fo the property. In addition to the made-to-order breakfast included with the room, Blanka offered delicious, cozy fireside dinners after long days of sight seeing and provided personalized instruction on using public transportation. We are able to purchase tram tickets at the B&B which was very helpful. If you purchase a bottle of wine at the local supermarket (a 5 minute walk), Blanka will provide a bottle opener and glasses. I can't say enough about the level of personalized service, which also included laundry service if needed. The grounds and gardens are lovely, include a tennis court and there is plenty of parking. It may be a bit tricky to locate if you are driving as it's tucked away in a wooded area, however, well worth the effort. It is located on the same side of the city as the airport, which is very convenient. This B&B is a great value and offers a warm, welcoming, peaceful and quiet respite from the hustle and bustle of a busy vacation activities. I would highly recommend the Pension Vetrnik to close friends and would return if visiting Prague again. It is truly a gem!

Room Tip: Rooms are on the second or third floor and I believe all have great views of the courtyard. If climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigby, Idaho
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on a visit to Prague. All the great reviews are true. It is a gem. Would definitely recommend and stay again!

Great location. Easy access to public transit. Great breakfast made to order.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WesternTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Hotel Adalbert
Hotel Adalbert
#280 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Praha 6
Hotel Marketa
Hotel Marketa
#369 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Praha 6
Avion
Avion
#375 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Vetrnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Vetrnik

Property: Pension Vetrnik
Address: U Vetrniku 40/1, Prague 162 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 6
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 358 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Pension Vetrnik Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing