We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend this hotel for other couples!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Ranked #195 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is a good hotel with very good service! It's romantic and the room is big and beautiful! The staff is polite and knows there job! And the view is so beautiful! When I open my window I can see the Charles bridge!

Room Tip: The room with the view to the Charles bridge
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benedikte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
There are newer reviews for Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 519 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

The hotel is really unique (kind of wierd) but I loved it.

You first must know, is this is not just and hotel. It is an Hotel, a restaurant, and a music club.

The rooms are beatifull with nice ''old bohemian castle'' deco. I had no trouble with loud noises at night. Just one night there were people talking lloudly in the street. but not a big deal really.
(if you are young, you wont care at all)

Hotel staff was pretty helpfull.

The restaurant is just ok, regular czech restaurant food and fair prices.

The music club is in 3 underground levels under the restaurant. There are strippers in the club, this is pretty normal in Prague, but it may be shocking for tourists.

Still really fun to have all this options at the hotel, and can be fun to go the club everynight before going to bed.

something else about this hotel, the location is just GREAT, you are right next to charles bridge, one of the most beatifull views in Prague.

I cant recommend this enough, specially for young couples, you will have a really fun time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinmest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I went to Prague in the beginning of february and I must say that it has been a real pleasure to stay here. The people were friendly, cleaning was fine and the location was just superb! Within a minute we were standing on the Charles bridge and it was about a five minute walk to the Old Town Square. The entire atmosphere of the hotel (including the bar downstairs :D) was amazing. If I ever go back to Prague, I know where I'm staying!

PS, there is no elevator so if you have a bit of bad luck you have to walk some stairs...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSacje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Horrible experience that I had in this hotel. I can't understand how it can be 4 stars. I got a horrible room like a corridor. Impossible to move correctly and no area to put my luggage. I don't think the hotel were fully booked as I saw many room available on internet. I don't understand why they have is such a room. If all the room are like that then they really need to think about changing that.

Fortunately the city of Prague is wonderful which balanced my mood in this city.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkerryohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Having lunch on a student trip.
Really good service and cheap alcohol :)
they are very fast to bring the food and the atmosphere is really cozy.

Really worth a visit. Very good hygiene.
prague is a very nice town..

Feel the good spirit and see all the beautiful buildings.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Neergaard91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

When I arrived at the Hotel U Zlatého Stromu in the middle of the night, looking scuzzy with a large backpack and a sweat built up during my roundabout wander there from the train station, I was simply greeting with a smile and courtesy. I appreciated that, given my trepidation upon entering what seemed like a swank and upscale building. The desk staff’s English was also excellent, which always makes life easier. My appreciation grew as I was shown to my room, which was through an impressive door, along the side of the building, up some stairs and through some gates. I was honestly a little nervous at this roundabout route, and half feared something dingy, but was instead greeted with a luxurious (though small, as expected given its description) room with an inviting bed. The bathroom was huge, and there was a leather chair to sit on as I planned my adventures the next morning. The windows, admittedly, only overlooked the Hotel’s courtyard, which was not an interesting enough scene most of the time to bother looking at. However, since all I had to do was walk out into the street and look left to see the start of Charles Bridge, I found this quite forgivable.

On that note, the location was optimal for sightseeing (and for such a reasonable price!). Step out, turn left, and Charles Bridge awaits, and across it many sites on the other side of the Vltava – including Prague Castle, within a reasonable distance for a walker like myself. Turn right, walk a few steps, and you are in the Old Town Square, which is ground zero for touring most of Prague’s historical sites. Everything is a short walk away, including restaurants, and plenty of absinthe sellers. On that note, the food at the hotel’s restaurant is good, and the breakfast spread is ample. However, even if it does not suit your tastes, other nearby dining and drinking options abound.

On a final note, when considering this location, some reviews warned that it could be noisy due to nearby clubs and such. Perhaps because my days we so full, I found I slept soundly each night. I could occasionally hear some music through the windows, but in my room at least, the volume was quite low.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Everything was great except for the heat in the hotel (but it is roasting everywhere indoors so I guess that is part of the local culture) & the smell of cigarette smoke in the room (again with no smoking ban part off the local culture). Very friendly and helpful staff with good knowledge of English. Clean room with beautiful old furniture and exquisite painted ceiling. Lovely view on side street and the start of Charles Bridge. You cannot be more central. All main city centre attractions are in walking distance. There's some street noise as to be expected in any city centre. A taxi can be hailed near the hotel and prices are low (but watch our for cheats). Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice for everyone. You can also enjoy a lovely dinner there with local specialities on the menu and an extensive cocktail menu. Only thing to watch out for of you are less able: steep stairs and didn't notice a lift. also handles in / near the bath. Also make sure you try to bargain when buying souvenirs, especially garnets and such. Shop around before committing to buy. Prague city centre is lovely around Christmas - lively and with lovely Christmas markets. But dress warmly - it can get very cold.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YolandaBoerema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, Manager at Hotel U Zlateho Stromu, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear YolandaBoerema,

Zlaty Strom would like to thank you for your positive feedback. Our team really appreciates your comments on our service, breakfast quality and overall ambiance. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, showing that we are on the right track to achieving our main goal – making our customers happy. We hope to welcome you again to Zlaty Strom in the near future.

Daniel Holan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Charles Bridge Palace
Charles Bridge Palace
#215 of 648 in Prague
797 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#74 of 648 in Prague
1,529 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Aurus
Aurus
#141 of 648 in Prague
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#125 of 648 in Prague
354 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#135 of 648 in Prague
478 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Liliova Prague Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Zlateho Stromu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Zlateho Stromu

Address: Karlova 6, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#163 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#181 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#196 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $77 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel U Zlateho Stromu 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel U Zlateho Stromu is located in Karlova Street in the Old Town, just a few steps from the Charles Bridge. In this unique location, we offer you luxurious accommodation in 19 double rooms and three apartments. The rooms are original in terms of their dimensions and the style of their furnishings. Many have painted renaissance ceilings. All rooms have a bathroom, toilet, minibar, color TV with satellite channels, telephone with direct line, safety deposit box. Reception and room service are at your disposal 24 hours a day. Covered parking is located approximately 300 m from the hotel. Our restaurant offers leading specialties from both Czech and international cuisine. The roofed atrium with a large sea aquarium offers pleasant seating. The celebrated Music Club is located in the basement, featuring a varied program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel U Zlateho Stromu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Zlateho Stromu Prague
u Zlateho Stromu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing