We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some renovations, but good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Slavia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Slavia
Ranked #543 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Croatia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Needs some renovations, but good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hotel could use some renovation, but all in all, it is not so bad.
I stayed on third floor and our room was ok and spacious, large and comfortable bed, warm, with TV, table, chairs, huge window, enough closets to put your things...Only the carpet and one big chair were old and nasty.
Bathroom was great, newly renovated and very clean, I don't have any complaints about it.
Staff was nice. Breakfast ok.
Hotel is located on the last tram station, but it's not a problem to get to the city centre (maybe it last 20 minutes,I'm not so sure now).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeReila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    51
    80
    36
    37
See reviews for
28
83
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

It surely needs some renovation but it is verry good for it's money. Stayed here a couple of days and everything was ok.
The room was spacios, breakfast was ok, but the same every day. The staff was helpfull. They had a small business center with a computer connected tot he internet in the main lobby.
Not that close from the city center, but you have a tram station wright next to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nis, Serbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went to Prague for Christmas and we stayed here. It's non-smokers hotel with very warm rooms, free Wi-Fi, clean rooms and large enough bathroom. And there was no problem with hot water. We were in room 231. I'm surprised to read that some people are complaining about wet floor in bathroom, because nothing was dripping from our shower. I heard there is no Wi-Fi everywhere, so if you want it, ask for the 1st floor (close to reception). Cleaning lady came every day to vacum the floor, fix our beds and put new soaps and toalet paper if needed.
It's very well conected to city center with tram (20 minutes ride), and you can buy tickets at the reception. Also, you can take 15 minutes walk to metro, and take metro. You have a shopping mall couple of minutes of walk from Slavia hotel, also McDonald's and Tesco market where you can buy everything you need.
Breakfast was ok for that price (juices, coffee, tea, milk, cereals, fruits, butter, jam, cucumbers, some low budget deserts, ham, hot dogs, mustard, ketchup, bread and some local meatish-thing we didn't try).
It's not very well lit in the evening (outside of hotel) but don't worry, it's safe :D
All in all, for a VERY cheap hotel, it's very well worth it. Besides, you will spend do much time outside of hotel, Prague is beautifull.

Room Tip: If you want Wi-Fi ask for a room in a part of a hotel above reception (1st floor would be the best)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SJ1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I was really satisfied with our stay in this hotel. Our room was on the 4th floor, it was clean and warm, the bathroom too. There was hairdrier in the bathroom, and a few packages of shampoo and shower gel too. Towels were changed everyday, so was the trashcan. TV in the room. I read here that some guests had complaints about the noice from other guests. It wasnt so in our case. Maybe it was becouse we were not on the ground floor, or first floor, or, above the reception. Anyway, the breakfast was great too, but coffee and orange juices quality could be improved. Variety of food was there, and everything was fresh and clean. It IS a bit far from the center, but tram stops are nearby, so you can get to the center in 25 mins. Also, you can buy tram tickets at the reception. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NSIvanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sremska Mitrovica, Serbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hotel is in the middle price range, we spent 4 nights in August 2013 here. Hotel needs renovation, walls are very thick, bathroom isn't in the best shape (little advise bring your own towels). I had trouble while trying to make window to stay open, I had neck paint from cushion (made of feather and so thin). Breakfast is good but it's same every day.
Personal is polite, tickets for public transport are available on the reception (price 1 Euro or 24 CZK), hotel is non-smoking (you can smoke outside), wireless is available in the hole.

Overall it's good for your budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank back_passenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitka B, Manager at Hotel Slavia, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your response and we take note of it and try to gradually renovate the hotel. Since mid-September, the wifi connection throughout the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I visited this hotel as part of an InterRail journey and so within my five weeks we stayed in a number of cheap hotels and B&Bs, however this was by far the worst. We arrived at the train station in Prague before beginning our 40 minute journey from the centre of Prague to the hotel. It was rather confusing to find even with the directions from the website (maybe we were just tired from the journey) and there were no signs to give directions around the area even though the hotel is hidden from the main streets. Upon arrival we checked in relatively easy and the receptionist was friendly which is always a bonus. The room at first appeared to be quite good, it was not tiny and it was pretty clean. The first thing we always do when arriving is sort the safety deposit box out, however after following the instructions provided it would not work so we went down to the receptionist who informed us we had a fault and had to fix it (fortunate that she did fix it). After this we each decided to have a shower, the bathroom was fine however there is no shower curtain so the floor quickly becomes soaked and slightly dangerous to slip on. Perhaps the main complaint with this hotel is that there was no air conditioning system even thought it was 30 degrees outside, the room was boiling and uncomfortable so we asked if they had a fan to which a young receptionist was extremely rude and only cared about texting, telling us abruptly that there weren't any. Furthermore, we could not even shut the curtains to keep the room cool because when touched the whole curtain would fall down. We spent a countless amount of time trying to reattach the curtains but it was useless and would fall down anyway throughout Oruro stay even after complaining. We could also not open the window for air as an extremely loud train cold be heard throughout the night outside our window, as well as children. The hotel was full of school parties who were noisy throughout both the day and night. On the other hand the breakfast was good, with fresh juice, water, coffee, tea, hotdogs, ham, cheese and bread. There is also wifi in the hotel although this could only be used in the reception and even then is was extremely slow. Overall I would never recommend this hotel, if visiting the centre of Prague this is just way too far out, wasting a lot of time and ruining our stay in Prague quite a bit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harriet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Belgrade
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was thinking of giving this a 2 (Poor) rating but changed my mind.

The hotel is in a fairly quite location in a sports complex in a Prague suburb. This comes as a price as the hotel is kind of far from the center. There are two ways to get to the Old Town, first is what I would recommend, the tram no 24 which stops close to the hotel and goes all the way to Wencelas square in the city center. The second is taking the metro, but since you also need another tram to reach the metro station because it isn't within a walking distance from the hotel, we chose to simply go with the tram. The great thing about the transportation in Prague is that it only costs 24 Crowns (1 Euro) for a 30 minute ticket which allows you to use any form of transport withing that 30 minute time frame. There is a huge TESCO nearby, where you can buy some food that you will lack at the breakfast.
The hotel itself is old. You can see it has undergone some renovations but it still doesn't hide the fact that it's a poor establishment. There are a lot of cracks in the walls, dirty walls and just an overall run-down feel. The room itself was rather big but extremely hot since there is no A/C unit. The shower, of course didn't have a shower curtain, so every shower ended with a small flood. The toilet didn't flush that well and you need to flush at least 3 times in order to have a clean toilet. The "toiletries" you get are small bags of cheap shampoo and some shower gel/soap thing. The "mini bar" is in fact a very old fridge which could barely cool anything, not to mention a large water bottle couldn't fit inside. The bed was atrocious, the mattresses were brick hard and the pillows were extremely thin and uncomfortable. Did I mention they gave us a quilt and it was the middle of summer?
The breakfast was the worst breakfast I've ever had in any 3 star hotel. In fact, I can list the ENTIRE selection here: 2 types of bread, butter, ham, salami, hot dogs, cucumber, jam, cereal and yoghurt. Disgusting orange and apple juice, coffee and that's it. 3 star hotel? Suuuure.
The staff was polite, spoke okay english and was helpful. It was great that they sold the tram tickets at the reception.

Overall, if it weren't for the very cheap price, I would have given this a Poor. So if you're on a tight budget and can cope with all the stuff I mentioned above, then go for it and book this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a Superior room. Ask for the towels to be changed since they won't do it otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UniqueGlobeTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Globus
Globus
#583 of 670 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Praha 4
Botel Racek
Botel Racek
#574 of 670 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Hotel Mars
#544 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 9
EA Hotel Jasmin
EA Hotel Jasmin
#589 of 670 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Praha 6
Fortuna West
Fortuna West
#607 of 670 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Praha 4
Rezidence Emmy
Rezidence Emmy
#460 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slavia

Property: Hotel Slavia
Address: Vladivostocka 1460/10, Prague 100 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 10
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #543 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slavia 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Slavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavia Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing