We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Monica - ideal for the amateur mountaineer”
Review of Hotel Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monica
Ranked #546 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Winchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Monica - ideal for the amateur mountaineer”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Despite the tounge-in-cheek title, the Monica is really a lovely place to stay but suffers from being situated at the top of a set of stairs which wouldn't look out of place in The Exorcist. Luckily I didn't meet a tumbling Father Merrin on the one time that I used them (downwards of course, I would have needed crampons, ropes and a lot more energy than this 58 year old body of mine could hope to have to make the return journey.)
First the bad points: The position at the top of the hill, the hotel is on multiple levels and the fact that there are no lifts. However, the good points more than make up for the bad. The rooms are comfortable and accommodating, the views are spectacular and the food is a dream. Breakfast is buffet style, wide-ranging and inclusive but the evening meals are fabulous. I only wish they had a greater selection of Czech food rather than rely on International cuisine. Still, that is a niggardly comment and it is a certainty that the lack of a localised menu does not detract whatsoever from the quality of the food. The hotel is both child and pet friendly (dogs only, I suspect; I didn't notice too many crocodiles or elephants staying), and they all made a terrific fuss of our three-year-old visitor and nothing was too much for them.
Unusually for a City hotel, the Monica has a pool which all ten of us used and we particularly liked the waitress service at the pool-side tables; Pilsner Urquell al-fresco anyone?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thesaintsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    32
    20
    8
    10
See reviews for
25
19
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We spent 4 nights in this hotel at the end of july 2012 and the beds were really hard (the hardest I ever tried). The basin tap was very very noisy.
Moreover, the dirty bath towels that we put on the floor were folded and reinstalled so that we believed it was new ones. So if you go in this hotel, become a fakir before, take wax ear plugs and take your own towels !
But the swimming-pool is good :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Luc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
vetlanda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We decide to stay longer next time. It was just a very pleasant stay (well....without the stairs though :))
We are a family with 2 small kids. Beside the stair problems (our room is on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator) the kids enjoyed the stay so much. We like the spacious room and bathroom (4 of us can be in the bathroom at the same time without any problem at all!!). But when we were doing check outs the receptionist gave a tips on a family room which is just accross the garden (right near to the pool). Ask for that room (number 29, if I am not wrong) if you are a family want to stay in this hotel. We definetely will come back again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank diana w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I organised a wedding here last week and couldn't be happier with the staff and service received. No request was either too big or too small and the service was always with a smile.

The food at the wedding was fantastic. The quantity and quality was fab and everyone who attended the wedding only had positive things to say, which made me look good too.

Special thanks go to Pavla (at reception), Helena (behind the bar) and Roman (the chef) as they couldn't do enough to help the entire party (of approx. 25 people) who stayed there from 30/05 - 08/06! They worked all hours god-send to ensure that people were happy and even did overtime, sleeping for a few hours less each night.

Travel into town wasn't difficult and to be honest with you I would rather stay at Hotel Monica and get the scenic tram into town, which is approx. 8 - 10 minutes walk from the hotel, or get a bus in and see more of this glorious city than stay in town at exorbitant rates and be kept up by revellers in the town centre.

The rooms at the hotel were fantastic. In the lead up to the wedding, I was given a detailed tour around most of the rooms in the hotel. The honeymoon suite was second to none, as were the other rooms, which all had either shower or bathrooms, mini bar facilities, room service and were cleaned when we needed them cleaning.

Our room had a balcony and a gorgeous view of Prague as did most of the other rooms. Even the rooms that didn't have views, looked out on to something pretty.

Breakfast, which was included in the price, was a sumptuous spread, consisting of eggs, sausages, bacon, juices, cheeses, cereals as well as a continental option. We had a few meals there, which were all perfect and delicious and gave us all a nice introduction to Czech food, which is fab.

We initially booked in from 01/06 to 04/06, but decided to extend our stay there till 07/06, when we departed and will definitely return to Hotel Monica.

Well done to Tomas too!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed here as part of a big group for a family wedding. The staff couldn't do enough to accommodate any requirements we had regardless of time or day or if they may of been busy.

The food is excellent and the Chef and his team are good, I like good proper steaks and he certainly knows how to cook them.

The bar has Pilsner Urqell on tap at a very good price and the beer is well kept and looked after. The service from the bar staff was also excellent.

Reception was staffed by a team of young intelligent people who were very helpful and we met the owner and his family on a number of occasions and he was very friendly.

Some people moaned about the travel, well its simple, you can use the public transport which will have you in the centre of Prague within 20-30 minutes OR you can pay maybe 200-300 crowns for a taxi into town, either is satisfactory to me and to be honest, you'll pay double the price of this hotel staying in the city centre and not get the very good level of service we had from this hotel.

Breakfast was fantastic and room service was very good.

Room was big, had a balcony and had everything you need .

Will be coming back and using the hotel again.

Room Tip: tell the hotel what you want in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcs1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heusden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed in hotel Monica 7 nights and we really enjoyed it. We made the reservation directly with the hotel, which worked fine.
Our room was really nice and clean. The breakfast was outstanding. The people who worked there were really nice. We could use a computer with free internet which was nice too.
We used the special offer so we were picked up and brought back to the airport, we got 3 days public transport tickets, and a tour around the city.
It was about 5-10 mins walk to the busstation, after which the public transport turned out to work great in Prague. It took alltogether about 25 mins to get to the centre,
We didnt have dinner in the hotel ourselves but what we saw and heard with other guests looked good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elinerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

The Monica was clean and tidy, but the ongoing smell of the kitchen, mainly old cooking fat, did let the hotel down.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the problem we had with the shower in our room was fixed quickly.

Breakfast was simple but good.

The downside was the distance to the city centre. There was a 10 minute walk for the tram, and then a further 10-15 mins into the city. This therefore meant if you wanted to go back to the hotel before going out again in the evening you had to allow quite a bit of travelling time. The cost of a taxi was around £10 and took 15-20 minutes.

Overall OK, but would recommend staying in a city centre hotel.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Butters100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Rezidence Emmy
Rezidence Emmy
#484 of 651 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Praha 6
Hotel Wertheim
Hotel Wertheim
#462 of 651 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Stary Pivovar
Hotel Stary Pivovar
#511 of 651 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel White House
Hotel White House
#521 of 651 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Praha 10
Astra
Astra
#366 of 651 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Praha 4
Botel Racek
Botel Racek
#559 of 651 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monica

Property: Hotel Monica
Address: Vlnita 1710/31A, Prague 147 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #546 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monica 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monica Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing