We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that good”
Review of Hotel Slavia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Slavia
Ranked #543 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Belgrade
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not that good”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was thinking of giving this a 2 (Poor) rating but changed my mind.

The hotel is in a fairly quite location in a sports complex in a Prague suburb. This comes as a price as the hotel is kind of far from the center. There are two ways to get to the Old Town, first is what I would recommend, the tram no 24 which stops close to the hotel and goes all the way to Wencelas square in the city center. The second is taking the metro, but since you also need another tram to reach the metro station because it isn't within a walking distance from the hotel, we chose to simply go with the tram. The great thing about the transportation in Prague is that it only costs 24 Crowns (1 Euro) for a 30 minute ticket which allows you to use any form of transport withing that 30 minute time frame. There is a huge TESCO nearby, where you can buy some food that you will lack at the breakfast.
The hotel itself is old. You can see it has undergone some renovations but it still doesn't hide the fact that it's a poor establishment. There are a lot of cracks in the walls, dirty walls and just an overall run-down feel. The room itself was rather big but extremely hot since there is no A/C unit. The shower, of course didn't have a shower curtain, so every shower ended with a small flood. The toilet didn't flush that well and you need to flush at least 3 times in order to have a clean toilet. The "toiletries" you get are small bags of cheap shampoo and some shower gel/soap thing. The "mini bar" is in fact a very old fridge which could barely cool anything, not to mention a large water bottle couldn't fit inside. The bed was atrocious, the mattresses were brick hard and the pillows were extremely thin and uncomfortable. Did I mention they gave us a quilt and it was the middle of summer?
The breakfast was the worst breakfast I've ever had in any 3 star hotel. In fact, I can list the ENTIRE selection here: 2 types of bread, butter, ham, salami, hot dogs, cucumber, jam, cereal and yoghurt. Disgusting orange and apple juice, coffee and that's it. 3 star hotel? Suuuure.
The staff was polite, spoke okay english and was helpful. It was great that they sold the tram tickets at the reception.

Overall, if it weren't for the very cheap price, I would have given this a Poor. So if you're on a tight budget and can cope with all the stuff I mentioned above, then go for it and book this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a Superior room. Ask for the towels to be changed since they won't do it otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UniqueGlobeTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    52
    82
    38
    38
See reviews for
29
86
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 8, 2013

An excellent equilibrium between price and quality; you should look on a maps application for finding easier the location of hotel. Breakfast is set between 7.00 a.m. and 10.00 a.m., therefore you can idle in the mornings.
If you take tram 24 (100 meters in from of hotel), you'll reach to Václavské náměstí (in english Wenceslas Square - centre) or Výstaviště Holešovice (metro station) with connection to Prague zoo (bus 112).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with fru.pl

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitka B, Manager at Hotel Slavia, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are trying to expand the selection of food.

For all the comments we are happy and we take note of...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent 4 nights in April 2013 here. Location is rather good, only 20 minutes by tram to the city centre (the station for tram line 24 is just outside the hotel) and 24/7 Tesco express is close by (five minutes' walk from the hotel). Neighborhood seems ok but I wouldn't recommend night walks since few people are in the streets and mostly homeless.

Good thigs are: non-smoking hotel, breakfast was ok, polite service and desk clerks, transportation tickets can be bought at the reception.
Disadvantages: old bathrooms, furniture and windows falling apart, awful towels that were not changed once for 4 days, the same breakfast every morning, very thin and damaged walls.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirjana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel has a good position, next to tram and metro stations. It is a little bit old fashioned, the rooms are small but tall, and a little bit dirty, the bathrooms also. The windows do not close well. Tap water is not drinkable. We spent 4 days in the hotel but the sheets were not changed. There are many groups of kids in the hotel, that's why it's very noisy. The food is good (probably because in the hotel are staying so many children), the staff is a kind of whatever.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric Andrei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed in hotel Slavia for 5 days / nights during my excursion and although hotel wasn't that nice, it was decent for the money we paid. The best thing about it is the location. Supermarket is 5 minutes away, football field 4 minutes, tram is less than 2 minutes and I would say that the metro station is also around 10 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filippppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The good news for non smokers such as myself is that all of the hotel is now completely non smoking. The hotel rooms are spartan and lacking furniture and space to hang things but the beds in our room were comfortable, the bed linen clean and the towels were plenty thick enough. Entry into the shower cubicle was tight but otherwise the bathroom served it's purpose well enough. There was the usual noises from other rooms, audible conversations, toilets flushing, water running through pipes and one morning a heated conversation in the corridor outside our room. If you are not keen on sharing space with boy footballers (it is a sports complex) and teenage tour groups then book elsewhere as the reception area was filled with them all. We found the bar prices very good and cheaper than some of the bars around Prague and the staff did not mind us taking drinks to our room. Both of us shunned breakfast after the first morning, it was awful with tea and coffee undrinkable for starters and limited choice bland eatables. Staff had a hard time trying to keep refilling the food table because of the two legged locusts that descended in squads from whatever tour groups. The hotel was OK for sleeping and washing, parking was free but limited. If public transport is needed then a short walk will take you to Kabanska Namesti terminus for tram 24. Just before the tram stop there is an excellent bar/restaurant that has been refurbished to a very high standard with matching woodwork in tables, chairs, bar fittings etc. We both enjoyed fillet and rump steaks (try the 500g rump!) cooked to perfection and there was draught Pilsener Urquell on offer @ 35cz k to wash it down, heaven! I haven't hired a car in Prague for a few years but did so for this trip but I'm afraid there are still a lot of kami kazi Czech drivers around and Prague roads are no good for nervous Nellies.


taking

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAFpolizei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We heard not so much good things about this hotel, but still we give it a chance, and we was very pleased we did so. Rooms are clean, quite spacey and during the winter period we stayed in, the heat was great. Connection with the city center is good, trams and metro are near (Takes about 20 mins. to the city center). All in all we get more than we expected. If your standards are high, this hotel is not near them, but if you need decent place to stay for the price lesser than many hostels in Prague, than this is the place.

Room Tip: Choose rooms starting with number 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomato_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Botel Racek
Botel Racek
#559 of 649 in Prague
278 reviews
Hotel Mars
#494 of 649 in Prague
127 reviews
Praha 4
Globus
Globus
#557 of 649 in Prague
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 9
EA Hotel Jasmin
EA Hotel Jasmin
#551 of 649 in Prague
189 reviews
Praha 6
Fortuna West
Fortuna West
#585 of 649 in Prague
349 reviews
Praha 4
Rezidence Emmy
Rezidence Emmy
#519 of 649 in Prague
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slavia

Property: Hotel Slavia
Address: Vladivostocka 1460/10, Prague 100 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 10
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #543 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slavia 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Slavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavia Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing